Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars441
3.8 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 4|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

“Call of Duty: Ghosts” is an action-adventure videogame. It’s a first-person shooter, and continues the saga established in the earlier instalments of ‘Call of Duty’. It's a good game, and plays well on the PS4.

The story presents an alternative timeline, in which much of the Middle East has suffered from nuclear destruction – which has caused a global economic crisis. A new ‘Federation’ of nation-states (led by Venezuela) have formed into a super-power – and this threatens the status quo. And so a clandestine group of US special forces – known as ‘the Ghosts’ – must embark on a mission behind enemy lines, to prevent world domination by the Federation. This is a fun military-style game, and those who’ve enjoyed earlier games in this series will probably like it. It has a very good multiplayer mode, with superb gameplay.

The single-player campaign is entertaining, but rather limited. It tends to lack any sort of innovation, and is no different from earlier games. Yet it’s still fun. You play – for the most part – as a character called Logan Walker, who’s a member of the Ghosts. The main story takes about 10 hours to complete, depending on the difficulty setting. But it’s the online multi-player adventures – especially ‘Squads’ – that’s great, where you can play as two opposing teams, as well as in wave-based survival match. And there is also ‘Extinction’ - a new 4-player cooperative mode, in which players fight various aliens (known as Cryptids) in a base-defending survival-style map. There's plenty of re-play value to be had - especially if you've a group of friends who you enjoy playing online with.

Overall, this game is a lot of fun. If you enjoy the gameplay style of the ‘Call of Duty’ franchise then I recommend this game. While the single-player campaign is rather limited, the online multi-player options provide for lots of action.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Thought I would give this a go despite already owning the pc version. I have always been a pc fanboy and have a pretty high spec pc built specifically for gaming but more recently have noticed the price of the ps4 and the games are coming down in price. All I want to do is pop the game disc in and be playing within a minute or two, it took nearly an hour to install the 4 disc pc version yesterday and then it wanted updating etc.....it's not a total deal breaker but today I received my copy of this game on ps4, in went the disc, took around 30 seconds to partially load and update and within the minute I was playing the game and not only that visually I would say it's on a par or even better than the pc version. I used the 2D to 3D conversion app on my Samsung 3D tv and the game looks brill and plays as smooth as anything. Very pleased , great game too.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
c.o.d has received a lot of criticism from fans of the franchise lately due to repetitiveness and according to some lack of imagination.
This game is great and is very enjoyable. I Iove the alien extinction mode, its so refreshing from zombies and their are some great ideas in there.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
I have to say, I was a bit worried about the quality of this game having played the ps3 version.
The ps3 version was very poor in terms of gameplay, and connection issues. It just didn't feel like cod hence the general poor reviews on amazon.
However, the ps4 version is a drastic improvement!
The connection online is very good, if not the best compared to all cods. The crazy lag comp that was evident in the ps3 version is almost unnoticeable, from 7 hours gameplay, I have only been shot around a corner once!
The spawning is still quite bad, and terrible on specific maps.
The graphics have finally been improved, and compared to the ps3 version, they are much much much better.
I have rarely suffered any frame-rate issues either, which was much discussed for the ps4 version prior to the release.

I would advise anyone who was deeply disappointed by the ps3 version to get the upgrade to the ps4.
33 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Don't be fooled by the title, there aren't any ghosts in this game. It's nothing like 'Casper the friendly ghost'...

My 3 year old niece was devastated. Well, she was to begin with.... she's just done a commando roll into the lounge,with mud smeared across her little chubby cheeks and screamed "Yipee ki yay mother hubbard" then tried to nuke the dog.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
i got this game from a different website, have to say cod is not what it used to be. Spawning is terrible players camp, knifing has gone worse than it used to be before, i thought nothing can get worse than black ops 2 a game that i didnt enjoy, but this game is terrible. Battlefield 4 is the one for hardcore gamers who enjoy teamwork and flying jets, this game is broken, campaign is awful( even though this game is all about the multiplayer. Thats why its not a good game
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
I received the US version (despite ordering the UK version pictured). The US version will only be compatible with add ons bought on PSN accounts created for countries of American region only, in other words all additional digital content bought on a UK account will not be compatible with an American version of the game. I informed Amazon and re-ordered the UK version again (as picture advertises), only to receive the US version again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
The actual game is pretty good, the problem is that I live in the UK so when I was sent a US version of the game, I was irritated as it is region locked and I can't purchase any DLC. This won't be a problem for some, but I wanted to buy the snoop dogg voice pack and now I can't. I was hoping they would send a UK version as the image shown is of a UK version of the gam
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
Great campaign, and online is the best current first person shooter which isn't overrated like AW is.
Also the PS4 online servers are great, and almost lag free compared to how laggy this game was on the ps3 when I had it on there online.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
Region 2 or America or whatever so can't download DLC purchased in UK.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)