Customer Reviews
13


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gargantuan Super(Jugger)naut
This album simply had to deliver given the catalogue of events that occurred prior to it's release and it does not disappoint. Sparse production (sounding amazingly powerful) with astonishing execution and delivery from the band. Rubin was clearly onto something when he sat the band down to simply listen to early recordings to capture the "feel and atmosphere" of...
Published on 18 Jun. 2013 by Lionheart

versus
40 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rewriting their own history...
What is this that stands before me?"

According to the album title and track listing it's 13, the long-awaited studio album from Black Sabbath and first to feature Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler for thirty five years.

But based on `End of the Beginning' and the subsequent seven tracks, it could also be a musical homage to Black Sabbath...
Published on 18 Jun. 2013 by R. Muir


‹ Previous | 137 38 3947 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath - '13', 16 Jun. 2013
By 
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
This is the first Black Sabbath album in 35 years which consists of its three original members Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler along with RATM's Brad Wilk filling in on drums. After giving the album a few listens, I cannot help but express my disappointment. The songs are lengthy, slow and unclear, therefore, doing very little to sustain my attention. Occasionally the odd time-change signature is thrown in to pick up the pace but this is easily predictable. At points, Ozzy's vocals seem out of sync and seem to be added in for the sake of it. Granted, Iommi stands as the one of the greatest `riff-meister' of our time and certainly delivers some thunderous doom-laden riffs in places but the rewards are few and far between. There also appears to be a lack of originality and you cannot help think "Where have I heard this before?". One example is fourth track 'Zeitgeist' is a carbon copy of one of their earlier songs 'Planet Caravan'. Whilst one could never expect Sabbath to surpass their earlier work, one had hoped that '13' would serve everyone a reminder how metal should be done. Instead it stands as a painful reminder that sometimes it's best to leave the legacy well alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. L. Ledley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
die hard sabbath fan whats not to love!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Deluxe Version) (MP3 Download)
Very surprised just how good this is! Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath Rule, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
Fantastic album, Black Sabbath at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good LP, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Bought for a freind = One VERY happy freind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sabbath are back with a killer cd., 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
Sabbath back to their best.excellent cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy, good value arrived on time, 20 Oct. 2014
By 
A. Beale - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
Very happy, good value arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They're not even trying...., 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
Before I start, I would like it to be known that I'm a huge fan of Ozzy-era Sabbath, they are rock legends and have released some of the heaviest, darkest and most powerful rock music of all time. I was very excited about this release but unlike many fans, I refuse to give the band a free pass (lets face it, some fans are so desperate for new material they would hail it a masterpiece before even listening to the record).

As for me, I didn't hate it, I just found it tedious and in all honesty a bit dull. It doesn't really sound like they're even trying. There's only so many ways you can recycle the riffs to War Pigs, NIB and Black Sabbath before it just gets embarassing. Black Sabbath albums used to be so eclectic and varied, but this is just straight up doom metal, each song blending into the next with no real identity of its own.

It isn't completely without merit, Pariah is a decent enough track and Dear Father offers a much needed tempo change, but it's not even close to any of the other Ozzy-era albums. And anybody who says this is better than Never Say Die or Technical Ecstasy is kidding themselves.

I think what irks me most is that it could have and should have been so much better. It's not that it isn't good but the whole premise for the album seems so contrived. I blame Rick Rubin for that. You can't and shouldn't even attempt to re-create an older sound. Genuine inspiration doesn't work like that, any songwriter will tell you that. You create what comes naturally to you and you let the muse take you where it wants to go. That's how the old Sabbath albums were created, not with some douchebag producer breathing down their necks telling them how it should sound. If I was Ozzy or Tony I'd be like "who the hell are you to tell us how a Sabbath album should sound?".

I think the results would've been so much better if they had just gone into the studio and created whatever came naturally to them at their age. It probably wouldn't sound anything like Paranoid, Master of Reality or Black Sabbath (album), but then neither did Sabotage or Sabbath Bloody Sabbath and they were amongst Sabbath's best work. The best records are never contrived and are usually born out of the artist feeling free to experiment and come up with new ideas. Trying to re-capture past glories is not only an impossible feat, it is also incredibly disingenuous.

Ah well. Next...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, super fast delivery!!!, 13 Sept. 2014
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
Great product, super fast delivery!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and great music., 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
Very quick service, and great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 137 38 3947 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

13
13 by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews