Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!
Catharine Withenay's 'In the Shade of the Mulberry Tree' is a wonderful glimpse into the life of a Mum with two young children being thrust into life in Zambia. She moves out to Africa with her husband's job as a Dr working on medical research on the children's wards.

The book is well written, easy to pick up and worked particularly well as a read which...
Published on 24 Mar. 2013 by Yorkshire Lass

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why
Having lived almost exactly in the same area of Lusaka I found the descriptions and feel the author gave very wishy washy it is a place you either love or hate. I loved it and I don't think she did
Published on 19 May 2013 by Sandra Kim Sing


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!, 24 Mar. 2013
Catharine Withenay's 'In the Shade of the Mulberry Tree' is a wonderful glimpse into the life of a Mum with two young children being thrust into life in Zambia. She moves out to Africa with her husband's job as a Dr working on medical research on the children's wards.

The book is well written, easy to pick up and worked particularly well as a read which accompanied me on school runs, children's club pick-ups and hospital appointments as each chapter is split into smaller sections and can be read in short bursts - ideal for the busy Mum! It would also read well in longer episodes given the time to do so.

The book acts as a diary through the first year of life out in a strange country with different cultures and priorities to the UK and is written with humour, thoughtfulness and fascinating observations about an amazing country and her people. There are heart warming moments as well as several near misses - the style of writing invites the reader to wonder quite how they would react in a similar situation as Catharine reveals her feelings about them honestly and openly with deeper contemplation about the poverty and poor medical health she encounters on the way.

I'd recommend this book for any reluctant traveller, armchair explorers and particularly for anyone who would recognise the trials and tribulations of life with young children, as well as anyone who likes to be able to dip in and out of a story with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 22 April 2013
By 
sam410 (Cramlington, Northumberland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book, the style is simple and flows wonderfully, it was a perfect read for any time of day. I loved hearing about the authors life in Zambia and was thourghly challenged on what i would do if faced in the same situations. I would reccommend this book to anyone who is, like me slightly nosy about what other people get up to, especially with such emotive circumstances of living in Africa and the challenges of poor medical care and poverty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an adventure of an ordinary family in amazing circumstances. I was drawn in to thinking 'How on earth would I have coped?" - as a wife and mum with small children in a foreign country, very different cultures and backgrounds...not to mention the animals both friendly and hungry ones!
I'm very pleased to know that Catharine more than coped, and I look forward to reading more adventures in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Great Read!, 21 April 2013
By 
Denise (Stockport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I very much enjoyed this book. Moving unwillingly to Zambia with two small children, setting up home and dealing with a very different culture, Catharine Withenay's descriptions are so vivid that you can clearly picture the situations she finds herself in. This book is both funny and thought provoking. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really great memoir which gives accurate account of life in Africa, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Shade of the Mulberry Tree: A year in Zambia (Kindle Edition)
This is a charminly written and often very emotive memoir which details the author's move to Zambia and the trails and tribulations of setting up a home. The descriptions are often very accurate and funny, speaking as someone who has lived in various places in Sub-Saharan Africa during her life. Give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Shade of the Mulberry Tree: A year in Zambia (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant and well written book!!! I'm thoroughly impressed with Catharine's accurate, unbiased and honest account of her family's experiences in Zambia through the eyes of an English person. As a Zambian I was very pleased to read this book and look forward to more literary works from Catharine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Big Adventure, 11 April 2013
This review is from: In the Shade of the Mulberry Tree: A year in Zambia (Kindle Edition)
'In The Shade Of The Mulberry Tree' tells the true story of a year in the life of its author, Catharine Withenay, who is suddenly transported from her very nice life in London to the far more challenging world of Zambia, when her husband accepts a research job at a Zambian hospital. The book charts Catharine's at first, very negative reaction to her new surroundings as she is faced with no proper furniture, shortage of money and a complete lack of local know how. However, as she becomes increasingly more 'at home' in the new country, small concessions to the new culture begin to emerge.

The book delights on several levels: Firstly in Withenay's written style, which is very clear, without being simplistic. There are some lovely descriptions of markets and shops, and journeys into the bush to see animals. It is as if the reader is actually there, peering over her shoulder at all the sights and marvels she is privileged to witness. The other aspect that pleases is her unflinching truthfulness, not only about her own feelings of homesickness and initial resentment at the upheaval of her entire world, but at the frustrations encountered by her husband in his medical research. There are some heart-rending descriptions of the suffering and privations endured by local people and their little ones that cannot fail to bring tears to the reader's eyes. A book that enlightens on several levels - not least in opening one's eyes to how other people have to little, and yet manage to enjoy life, and how we take so much for granted in our complacent Western world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Shade of the Mulberry Tree, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Shade of the Mulberry Tree: A year in Zambia (Kindle Edition)
The perfect book for anyone considering a holiday or move to Africa, In the Shade of the Mulberry Tree describes life in Zambia with honesty and compassion. Catharine Withenay is an insightful writer, who gives a truthful account of her own inhibitions at leaving behind the comforts of family life in London, to follow her husband in his research studies to the quite contrasting and challenging climbs of Zambia.

The subject matter is both heart warming and challenging to those of us from a Western culture who are blessed with enough food and decent health care. I devoured this book in the space of two days and wait with bated breath for the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of Africa, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book and see it as being of particular interest to someone who has spent time, or is planning to spend time, in Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In The Shade of the Mulberry Tree by Catharine Withenay, 18 May 2013
This is a delightful read - not only does the author set each scene with clarity, using short descriptive passages intermingled with speech and thoughts , but she also manages to convey a sense of both humanity and humour. The reader is left "wanting more" - I look forward to a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews