Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unputdownable!
This is a great read - a gripping story with fascinating insights into the world of Formula 1. I really enjoyed it!
Published 16 months ago by Fifitrixiebelle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow off the grid
This novel was launched in a blaze of publicity online but sadly failed to live up to it. It's a decent enough, well written novel giving a fascinating insight to F1. However I got lost at whether it was a story about a season in F1 or if it was a story about Kate, the main character. The fact that it took me five months to read the novel isn't because I'm a slow reader,...
Published 11 months ago by Jamie Tucker Dougan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unputdownable!, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SuperEgo (Kindle Edition)
This is a great read - a gripping story with fascinating insights into the world of Formula 1. I really enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An eye opener!, 27 Mar 2013
This review is from: SuperEgo (Kindle Edition)
SuperEgo is a great insight into life in Formula 1, not so much the on-track action, but the politics and machinations involved in running a successful team. Vincent Dupont is a wonderfully corrupt and calculating team boss who at times made me wonder if he was one of the high profile names I watch on the TV every other Sunday!
As the main character is the Dupont F1 team's press officer you really get to see what goes into making the sport, bosses and drivers look so great on TV and that everything isn't as glamorous as it seems.
Even aside from the F1 insight, I found the story really gripping, so would recommend it to F1 fans and non-fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clever and funny novel that kept me glued to my kindle., 31 Mar 2013
This review is from: SuperEgo (Kindle Edition)
I was surprised by how much I loved this book - I couldn't put it down and am feeling a bit lost now I have finished it!

Told through the eyes of Kate, a girl who thinks she has landed her dream job as an F1 team PR manager, this is a fast-paced and cleverly written novel. Kate is witty and smart, and after being thrown in the deep end when her immediate boss is fired in her first week on the job, soon discovers she's working for a crazy megalomaniac who has a dark past. The story follows Kate and her boss Vincent over the F1 season, and there are many insights into the F1 PR machine and the wheeling and dealing that take place in this industry. The descriptions of the nutty characters, huge egos and impossible situations Kate has to deal with made me chuckle. Superego was written by a former F1 PR, so I'm sure some of them aren't far from the truth...

F1 has never really been on my radar, and so I had my reservations about reading a car-related book. However this was a fascinating and very funny read, and actually it has made me more interested in this industry, I will look at it through eyes that have been educated a little as to what goes on behind the scenes...

There is a moral question at the centre of this book, which is tied up well and ends feeling right. Just one gripe: I want to know more about what happens to Kate next, is there going to be a follow-on? A definite 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars don't bother, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SuperEgo (Kindle Edition)
Pants! Boring! Repetitive! Off subject! Foolish! Badly written! Unrealistic! Inaccurate! Fantastical! Irrelevant! And super egotistical. Do no bother! F1 fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ...love love loved it!!, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SuperEgo (Kindle Edition)
...well done Julia, what a fab read, so real and so funny..it really took me on the F1 journey. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars F1, what they don't want you know!, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SuperEgo (Paperback)
If only part of this story is true, you must be made of tough stuff to work in this environment. But then again it's only a story, isn't it??? Couldn't put the book down just had to read it as fast as I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Promises more than it delivers, 28 Nov 2013
By 
J. Wisbey (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SuperEgo (Kindle Edition)
Not much to say really. As an F1 enthusiast I was intrigued at the start, but as the book went on it became more and more generic and less embedded in the world of F1.

An easy read, but nothing amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SuperEgo (Paperback)
It's an amazing book ! It tells F1 world so very well! F1 world need more of this kind of book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High octane story, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SuperEgo (Kindle Edition)
A great story by Julia Wurz, about the work of a press officer for the fictitious DuPont F1 team. The story shows the stressful and high speed world of F1, and also the dirty dealing which goes on. Running alongside is the effect this kind of work has on the friendships of the main character. If you are a fan of F1 enjoy the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Right up my street, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SuperEgo (Kindle Edition)
Being an avid F1 fan this was right up my street, and Julia's inside information( being married to an F1 driver) made it realistic. A great fix for between races!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SuperEgo
SuperEgo by Julia Wurz
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews