Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music that like us began in Africa
The music on this Soundway Records Amazon Label Sampler has African and South American roots that will make you smile and dance.
At the time of writing this review the album download was free and the weather was cold outside.
The sampler does it's job well as I will be exploring many of the artists to see what else brings a little sunshine to my ears.
Thank...
Published 20 months ago by D. Nash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars SOUNDWAY
A bit too heavy going for me but I tried it because it's free and I have brought music after listening to a snippet of what's to come come from someone new.
KARRIE
Published 18 months ago by Karrie D


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music that like us began in Africa, 3 April 2013
By 
D. Nash "nisnashbosh" (Winchester, Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soundway Records Amazon Label Sampler (MP3 Download)
The music on this Soundway Records Amazon Label Sampler has African and South American roots that will make you smile and dance.
At the time of writing this review the album download was free and the weather was cold outside.
The sampler does it's job well as I will be exploring many of the artists to see what else brings a little sunshine to my ears.
Thank you Soundway Records and Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to make you happy, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soundway Records Amazon Label Sampler (MP3 Download)
This sampler was a lot better than I expected. I wouldn't count myself a fan of latin or dance but this made me very happy on my commute to work. It has a great rough and ready sound about some of the production (I'm a classic rock fan so I think that's a good thing), but the rhythms are always spot on. There are loads of great basslines, and some great guitar work and some just plain danceable tunes. The last few tracks shade into electronica, but are none the worse for it.

My favourites were Hankerchief by KonKoma, which sounds like an african version of the Ocean's Eleven theme, and Abraka by the Funkees, which reminds me of classic Santana, (and a quick google shows this track is actually a rarity from the 70s). If you fancy something lively and a bit different, then why not give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars some great tunes, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soundway Records Amazon Label Sampler (MP3 Download)
for a free album i was impressed that there were so many good tunes. well worth the download, you've nothing to lose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SOUNDWAY, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soundway Records Amazon Label Sampler (MP3 Download)
A bit too heavy going for me but I tried it because it's free and I have brought music after listening to a snippet of what's to come come from someone new.
KARRIE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not reallymy sort of music., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soundway Records Amazon Label Sampler (MP3 Download)
A bit too way out for me. At my advanced years my taste goes back to Dickie Valentine! I love Status Quo,Beatles,Neil Sadaka some Classical and all Brass Band and Military music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soundway Records Amazon Label Sampler (MP3 Download)
Based on the reviews I downloaded this album as it felt as though it fit in with my tastes. Unfortunately it didn't deliver, this is not to say it won't or doesn't. It just wasn't for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars did not like at all, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soundway Records Amazon Label Sampler (MP3 Download)
deleted from my kindle fire as found it depressing again some others will no doubt like this but not to my personal taste
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soundway Records Amazon Label Sampler (MP3 Download)
Tried this because it was free and to see how downloading music worked-had not done it before.
Not my usual music choice but I quite enjoyed it and will listen to it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best labels there is!, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soundway Records Amazon Label Sampler (MP3 Download)
Soundway has put out some of the best reissues and great compilations which are well worth buying.

If Soundway put it out then it is def worth a listen!

I have bought a dozen or so CDs and some on vinyl too and I have never been disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soundway Records Amazon Label Sampler (MP3 Download)
An eclectic mix of musical styles - I should be too old for this sort of stuff but what the hey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews