Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars House Of Games
Muffy St John is a real queen amongst practical jokers. She invites nine college friends to an April's Fool party at her island home, and plants jokes and boobytraps in every room to catch her guests out. However things take an unseen, sinister turn, when the guests start to dissapear, and the friends start to turn on one another. Is there somebody else on the island with...
Published on 21 Oct. 2009 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars APRIL CRAP DAY
"SPOILER ALERT" If you haven't seen this film please stop reading my review now. This film is just awful, the film is just one big APRIL FOOL on the young teens in this film plus for the audience at the cinema of its day, we were all expecting this to be a run of the mill slasher but no its just one big joke, to be honest with you this film is a disgrace to the name...
Published 8 days ago by STEVENSEAGALFAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars House Of Games, 21 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: April Fools Day [DVD] (DVD)
Muffy St John is a real queen amongst practical jokers. She invites nine college friends to an April's Fool party at her island home, and plants jokes and boobytraps in every room to catch her guests out. However things take an unseen, sinister turn, when the guests start to dissapear, and the friends start to turn on one another. Is there somebody else on the island with a grudge against the partgoers?
This a great 80's comedy slasher film, with an excellent young cast, and a great twist at the end. Whilst I am a big fan of modern 21st century horror, sometimes I feel that filmakers have lost that sense of fun that you used to find in 1980's horrors. Well this is full of great laughs, scares, gleefully piling on the red herrings to confuse the audience, and offering something a bit different to the routine slashers of that period.
A perfect Halloween film, to be served as a first course before the ghoulish dish of the day. 4 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars solid horror trilogy, 29 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i ended up getting this after looking for graveyard shift and noticed this 3 disk set featuring tales from the darkside and april fools day and as a fan of the first two mentioned and having a multi region player i decided to spend the extra and got this set. graveyard shift is the best one here 8/10 from the days when nearly everything by stephen king was made into a movie and tales from the darkside is a nice little horror trilogy in itself featuring a couple of very famous faces i.e christian slater and steve buscemi who's 3 story's are 7/10 for the first 2 and 8/10 for the last and then there's april fools day which seems to be popular but personally 6/10 worth a watch for me. a nice collection for a horror fan that will have you watching at least two of them over again. would have said three and a half stars cos of the price but went for four cos there is more good than bad here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muffy the ham-pie slayer!, 2 Nov. 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: April Fools Day [DVD] (DVD)
A group of college buddies convene at a friends isolated abode and get killed off one by one...

Great fun, Fred Walton, Frank Mancuso Jr. and Danilo Bach tap cheekily into the 1980s obsession with slasher films and produce a self aware horror movie of mighty dark comedy proportions. Quite often when film makers try to laugh as they bite the hand that feeds them they fall flat on their faces, not so here. OK! It's hardly genius film making but the makers instill their picture with interesting killings, twists and turns, and even an audacious narrative that would only be appreciated some years later. Horror movie conventions are adhered to with tongue stuck in bloody cheek, none more so than with an ending that will infuriate some, but conversely will bring on the chortles in others. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun., 10 Sept. 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: April Fools Day [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing this at the cinema in 1986 and so was keen to see how it held up today.
I was pleasantly surprised that I thought it was a lot of fun.
This film came out towards the end of the 'slasher' film cycle and unlike many of it's predecessors this film is distinctly un-nasty.
Lots of red herrings populate the film to keep you guessing this is quite an entertaining flick.
It was re-made in 2008 as a direct to DVD film and the remake is not worth watching.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars APRIL CRAP DAY, 19 May 2015
This review is from: April Fools Day [DVD] (DVD)
"SPOILER ALERT" If you haven't seen this film please stop reading my review now. This film is just awful, the film is just one big APRIL FOOL on the young teens in this film plus for the audience at the cinema of its day, we were all expecting this to be a run of the mill slasher but no its just one big joke, to be honest with you this film is a disgrace to the name slasher, this should be classed as a black comedy. I did give two stars for the so called deaths, the effects looked good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A slasher with better plot and characters than average, 12 Jan. 2014
This review is from: April Fools Day [DVD] (DVD)
April Fools Day has been written with more care than the average slasher. While many of the era were just out to cash in on hormonal audiences wanting to see some sex and blood, this pays a lot of attention to the plot, and to building effective chills.
Despite the age, the image and feel of it hasn't aged badly, and only a scattering of fashions remind you of the period. The cast appear typical at first, but show themselves to be a little better than expected at several stages, and the people I expected to be the heroes of the piece turned out to be side characters.
The finale was also clever, and better than expected.
The humour is a touch hit and miss but adds a nice lightness of touch in places that helps the threat feel more real when it kicks in.
The film has a slight self-awareness because of the April Fool gags littering it that makes it feel almost like part of the recent wave of 'Cabin in the Woods' 'meta'-movies, and so it makes for better than expected viewing for 80's horror fans and 'New movie' fans alike.
A classic that has aged well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!!, 18 Oct. 2004
By 
This review is from: April Fools Day [DVD] (DVD)
Finally this fantastic 80's horror movie is available on DVD. I've spent last 10 years searching for any copy of this movie, in videostores, video rental shops.. you name it.. just all over without any luck. I'm a huge horror fan, but somehow this movie stands on top of the pile. Great twist, good actors (well at that time) and it will make you startled more then once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FOOL ME ONCE..etc.., 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the R1, R rated version, it's widescreen
and has black bars that aren't that intrusive.
The picture quality is nice enough & it runs 1hr 28min 56 secs.
I think it might be cut?, but i'm unsure about this.
The film itself is excellent, smart & funny & really well
acted, it's not wall to wall gore (mores the pity) but it
creeps about nicely. It also has one of the best
dvd slip covers (noose hair) of all time. I think the
people who made Harpers Island (think that's the name)
got some inspiration from this classic.
It's 1986 and sleeveless jumpers are the order of the day,
smart casual of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Twist, 23 Feb. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: April Fools Day [DVD] (DVD)
Although this is a classic 80's horror, it is amongst my favourites in this era of horror movie. It has a great twist, and it's a film you will definitely remember. The night I watched it, I was too scared to go down to the bottom of the garden to feed my visiting foxes !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No April fool, 20 July 2005
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: April Fools Day [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great fun film for a horror. Made long before the recent crop of modern teen horrors this film has a bit of everything. I first saw it on TV years ago and as soon as I watched it I just what a great movie, very simple and low budget it does have a few scares. Based around the Agatha Christie story And then there were none, if you know the story or film of that ,well this is a slasher version! It does look a little dated now being nearly 20 years old, but the first time you watch it you will be pleasantly surprised at the ending. Although I've seen the film about 5 times now and with repeat viewing it's charm is lost a little but great to watch now and then. Unfortunately no extras on the DVD but just glad it got released, one for horror fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews