Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly creative and fascinating music
What can I say, this has to be the most interesting and creative album I've listened to in a long time. When you play this its like taking a journey through music, it involves so many influences and interesting sounds, that keep changing with every song, almost like jazz. That said, this is definitely a record you need to listen to from start to finish, the songs work...
Published 17 months ago by sven skottke

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't enjoy it
A little more pretentious than I was able to cope with. Not enough of a music fan to enjoy so much music without melody or verse.
Published 11 months ago by Kevin Scoles


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly creative and fascinating music, 14 April 2013
What can I say, this has to be the most interesting and creative album I've listened to in a long time. When you play this its like taking a journey through music, it involves so many influences and interesting sounds, that keep changing with every song, almost like jazz. That said, this is definitely a record you need to listen to from start to finish, the songs work best together. MY album of the year for sure, I recommend this to anyone who appreciates any form of music.
Stop reading this and play the album now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year contender, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In a television piece I saw yesterday, it stated that One Direction could become the first billionaire boy band .... such is their appeal, the music is incidental! What a world we live in...

Fortunately, we have Steve Mason in it too. 15 years after first seeing The Beta Band perform an unforgettable performance on stage, samurai swords, swapping instruments without dropping a beat etc, in front of a lucky handful, he releases this wee gem. Not a bad track on it. This really is an impressive piece of work. And it flows so well, from the Jock Scot-esque spoken intro of 'The Old Problem' all the way through to 'Come to Me'.

It's hard not to want to listen to this in it's entirety, because that's what it deserves. A proper album then and a real pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This man's on Fire!, 16 Jun 2013
If you're reading this review because you're wondering whether to add the album to your basket, do it now. You won't be disappointed.

This 20 track album is a joyous hour of musical creativity, imagination and intrigue.

The general pattern of the record is full length song followed by a filler track, followed by a song and so on. But each element is so diverse, so interesting, you just can't predict what's coming next.

The singles you may have already heard (A lot of love, Oh my Lord) are fantastic in their own right but intertwine beautifully with what's around them, proving how the experience of a well crafted album can be greater than the sum of its parts.

Each band-recorded track is great with a special mention to Fire! and Come to Me (although these might change with another listen.) They all offer something different, from acoustic ballads and gospel to soul and hip-hop.

Meanwhile, the fillers, recorded by Mason alone, are anything but. Samples and riffs are underpinned by funky bass, ambience, dub and brooding electronica. Rather than padding out what's already there, they offer another dimension and demonstrate Mason's trickery and imagination.

All these elements create an album with such sublime structure and flow that before you know it, the last track is upon you, and you've just got enough time to reflect, smile, put the kettle one and press play again to find something new to enjoy.

Quite simply the best album I've heard on a long, long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 20 Mar 2013
By 
A. Matheson "andy30041" (Portsmouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An album worthy of the five stars. Great production, great songs and probably Steve's best work. Powerful messages throughout and highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute gem., 20 July 2013
By 
A. J. Fulton "Tony Fulton" (Wigan, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Heard SM on BBC6 and decided to give the album a listen. Cant't stop playing it. So clever and so varied you could never tire of it. OK there are Elbow comparisons on certain tracks but he has a harder edge and goes to places they would never dream of. You wont regret the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Album, His Best Yet!, 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: Monkey Minds In the Devil's Time (MP3 Download)
This is easily Steve Mason's best work, I know its only March but I can't see there being a better album than this out this year!! A must have for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cultured and innovative album, 2 Dec 2013
By 
SimonCymru (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Atmospheric, musically delicious and lyrically stimulating. The songs are well crafted and seem to draw on several strands and genres; it harks back to an era of thoughtfully crafted and structured albums. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Brilliant BEST album so far this year...., 20 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steve Mason has this hauntingly beautiful voice which kind of whispers over your shoulder and sends shivers down your spine. This is a worthy successor to " Boys Outside " and the single " Oh My Lord " should be be compulsory listening to students of Folktronica music. The album is really that good. Buy it now you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real pleasure to listen to..., 26 Mar 2014
By 
Mr H (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album, a real grower.

I'd not heard of Steve Mason until this year, so I'm no die-hard fan or anything.

I think this would appeal to many different tastes and has good longevity. Track 4 'Lot of Love' is a beautifully written song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very chilled and confident album from that man from The Beta band, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Steve Mason has developed considerably as a solo artist after The Beta Band split up. This album is very confident, very chilled and folky and it puts you in the mood for hearing it live at a festival in the sun with a nice cold glass of something alcoholic near by.

The album is broken up by little interludes of spoken word and soundscapes which give the album a tone of a concept album without being pretentious or overbearing.

Its highly recommended for anyone who is already a fan of that man from The Beat Band or for anyone who wants to listen to something new and innovative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews