Customer Reviews


283 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (62)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 5:2 book
Am loving the recipes in this book and the way they principles of 5:2 are explained so well at the front too. My partner is doing the fast days with me so it's worth cooking something a bit special and different and these fit the bill. I'll probably halve the recipe that are for 4, or just save leftovers for my second fast day two days later. I think this is a well...
Published 18 months ago by Maggie

versus
35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring.
I've been using the 5:2 system now for nearly five months with great results, but am keen to explore new recipe ideas as I'm getting a little bored of the ones I've already picked up from other books/websites that have jumped on the fast diet bandwagon.
The information at the start of this book is easy to follow, motivational and I like the bulleted tips on each...
Published 17 months ago by Jr Lorrimer


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 5:2 book, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am loving the recipes in this book and the way they principles of 5:2 are explained so well at the front too. My partner is doing the fast days with me so it's worth cooking something a bit special and different and these fit the bill. I'll probably halve the recipe that are for 4, or just save leftovers for my second fast day two days later. I think this is a well written and well researched book - it's got lots or tips and tricks to keep you going and answered a lot of questions I had about how best to do it. Check out the look inside bit to get a flavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes!, 7 Mar 2013
This is the best book I could find on 5:2. It is informative and easy to follow, with loads of different ideas. I am yet to find a recipe I don't like, so far they have all been really tasty. Can't recommend enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK - and some interesting options, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are some great recipes in this book, including some grab and go bites on those fasting days - which is what we're all after to help keep us going and to not grab the biscuit tin. Could have done with more pictures in my book, as I find visuals easier to help me decide what to eat.
I would recommend though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring., 22 April 2013
By 
Jr Lorrimer "jlorrimer" (Oakworth) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been using the 5:2 system now for nearly five months with great results, but am keen to explore new recipe ideas as I'm getting a little bored of the ones I've already picked up from other books/websites that have jumped on the fast diet bandwagon.
The information at the start of this book is easy to follow, motivational and I like the bulleted tips on each page, but it all feels like someone has read the original book by Michael Mosley and just rewritten it to cash in. This was bound to happen given it's success so at the very least I was hoping for some inspiring new recipes. However - the main problem with most of these recipes is that many of them are for large servings. This is okay if you want to freeze up to eight portions in to batches or you share a house with a large number of 5:2'ers but I'd really like to see someone write a 5:2 recipe book with recipes for one serving - using ingredients I can find easily in my local supermarket, that doesn't involve marinating for several hours and (more importantly) with each ingredient including a calorie count so I can customise the recipe to suit and take out all the guess work.
The list of snacks is a good idea but is in such a random order it's hard to use if you can't look something up quickly.
If you're thinking of starting the 5:2 I'd recommend getting Michael Mosley's book before this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 5:2 Cookbook: Recipes for the 2-Day Fasting Diet. Makes 500 or 600 Calorie Days Easier and Tastier. (Kindle Edition)
Just the thing to help me cope on my two 'thin' days. It gets easier each time as I know what meals I can put together and keep to my 500 calories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, tasty and easy to follow recipes!, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 5:2 Cookbook: Recipes for the 2-Day Fasting Diet. Makes 500 or 600 Calorie Days Easier and Tastier. (Kindle Edition)
Using the recipes in here makes doing the 5:2 simple and full of variety. Tasty 'main courses, and decent desserts for when you want something sweet.

I don't just use these recipes for my low calorie days, I find ones I like and increase the portion sizes or add some additional accompaniments (veg, rice, noodles etc) on my regular days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 5:2 Cookbook: 100 Recipes for Fasting, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The recipes are very clear and easy to cook. I would recommend it to friends who are considering this route to healthy weight loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5:2 Cookbook, 25 Feb 2014
By 
J. C. Sullivan "JCS" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to give me some ideas for meals on the fasting days of this plan. I was somewhat disappointed in the choice of meals. I only picked out 10 recipes that I could cook for myself and the family. I have found better recipes in low fat cook books. It gave a few useful tips at the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good healthy eating, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 5:2 Cookbook: Recipes for the 2-Day Fasting Diet. Makes 500 or 600 Calorie Days Easier and Tastier. (Kindle Edition)
I have been following this book for three weeks, and have kissed five pounds, feeling far more healthier and have more energy, I'm have enjoyed the cooking the recipes, which are very vered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete Information, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual with all cook books only about 30% of recipes apply but the most disappointing thing is the lack of a decent list of items and their calorie count.About 30% useful as a complete guide,do not highly recommend there must be better books with more useful information in them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews