Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars401
3.8 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation4|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£5.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2014
Each year EA bring out a new version of FIFA and each year it becomes less and less value for money, little changes. EA want us all playing Ultimate Team and getting ripped off paying for virtual packs and players and won't allow you to keep those players and items going into the next season. I've been loyal and bought FIFA each year for many years, but I think I'll stop now.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
Hi
If you like to setup and play a lokal tournament with 3 friends, well no luck there anymore. EA removed the only reason for me to play FIFA. Guess this will be my last FIFA games. Would like an refund, but my experience with EA customer service is that I will just vaste my time.

Its a disgrace that this removed feature was not mentioned.

Best regards
Carsten
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I've played football games since the Super Nintendo first came out and love them, it's great to just pick up a joypad for 10-20 minutes and just have a quick game of football.

20 years on and i've never (until now) played a football game that make me want to throw the joypad through the nearest window. Who ever tested this game and thought "yeah that is great, we can charge £50 for this game and sleep easy at night knowing that we have not ripped people off" needs to be placed in a padded cell because there is just no hope for them.

I've played is constantly for nearly 4 months to get better at it because as i thought the problem was with me but it turns out that this is just the worst football game i've ever played. It's seems slow, there is no point trying to pass the ball around and create chances, no point trying to do perfect tackles just lump the ball forward and chase it with the fastest player you can find. Forget slide tackles, just run in to the guy with the ball and as long as your player is a bit bigger you'll get the ball nearly every time.

The thing a really wanted to play was the Football Ultimate Team which is the biggest money grabbing tool i've ever seen on a video game, you can either play hundreds of games at 20 minutes a pop and save up the coins you earn to buy the likes of Ronaldo or Robben or you can buy a lucky dip pack once you have 5000 or 7500 coins (you earn 300-500 coins per game) where you "may" get a star player, if you have not got enough Coins then it's no problem you can use your actual credit card to buy Fifa points (these points can cost between £0.79 and £79.99!!!) which you can then use to buy these packs as if the £50 you've already spent on the game is just not good enough, once you've spent all of your Fifa points you may come out with a couple of decent players but in most cases you won't.

Playing the game is joyless and frustrating, i will never buy another Fifa game.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Would of given it 0 stars if i could, how can people rate this any higher than 1 is beyond me
It's blatently scripted.
UT shouldn't be in Fifa.
EA have decided to become lazy and just copy and paste from year to year without listening to the people that actually buy and play there games.
The typical scripted fifa rubbish- basically when the computer wants to score IT WILL SCORE, if the computer doesnt want you to score YOU WONT SCORE! If the computer wants you to do a good pass you do, if the computer doesnt want you to do a good pass, you dont't
Online play: dont even bother with this option, once EA has the worst servers i have ever played on...laggy and unstable... receive the ball look up press pass...sounds simple, not online. you receive the ball then for some reason have to take around 5 touches even though you have pressed pass before recieving the ball in the fitst place! And the worst: It happens also offline!!!

Let's all stop buying FIFA until EA actually make a game that's fun, let's you play without scripting, and listens to complaint
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
By far the worst Fifa I have ever played! Even worst than Fifa 2007.... and that's saying something. Where the hell do I start.

Game play- The Game play is slow and frustratingly sluggish. Players take an age to pass, shoot and the touches are terrible. Even top players struggle to control the ball. I find it impossible to run past/go around players, and as a result, there is no excitement or skill involved when playing the game. Goalkeepers no longer come out automatically to gather the ball from through balls or crosses that are in their vicinity. I mean come on, how can the goalkeeper not claim a ball that is within his six yard box? Crosses are literally impossible to defend. You may as well flip a coin. You're more likely to score from a corner than from a penalty in this game and feel defenceless every time a ball is whipped in. I've lost count of the amount of times I've had three defenders around one attacker and yet the attacker still manages to header the ball and score. As I say corners are just a game of luck. Finesse is still as useless as ever, and most of the time when using it the ball ends up being hit straight at the keeper. Every time you make a tackle, the ball always seems to roll further on giving the opposition the chance to regain possession again. You can make 4 or 5 tackles in a row and still find yourself without the ball. Furthermore, players make random fouls without you pressing a button and the ref always seems to give fouls for the slightest of touches on players. All of these problems and more makes the game so frustrating and slow, eventually leading to controllers flying across the room.

Seasons- For those who enjoy playing online, DON'T BUY THIS GAME! You are constantly up against the noobs of Fifa who persistently use the flawed L1 and triangle to loft it over your defenders, who cant seem to follow the run of the attackers. This occurs 90% of the time, with 99.9% chance of them scoring. Pass and move has literally become obsolete, as Fifa seem to think football is now all about hoofing the ball 60 yards across the pitch. Conveniently the ball always lands at the feet of the on running attacker, who is more often than not, C.Ronaldo. This brings me to my next point. Nearly every game I have played online is against Real Madird. I don't think I have had three games in a row where I haven't played Real Madrid. This is predominantly down to the fact that Fifa have made them so overpowered that even the worst of gamers can win with them. On countless occasions I have had numerous shots on target without any success of a goal, however one over the top through ball (L1,Triangle) against me causes confusion at the back and cuts the defence in half, ultimately leading to the inevitable 1 Shot, 1 on target, 1 Goal. It is literally impossible to defend at times and this is down to the incompetent EA developers and their rubbish AI. They've even got rid of Co-op online. Who the hell made that decision! Seriously I think they must of been high when they made this game, it's that bad.

I could go on and on but I think Iv'e made my point. Don't allow EA to rob you of your well earned money.

Seriously EA sort it out!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
A few weeks ago my PS3 gave up on me after 6 years of impeccable service! This Friday just gone my PS4 bundle arrived with Infamous: Second Son & as a life-long football sims fanatic, FIFA 14 was always going to be a day one purchase for me. Despite only being 24 hours into my PS4 life I must say that so far I have been very impressed.

Straight away the in game menus seem sleek and much more responsive. Loading times are noticeably faster than on the PS3 as you'd expect. As for the graphics, just wow! The crowd improvements are most impressive, every goal is greeted with a realistic reaction from the home or away supporters. I scored a goal with Milan away to Barcelona and the celebration scene cut to a section of Milan fans high up in th Nou Camp going crazy, very authentic.

As for the gameplay, by no means revolutionary changes from its PS3 incarnation but certainly an improvement. Player reactions seem a bit more real and the games tend to be a bit more fluid. Online so far also seems very smooth.

The lack of any real ground breaking improvements or additons to the game coupled with the fact that in 6 months I have had to shell out £80+ on FIFA games prevents it from getting a 5 star.

Its a great platform for EA to build on for FIFA 15. The power in the PS4 is clearly there and lets see if the games developers can do the hardware justice!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
This is the worst fifa EVER!

Players are sluggish!
Always offside.

When the ball hits the player they dont control it they knock it in front of them and other players get the ball then.

So slow on the ball.

You press pass and by that time another player has got so near you they intercept!
Goal keepers are awful!

every defender is quicker then ronaldo and bale.

they said players are supposed to be intelligent! my ass, they forever run into other defenders, run into one another. try heading balls they cant reach!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Would of given it 0 stars if i could, how can people rate this any higher than 1 is beyond me.

The game is terrible compared to other fifas, i just hope that pro evo comes out with something special like the old days this year that will put the fifa games into the bargain basket.

It would seem that ea sports have the lions share of the market so have decided to become lazy and just copy and paste from year to year without listening to the people that actually buy and play there games.

First of all heres a few things i remembered from a few games i had last night before turning the my PS4 of before it went out the window.

Glitches- I have noticed some of the goal celebrations are glitchy, i like to celebrate my goals with the sliding on knees beating the chest celebration but now it would seem i slide on my knees then fall flat on my face... not part of the celebration it seems like a glitch were another player should slide behind me and grab hold and pin down on the floor and celebrate with you...cant believe this hasnt been fixed with an update.

The typical scripted fifa rubbish- basically when the computer wants to score IT WILL SCORE, if the computer doesnt want you to score YOU WONT SCORE!

Heard a saying the other day, someone said they would rather give a penalty than a corner on fifa and its true. you have more chance of them missing a penalty than missing a header from a corner, Fifa 14 all seems scripted.... they attack down the wing put a cross in and no matter how many of your players you have in the box 1 attacker will leap above 4 of your defenders from 16 yards out and score!!

Tackles- yesterday in one game before half time i picked up 2 yellows and a red without making 1 slide tackle, i have had yellows without even pressing the circle tackle button just by running towards the ball and accidently touching the other player... the slightest knock and the ref will blow making the game stop and start every 2 mins. on the subject of tackles as well it would seem that even if you can tackle a player without giving away a freekick the ball just wonders to another one of there players 4 times in a row i made a tackle for it to roll through to another of there players.

Stats of players mean nothing- Playing with real madrid in a league match against some bottom of the league team i have never heard of and there players will match yours for power and speed?!?!.... i mean c ronaldo has to be the fastest player on the game yet try making a run down the wing and you will be easily chased, caught and then tackled by some player ranked about 63 against a winger ( the best player in the world) who is ranked 92..... but thats just Fifa i remember last fifa playing as arsenal and walcott would glide down the wing at full speed to easily be caught up by jamie carragher!!... UNLESSS of course if its the other way round...if the comp is running down the wing and your giving chase just give up hope of catching regardless of player.... if carragher took of at full speed down the wing you as ronaldo would be left well behind.

Offside- what the hell has happened here? it now blows for offside before the ball has even reached you. old fifas the linesman would wait for you to touch it before flagging and the ref giving offside now its a soon as the ball is played the ref blows for offside, gone are the days when you could hold R2 and L2 and dont interfere with play and let the ball run on to someone making a run from an onside posistion... Terrible!!

Passing- seems you can point towards a player press x to pass and it ends up going in the completly different direction or will be extremly overhit into the crowd from a simple pass. BUT when the computer ends up clearing a corner towards the half way line with a big hoooffffff... boom...directly to the feet of there player who is waiting for it...every dam time

scoring- this has become near enough pure luck if you manage to score now.... common are the games were the stats read 18 shots at goal 14 on target score 0-0.... had around 6 1v1 with the keepers, hold the finesse button to hit it over or straight down the middle into keepers arms?!?!... i hit the bar 3 times from my first 4 shots... 1 time it hit the bar came down to ronaldo who put the header over the bar from 6 yards..... 89 mins into the game and bang the comp kicks you while trying to shoot inside the box and ref blows for a penalty.... comp 1 shot 1 goal in the entire game...

Online play- dont even bother with this option, has to be some of the worst servers i have ever played on...laggy and unstable... recieve the ball look up press pass...sounds simple, not online. you recieve the ball then for some reason have to take around 5 touches even though you have pressed pass before recieving the ball in the fitst place!

Waste of money... but its the only football game out on the ps4 at the moment....broken glitchy lazy game hence why people are flogging this on facebok or gumtree for £20 to get rid of it, several of my mates have already sold it for tomb raider, dont blame them.... if you are looking at it thinking i might get it then dont...AVOID AT ALL COSTS!
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
This is one of the worst football games I've ever played. FIFA have messed up on so many different levels with this game.

Goalkeepers: 10 out of 10 times the keeper will palm the ball into another attackers path when a save is made leaving your defenders no where to be found and bamboozled. It's become so scripted that rubbish players use this as a tactic to score goals and take shots from unheard of angles to force a save. Goalkeepers also don't like saving SUPER SLOW shots and like to palm it out or let it go in when it's a simple tuck to the chest save.

Defenders: I've lost count the amount of times I've made a tackle and the ball still manage to go in the attackers direction. The amount of times I've made consecutive contain or slide tackles and players like Ibramhimovic still manage to run through my team without no stumble or slowing down. Crossing and corners on this game is dispicable. The amount of times I've had three players around an attacker on a corner and the attacker still manages to beat three tall defenders in the air makes it hard to comprehend. Crossing is the same you can read the play as much as you like but when your playing against teams with big names they will score 99% of the time. (Basically Ronaldo, Imbrahimovic, Manzukic and lewendoski)

Gameplay: Everything is over powering!!! According to this game speed is stronger then strength. Someone like Raheem Sterling can use his speed to knock mertersacker off the ball when he's attempting to shield the ball. Standing tackles always cause for the ball to run away from you making you lose the ball again. Good players take 5 to 6 touches to bring down the ball when they have no pressure on them allowing you to be closed down quicker. However top teams like Madrid PSG Munich etc don't have this problem. The computer causes your players to run into the opposition giving away free kicks and penalties which is confusing as you don't press any buttons. In the rain this is even worse. Whoever in the EA team was responsible for designing the gameplay basically needs to be made redundant as they don't have a clue what they are doing. Online team selections are stupid because you always get teams such as Real Madrid, Liverpool, PSG and Bayern Munich. You have a better chance of walking into Buckingham Palace and slapping the Queen then getting other teams apart from those. Why are people always those teams?? Because FIFA has made every player on those teams super fast making them super strong and super finishers. So good that Ronaldo managed to score a header from outside the box and lob my goalkeeper when he was on the line. Great stuff FIFA!

FIFA have messed up with this game so bad. They made the gameplay so that speed is the key to winning instead of actually playing football. You hardly ever come up against players who actually are able to outwit you with a combination of passes that lead to good football. Instead you get L1 + Triangle from kick off which beats your whole back line leaving your defenders hopeless and the opposition through on goal. And what makes it worse it's all out of your control because FIFA doesn't put the cursor on the player closes to the ball. This causes constant frustration and makes me believe that FIFA have created an arcade game instead of an actual football game people can enjoy. I won't be buying FIFA 15 that's for sure. Pro Evo this is your time to shine again!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
The basic part of the game (playing football) is very good. Good graphics and it does feel realistic (assuming I would really be as good as Messi) and not having to wait too long for it to load the game.

I don't like the ultimate team section. Without spending money it seems like you'd have to play this part of the game non-stop to acquire a decent team. I will have a go, but the temptation to spend some real cash to short cut the effort is probably what most people have done - and after spending £50 on a game that does not seem right to me.

I'd also like the be able to participate in the standard competitions like the FA cup. Seems like you only have career mode or the ultimate team now. Not played online yet though (mainly because I am a bit useless at the game).

Overall though a good game.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

£7.40

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)