Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant follow-up to the Wagner disc
This sequence gives a marvellous experience of Verdi's music, with Kaufmann's magnificent timbre unfailingly hitting the right note whether in quiet or loud passages. The ripe emotional utterance tends to be the norm with this composer, but the tenderness is equally apparent in, say, an aria from Luisa Miller or La Forza del destino, where he dovetails with a clarinet...
Published 10 months ago by schumann_bg

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No fireworks!
I would please like to not be lynched by the scores of Kaufmann fans out there for saying this: I did not see fireworks with this album. I expected them. Goosebumps, in-your-face emotions, fireworks, the lot; the sort of thing that happens to your ears (and body) when you meet with great art and enormous performances. Just this evening I listened to this CD at a dinner...
Published 9 months ago by R+ fan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Verdi Album, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Jose Moura Santos "Jose Moura dos Santos" (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
Great voice and interpretation! What more can I say?! HIghly recommend it for classical music lovers! Don't let it pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goregeous, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
The music is gorgeous, the singing is gorgeous and the singer is gorgeous! The disk is worth every penny or euro! What a gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic album, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
Jonas has a gorgeous voice and this selection perfectly show cases it. Good selection of tracks and worth buying if you like light opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joy to listen to - velvety voice, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
Have bought this CD now several times to give as present. Kaufmann is the best tenor performer of our present time - joy to watch and listen to - I have also bought the DVD Tosca on several occasions to give as present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a superior CD, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
I love Kaufmann's rich interpretation of the different Verdi- personalities he performs and his superb control over his voice. He is very capable in expressing a variety of feelings, and this gives a lot of variety in his interpretations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
From this album it is clear that he retains absolute mastery over his voice. His first Otello will be the most eagerly awaited Verdi performance of the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Supurb album, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
Again I could not have wished for better service thank you. This cd is one of the best for tenor voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No more words, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
See above.
The world of the Opera became more exciting and moving than before, thanks to Kaufmann, Beczala, Netrebko, Damrau, Poplavskaya and many others. And we, the melomans, are happy to have them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tender and powerful, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
This album by Jonas Kaufmann demonstrates his wide range of emotional interpretation. The choice of Verdi arias shows him to be romantic and tender and then powerful and strong. An excellent choice for anyone who doesn't yet know Kaufmann
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must after Parsifal!, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
After watching Jonas Kaufman in Parsifal which ran for many hours I am one of his biggest fans. I have come to Opera late in life and I am swept away by Verdi's music. The album starts with music from Rigoletto which is my favourite Verdi opera because it is so tragic....the idea that a loving father could be responsible (by mistake) for the death of his much adored daughter then continues with other amazing arias from Aida, Don Carlo and Otello. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Verdi Album
The Verdi Album by Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews