Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars neo-prog at its best., 17 April 2013
This review is from: Fanfare & Fantasy (Audio CD)
A superb collection of classic neo-progressive rock.A must have if you enjoy Iq,Twelfth Night,Fish-era Marillion and Dutch band Flamborough Head.
Beautifully played,good vocals and a great sound courtesy of Rob Aubrey,whose mixed some stellar prog bands in his time.
This album is already in my top ten list for album of the year.
Do yourself a favour - BUY FANFARE AND FANTASY. A*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanfare & Fantasy (MP3 Download)
This is the follow up to the fantastic "Disobey", and it doesn't disappoint. Some great stuff on here with my particular stand-out tracks being "The Cause" and "The Answer". Whether you like it or not Prog Rock is still thankfully alive and kicking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Neo-Prog doesn't come any better!, 15 Nov 2014
By 
Pensioner (Christchurch) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fanfare & Fantasy (Audio CD)
Comedy of Errors returned to action with an excellent album in 2011, 'Disobey'. This is the follow up and if you like your symphonic or neo-prog then you will certainly thoroughly enjoy this album that has a total of 66 minutes and not one of the 9 tracks is less than excellent!

Other reviews have centred around the vocal talents and performance of the lead singer. I would admit these are relatively this band's weaker point but his voice is acceptable. The obvious high points are the guitar and keyboard inter-playing which are both utterly superb throughout.

The respected 'Progarchives' rank this as one of their top 10 albums of its type with good cause. I loved this album on first listen and cannot award it less than 5 stars. Treat yourself for Xmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 9 April 2013
This review is from: Fanfare & Fantasy (Audio CD)
After falling in love with Disobey when a friend played it to me a year or so ago, I was greatly looking forward to the release of this album. And it's even better than I thought it would be.

Musically, it is absolutely stunning, and beautifully written and performed. There are echoes of early Marillion, Camel, Renaissance, a dash of Porcupine Tree and a hint of Jethro Tull, plus a couple of other teasingly familiar things that I can't quite put my finger on. The interplay between keyboards (Jim Jonhston) and guitars (Mark Spalding) is a pleasure to listen to, topped with Joe Cairney's vocals. Immediately accessible, it also repays repeated listening with its many layers of detail. It'll certainly be high in my top 10 albums for 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing Musical and Symphonic Excellence, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Dr. Robert Fisher (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fanfare & Fantasy (Audio CD)
Following on from 2011's debut masterpiece 'Disobey', Comedy of Errors bring us a second album which is stunning in terms of its vision and the depth of musical creativity. The album is alive, fresh and bristling with energy and ideas. Indeed, the joy of the album is listening to the wonderful combination of intelligent insight as manifest in the lyrics, the undoubted technical talents of an extremely skilled set of musicians, and the driving, engrossing symphonic melodies presented in the songs. Joe Cairney's lead vocals are the perfect summit of a soundscape which is richly layered with Jim Johnston's expressive and mesmerising keyboard work, supplemented and enhanced with Mark Spalding's captivating guitar work and grounded in the wonderful drumming of Bruce Levick. With backing vocals provided by John Fitzgerald and excellent production values, this is an album which opens up again and again with each listening: always something new, your attention never slips. It is a joy to listen to song writing of this quality and depth. A cracking good album and thoroughly worth every penny. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Majestic!, 13 April 2014
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fanfare & Fantasy (Audio CD)
This second album from the very talented Comedy Of Errors is a worthy follow up to 'Disobey'. Superb musicianship, particularly keyboards and guitar and a strong set of excellent songs make 'Fanfare & Fantasy' a first class prog album. If you're a fan of Marillion, Pallas or Pendragon, then you'll love this. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good album indeed, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Nick Shepherd (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanfare & Fantasy (Audio CD)
Similar style to Marillion (Fish era). A very good album indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Genesis and Marillion come back!, 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: Fanfare & Fantasy (Audio CD)
This is a great album by a great band!
They do sound like Genesis and Marillion.
They make a great combination and it's nice to hear prog rock done so well!
Well done boys, got Disobey as well, which is equally as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fanfare & Fantasy
Fanfare & Fantasy by Comedy of Errors (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews