Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, amazing, can't put it down!
If you have seen the film and are thinking of reading the book, then go for it. It won't spoil the film for you. The book is slightly different, more powerful than the book in some ways and the ending is different.
If you have not yet seen the film and are about to read the book STOP right now. Watch the film first! Because if you dont you may not like the...
Published on 10 Nov 2005 by Elodie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Midnight Express
A good book, but nothing compared to Marching Powder. Having read Marching Powder first I was excited to read this in anticipation it would be on a similar level. This book failed to move me as much as I would have liked, but it still had a good read to it and nevertheless I still didn't put the book down until I had read it all.
Published on 31 Dec 2009 by M. Gould


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, amazing, can't put it down!, 10 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
If you have seen the film and are thinking of reading the book, then go for it. It won't spoil the film for you. The book is slightly different, more powerful than the book in some ways and the ending is different.
If you have not yet seen the film and are about to read the book STOP right now. Watch the film first! Because if you dont you may not like the film as much and that would be a shame!
This amazing story tells the 4 years of Hell Billy Hayes had to endure for trying to smuggle marijuana from Turkey to the USA. The prison of Ankara is the worst place on earth for Billy and his inmates. and when you think it's tough, it gets tougher.
Great story, great reading, a must read if you enjoy gripping true life stories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midnight Express, 24 Aug 2005
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
A chilling first hand account of the story of Billy Hayes. An American sentenced to a stint in a Turkish prison.
A harrowing story of trial justice and survival. How life can be turned upside down and cast away in just a few hours.
A book you simply can't put down. I was hooked from page one, just dont re-read the back once you've started.
every page keeps you addicted to the enigmatic story with the last line bringing a tear to your eye.
I can't recomend this book highly enough, a brilliant read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It don't sound good in there..., 9 Oct 2006
By 
The Owler (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
Riveting! Billy Hayes, touring Europe, is made an example of by the Turkish authorities for trying to smuggle out 2 kilos of Hash. His reward? Life imprisonment in a turkish prison!

Very well written, grabbing the readers attention right from the beginning. You will really feel for Mr Hayes and the continual stream of adverse situations he finds himself in, as he tries to keep his head down and plot escape.

Excellent story; I read it in one sitting and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of one man's struggle to keep sane, 23 Feb 2006
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
When I first read this book, I remember thinking 'this is surreal.' The very atmosphere combines with the taut narrative to produce an oddly haunting book, that you'll certainly remember if nothing else!
The story basically is that of American Billy Hayes, who is caught smuggling hashish from Turkey. When he is caught, he is sentenced first to four years, and then to thirty, in a Turkish prison. Though Hayes does write of the brutality, and craziness of living in this terrible place, he also tempers his narrative with the warmth, and strength of his family and fellow inmates, one of whom he later has a liasion with, in a scene that is beautiful for the way it is expressed- as mutual need, not as a thing of degradation.
I thought the subject was tastefully dealt with, and though I am extremely anti drug smuggling, I still managed to fan some embers of sympathy for someone caught in this terrible legal system.
I would highly recommend you giving this book a shot- you'll almost definitly enjoy not just the suspense, but also the warmth and humanity it exudes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, engaging, sad, thrilling, 14 Jan 2010
By 
A.Miah (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
By chance a friend mentioned this book whilst we were talking about the film Midnight Run (excellent film) - out of that confusion he mentioned he read and saw Midnight Express. I went on amazon, had a quick read and bought it, got the book on Monday, finished on Wednesday night...

The guy writes very well, he manages to describe the setting, the atmosphere and the people he interacts with. I get the feeling he is saying he should be punished for trying to smuggle drugs but to get Life seems way over the top. The book is not as gruesome as some other people suggest, its the possiblity of violence that has that edge. The chapters about the mental hospital are quite sad and sad indictment of how people that illness were/are treated.

My advice is buy it, you wont regret it as the author is pretty humble and is not full of himself!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Midnight Express, 31 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
A good book, but nothing compared to Marching Powder. Having read Marching Powder first I was excited to read this in anticipation it would be on a similar level. This book failed to move me as much as I would have liked, but it still had a good read to it and nevertheless I still didn't put the book down until I had read it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've read, 22 Mar 2001
By 
Barbour "SEGA" (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
This is one of the most harrowing stories I've read. Billy Hayes was made a subject of by the Turkish Government. Although you know he escapes as it's written on the back of the book you're still rooting for him to succeed and get away from the torture and suffering he endured over 5 years. The conditions in which he had to live were atrocious.
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read real life stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking Stuff, 28 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
An accurate betrayal of 'what really happened', the book keeps seems to be a good representation of the facts. What I particularly apprecaited was that at no point did the author slip into the 'poor me' foot steps. A good read but the way in which he actually escaped is different from the film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, well written, 2 Jan 2005
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
I saw the film and then read the book - the book does a much better job at really expressing Billy's feelings and the real mental pain he went through. Don't expect the Hollywood ending in the book, even allowing for poetic licence. A good read, but left me a little disappointed having seen the film first, but glad to have read it nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A compelling read, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
Better than the movie, in fact the movie left out chuncks of what really happened. Im not sure why they done this because what they left out was the most compelling part of the book, which was true. Hollywood eh tut
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Midnight Express
Midnight Express by William Hoffer
5.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews