Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Praiseworthy Overview
For anybody who wants to read about the Campaign for the first time or for those who have read about it a long time ago, this would be an excellent overview to read. To the best of my knowledge, it contains the latest scholarship that refutes some of the exaggerations that have been around since the battle. One area that Mr Clark frequently visits concerns the number of...
Published on 2 Aug 2011 by Dave History Student

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars between two stools
Relevant to this review is that I live in Ukraine and had previously read books on East European history, especially of the 20th century. I was disappointed with several things, such as the first 66 pages being devoted to the events in Russia and Germany which led up to WW2 (done better in other books, and unnecessary for me); and then the next 100 pages are devoted to...
Published on 14 Dec 2011 by odessafile


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good context and wide view, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kursk: The Greatest Battle (Kindle Edition)
This is not a battle history, so if one is looking for a detailed staff analysis of the battle this is not it. What id does do well is explain the wider view of how political and industrial decisions shaped the outcome. At the same time however its not in the same class as Shirer's or Bullock's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid treatment of the battle, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kursk: The Greatest Battle (Kindle Edition)
A little plodding to begin, but quickly gives the proper treatment of the gruelling battle between the forces, the like of which would not be known in the west in WWII.

The diagrams could be clearer, it's true. Especially for ebooks, where animated diagrams are now possible. But that's a minor quibble for a fine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin, 11 May 2013
By 
Colin Browning (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to agree with the many other reviews which complain about how long this book takes to reach it's professed subject. The first half deals with causes of the war in Russia, the defeats in 1941 etc etc. By the time it got around to dealing with the battle at Kursk, I'd rather given up on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase., 20 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my friend. Great read and great value for money. Would highly recommend. Will be purchasing more in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dry and too much pre-history, 6 May 2012
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lloyd Clark's book seeks to tell the story of the 1943 Kursk battle, placing it in the context of the larger German-Russian relations and the Eastern front, and to tell it from both sides. This scope means the book falls between two stools. On the one hand, the contextualisation material takes up far too much of the book. It is only at page 218 (out of 389) that we get to the battle. For anyone who is interested in military history, the pre-war material is a distraction; they most likely bought the book to read about the battle in particular. The context needed to focus solely on the immediate run up to it, not the previous thirty years, and it needed to be a lot shorter (it could have started around page 166, for example). On the other hand, given that the battle constitutes less than half the book and it's trying to detail a massive engagement, the material is quite sketchy and sometimes difficult to follow. There are a number of maps in the book, but the text never refers to them once and they appear at chapter breaks rather than where they are discussed in the narrative (and it's quite difficult to link up text and map due to labelling and coverage). They could have been used to much better effect. The description is quite dry, and whilst Clark tries to place the reader on the battlefield through the voices of some of the men who took part in the battle it doesn't work as effectively as it might. Kursk works as a general primer to the hostilities between Germany and Russia, the Eastern front, and the battle, but readers with a general interest in Second World War military history who want a detailed account of the battle itself will probably be better off looking elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overall a Decent Account, 19 April 2014
By 
P. Mccloskey (Hungerford England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought for me as a present off Amazon. I agree with one reviewer who says the pages devoted to the build up to war to be rather pointless and I agree. However it is a fine and well written account compared to other books I have read. Four stars instead of five though for one nit pick which always bugs me - Neville Chamberlain did not say "Peace in our time" he said "Peace for our time". It is a small point but one which I would expect a Professor and a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society to have got right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars re the battle of kursk, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another historian triumphs with this tale of the greatest tank battle of all. It is like you are there amongst the Panzers and the Russian T-34s, in the heat and smoke of battle, as they eddy round one another in a whirlwind of murderous fire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BOUGHT THIS AS A PRESENT FOR A MAX HASTINGS FAN. HE CANT GET ENOUGH OF THIS AUTHORS BOOKS WILL ORDER MORE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars History on the steppes..., 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kursk: The Greatest Battle (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant informative book. I liked it as it gave really good factual information on this massive battle. Some very interesting points about pre conception of the commanders involved and the thought proccesses from each side. I think this was the first battle where the Russians really thought about the aims and objectives and planned accordingly. Clearly a turning point in history. there are many books on this subject nd although this one is a read, put down and think and then carry on reading type of book from my perspective it delivered the true picture of the Kursk salient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kursk: The Greatest Battle (Kindle Edition)
With an opening description of the two countries leaders, this book gives a clear insight into the lead up to the battle,and the reasons why it continued.

it describes the battle plans and the reactions to them and has some survivor statements within the text for certain days of the battle.

Leaves you amazed at how soldiers could sustain the level of ferocity for days on end with no replacements arriving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6675f54)

This product

Kursk: The Greatest Battle
4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews