Customer Reviews


10 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond This Place - A J Croning, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond This Place (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
I love Cronin's books and I certainly wasn't disappointed with Beyond This Place, Cronin's English is superb and indeed I came across some interesting words that I did not know. The story line kept me grippped from beginning to end. I would say that apart from Hatter's Castle which I never forgot from reading it years ago, Beyond This Place is terrific and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Of it's time.., 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond This Place (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Dated in terms of style (unsurprisingly) and morality, but an interesting story. Fairly compelling (is that possible?) but a fascinating study of a time now gone, which has totally different life-style structure. Very well-written. I look forward to reading (perhaps re-reading) more AJ Cronin...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of Corruption, Prejudice, Hypocrisy & Love, 3 April 2015
By 
S H Hopper (Horncastle, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond This Place (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
This is a story of a son's fight to clear his father's name when he is wrongly convicted of murder and sent to the gallows. A tale of a corruption, prejudice and hypocrisy versus the truth: Judicial corruption, class prejudice and religious hypocrisy. It could be present day but written in the early 20th Century it shows how little has changed. It is a gripping tale of a young man's fight against authority to try and find the truth and the unforeseen consequences that occur as well as the collateral damage on all around him. However the book is worth reading: it has a slow start, intense middle and a very unexpected twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond This Place (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
I had read books by this author years ago and in this one the attention to detail was terrific. I truly enjoyed it and would recommend it to the more mature reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why a 5star review?, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond This Place (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
It was a book I didn't want to put down.

Cronin a great socially aware writer. A great amount of this book is very relevant in today's times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First class read, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond This Place (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Typical CRONIN
Good story line.Easy to follow.
Not his best but good enough to encourage you to read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beyond this place, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond This Place (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Yet another great story written by a superb storyteller. The characters are so real that you feel you know them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommended, 21 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. E. Dierl - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond This Place (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Good old-fashioned story-telling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His father was convicted for murder..., 21 Mar. 2008
This review is from: BEYOND THIS PLACE (Hardcover)
Paul Mathry, a student about to graduate and embark upon a teaching career, finds out that his father was convicted for murder, a secret that his mother had hidden from him since his childhood.

Driven by an intense desire to see his father, Paul sets out to visit him in prison, only to find out that visitors are never allowed there.

From there, he meets the primary witnesses in the case that convicted his father, not all of whom are supportive to Paul's cause. He encounters several dead ends but he persists, with the help of a store girl named Lana and a news reporter.

His persistent campaign finally bears fruit. Rees Mathry, Paul's father, goes on appeal and is vindicated. The novel ends with Paul's father, a hardened, cynical man, seeing a fleeting hope of self renewal and a purposeful life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond This Place (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond This Place (Bello)
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews