Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Aerosmith Blu-Ray
Item was bought as a Christmas gift, receiver extremely happy, bit disappointed it's not covering one gig though. Good delivery.
Published 6 months ago by clare robinson

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great performances but very poorly organised Blu-ray...
Although not yet released in the UK, this title has been on sale in Japan since mid-June (and I managed to purchase a Blu-ray copy there during my recent trip). Filmed in Japan back in 2011 (while the country was still recovering from its earthquake/tsunami tragedy), this concert film is pretty much the band's tribute to their legion of Japanese fans.

On the...
Published 13 months ago by Alvin Tan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great performances but very poorly organised Blu-ray..., 2 July 2013
By 
Alvin Tan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock For The Rising Sun [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Although not yet released in the UK, this title has been on sale in Japan since mid-June (and I managed to purchase a Blu-ray copy there during my recent trip). Filmed in Japan back in 2011 (while the country was still recovering from its earthquake/tsunami tragedy), this concert film is pretty much the band's tribute to their legion of Japanese fans.

On the positive side, the performances are awesome and very nicely filmed (as one would expect from seeing Aerosmith performing live). And the focus here is more on the 'hard rock' songs from the band's catalogue (none of those cheesy ballads that they have become so famous for since the 1990s... don't worry, that irritating song from "Armageddon" is not here). So, if you prefer the harder and 'bluesier' side of the band, this one is for you. It is possible though that some fans may be unhappy about the omission of some of the band's better-known songs from this collection (eg. "Janie's Got A Gun", "Dream On", etc). The Japanese edition contains 4 bonus tracks ("Train Kept a Rollin" - full version, "Lord of the Thighs", "Lick and a Promise" and "One Way Street") but I am not sure whether these are included in the UK release.

Now, to the negatives. Although I love the performances here, I really hate how this Blu-ray is organized. First of all, this is a 'collection of performances' from various shows rather than a single complete show. Ok, there's nothing wrong with this from my perspective... however, why on earth do they have to mix short interviews/comments/tour footage in-between almost every song??? WHY, WHY, WHY??? Most of us buy a live DVD/Blu-ray because we want to watch the band perform... we want a continuous, non-stop 2-hour live show. Instead, there is disruption after every song with all those interviews, comments, etc. This has been promoted as a concert film and so it should have been released as such. At least, the disc menu should include an option that allows the viewer to decide whether to play only the live performances or to play everything. Or, why not put together those interviews and commentaries as a separate 'Japanese tour' documentary? Why mix everything together? After all the complaints received for their previous concert release ("You Gotta Move" DVD), this latest release has not only repeated the same mistake but has multiplied it by ten times (now we get an interruption after every song, and this means that most of us are unlikely to leave this in our Blu-ray or DVD player for repeated viewing, simply because it is so damn irritating!).

'5 stars' for the songs and performances. BUT... '0 star' for the Blu-ray!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nice footage but poorly edited, 27 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Rock For The Rising Sun [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
For some reason the director decided to mangle a decent tour/concert movie into a badly done documentary. They have no idea of very basic film production. The cinematography is good but the morons in charge of the film have no F'g clue about how to make an entertaining movie. The director is hack and ruined what could have been a decent movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aerosmith Blu-Ray, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock For The Rising Sun [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Item was bought as a Christmas gift, receiver extremely happy, bit disappointed it's not covering one gig though. Good delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AEROSMITH ARE THE D.Bs!, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Almost as good as being there - Aerosmith rock Japan as only they can!!! No contest who to watch when they're on form and they are here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm ...not thrilled, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fades after washing......looks like its an old duvet cover that's lay in the back of the linen cupboard for ages....sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Aerosmith!, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock For The Rising Sun [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
The definitive Aerosmith concert (until now!) Great old stuff, just what the old fans were waiting. It's just missing Stop Messin Round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 30 Aug 2013
This review is from: Rock For The Rising Sun [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
After such a disappointing last album, this album made me forget everything about it. Great to hear them play some of the lesser mainstream songs. And the interviews and stories on your were so emotional. Fantastic DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good but a few flaws, 24 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Rock For The Rising Sun [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
The other reviews pretty much sum it up.
On buying this it has no mention on the sleeve of a tour documentary.
To be fair it is more of a concert film and some of the interviews inbetween tracks are annoying.
Another thing is the first half of Hangman Jury is cut.
Also where the hell are tracks like Jaded and Dream On???
The whole thing runs at 1 hour 34 mins.

On the plus side the picture and audio are exceptional.
It is on a par with Led Zeppelin's Celebration Day and the live feel is fantastic.
It makes you really wish for a full on uncut, no interviews, live show release.
Considering they spent all that money filming in HD and recording each show then releasing this
it makes you wonder the decisions made by management/record company.
Saying this I'd still recommend it.

NOTE - I have e-mailed [...] requesting they release an uncut & no interviews between songs full show.
If we all e-mail them maybe they'll get the hint!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost the Aerosmith dvd I've been waiting for, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen the film in the cinema I decided to purchase the DVD. The main feature is good. Not an entire concert, more like a road movie of their tour. Some of the interviews are interesting though not very enlightening and the shots of the band just hanging out are cool. The gig footage itself is nice and well presented though some of the intros to the songs are missing due to the editing which is a shame. I don't see the point in drum solos so that five minutes is lost on me and the instrumental is messy and brings down the overall quality of what is a band clearly at the top of their game. The tracklist is short on big classic hits which also limits the appeal (no big ballads!)
The only extras are two more songs, both of which perhaps could've been included in the feature but are welcome as a bonus.

Overall I think the DVD is worth owning if you are a fan of the band but not the first to reach for if new to the back catalogue. Being a long term fan I really enjoyed seeing some of the older stuff get some airtime. If is wasn't for the dodgy editing and the slightly poor track selection I'd give it five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock for the rising sun aerosmith, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I give 5 stars to this produto because it's great. I arrived at the date indicated and in perfect condition, I would recommend to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock For The Rising Sun [Blu-ray] [2013]
Rock For The Rising Sun [Blu-ray] [2013] by Aerosmith (Blu-ray - 2013)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews