Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding - Past, Present and the Future
A fabulous start for Jonas Kaufmann in his association with Sony, not only does it include tracks of his current roles but also ones from his past and reputedly ones he is planning to sing in the near future.

Starting with track one from his past repertoire - "La donna è mobile" which is sung with such power, control and beauty and towards the end we...
Published 15 months ago by Trev-R

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No fireworks!
I would please like to not be lynched by the scores of Kaufmann fans out there for saying this: I did not see fireworks with this album. I expected them. Goosebumps, in-your-face emotions, fireworks, the lot; the sort of thing that happens to your ears (and body) when you meet with great art and enormous performances. Just this evening I listened to this CD at a dinner...
Published 14 months ago by R+ fan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding - Past, Present and the Future, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
A fabulous start for Jonas Kaufmann in his association with Sony, not only does it include tracks of his current roles but also ones from his past and reputedly ones he is planning to sing in the near future.

Starting with track one from his past repertoire - "La donna è mobile" which is sung with such power, control and beauty and towards the end we have the Otello which is one of his future roles and gives a glimpse of the extraordinary performances to come, this is the role meant for him, his use of drama and dark undertones as he fills the speakers with an interpretation of opera 'tragedy' that is beyond anyone else singing today (even Domingo IMHO)

If you need any further proof of why Kaufmann is so loved by his fans then just listen to the dynamic range and control of his voice when singing `Celeste Aida', something most will be familiar with, but just listen to the last note....wow!

We have had some superb releases this year from Kaufmann, Calleja and some not so good, Verdi - Netrebko (Anna what were you thinking) this recording reinforces Jonas Kaufmann's position as probably the greatest Tenor of his generation and one who has all the possibility of exceeding the stratospheric heights reached by Placido Domingo. We are very lucky that Joseph Calleja is just a few years behind and nipping at his heels.

Amazon Cloud/Mp3 vs CD
======================

If you are thinking of buying this album on MP3 only then I would reconsider. By buying the CD you get a free MP3 version on your cloud player which you can download. However the difference is this, the Cloud player Mp3 version is 320kbs but the CD version is 1440kbs and of much higher quality. This is especially true when comparing playback from a HiFi via headphones. Buy the CD then rip it yourself at a higher bit rate than amazon provide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant follow-up to the Wagner disc, 16 Sep 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
This sequence gives a marvellous experience of Verdi's music, with Kaufmann's magnificent timbre unfailingly hitting the right note whether in quiet or loud passages. The ripe emotional utterance tends to be the norm with this composer, but the tenderness is equally apparent in, say, an aria from Luisa Miller or La Forza del destino, where he dovetails with a clarinet touchingly. The brass are to the fore in Aida, sounding thrillingly full as Verdi would have wanted in this state-of-the-art recording. He is also very well set against a solo baritone in Don Carlo, while my personal favourite is probably from Simon Boccanegra because it is musically at such a pitch of excitement. The Parma Opera orchestra is very vivid but without shrillness under the sensitive direction of Pier Giorgio Morandi, with chorus well brought into focus on occasion, but it is really the sound of Kaufmann that makes Verdi seem so fantastically noble and alive in all these numbers. He really is a perfect fit with the idiom, with a range of colour and emotion that is unusually wide. He makes you eager to hear ever more phrases; the sound is beautiful like the fur of the wolf, perhaps, its slight roughness adding that nth degree of allure. Kaufmann himself writes a note on each aria with both musical and personal observations, complemented by an essay on Verdi tenors, texts and translations and seven photos of Kaufmann in a presentation that folds over three times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Verdi Album - No arguments here!, 18 Sep 2013
By 
M. E. OUTLAW "Fuorilegge" (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
I almost didn't buy this album. I haven't been a Kaufmann fan in the past, having been disappointed by his Pinkerton with Angela Gheorgiu, but I decided to take a chance, and I'm so glad I did.
His voice is the most virile tenor since Franco Corelli, capable of blazing top notes, yet with the most affecting piannissimi. He shows great respect for the wishes of his composer, giving us the last note of `Celeste Aida' exactly as Verdi stipulated, and including the drop of an octave and a half in `Di' tu se fedele' from Un ballo in maschera, which many tenors, including Pavarotti, reduce to half an octave.
The word which comes foremost to my mind for this album is `thoughtful'. Certainly many of the arias are the old `war-horses' of countless tenor albums, and yet even the most well-known, like `La donna è mobile' and `Ah! si, ben mio coll'essere' are given fresh and engaging renderings. Kaufmann has stopped to think not only what was in Verdi's mind but also what might have been in the mind of the character he is portraying. In other words, these are truly `dramatic' performances.
For me, some of the most wonderful parts of this album are those where Kaufmann sings quietly, giving every nuance to Verdi's delicious melodies, yet able at any moment to burst into vocal brilliance. The arias from La forza del destino and Luisa Miller display this beautifully. But the absolute acme of his performance comes with Otello. These two arias from the last act of the opera, show us Otello in steely, righteous rage, preparing to take his wife's life for her supposed infidelity and then, having strangled her, discovering her innocence. Nowhere does Kaufmann come closer to perfection than in conveying the real tragedy at the heart of this opera, with a voice and an artistry totally in tune with the composer. There were tears in my eyes as he finished.
I don't understand what is meant by `a bonus track'. Macduff's recitative and aria from Macbeth, lamenting the destruction of his family, are beautifully sung with all the qualities that I have delineated above, but they should really have been included earlier in the album. Moving though the performance is, the return to earlier Verdi breaks the spell of the magical and simultaneously heart-rending music of the mature Verdi with his greatest tenor role. This is where the album should have ended. Buy it and you will never regret it; if, by any chance, like me, you should be unable to get to a concert hall or opera house, you will think, for more than an hour, that you have attained heaven on earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
Kaufmann's versatility is really only now being truly seen. His Verdian delivery is wonderful, and the timbre of the voice embraces the music with a depth of colour and understanding that is rare. And, at last, we have a new Otello-in-the-making; this is the first time since the heyday of Domingo that the hairs on the back of my neck have risen to this music. Don't let them rush you into it, Kaufmann, take your time, because my instinct tells me that however long you need it will be well worth waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, my goodness . . ., 11 Oct 2013
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
Well, here's a voice, and while I agree with Ralph Moore on Amazon.com that it perhaps isn't ideal for some of the music here, the quality of the voice itself, as well as Kaufmann's singing, musicianship, and dramatic instincts make this something to hear. I hope someone records him soon in "Otello," "Norma" and "Turandot" -- in between his Wagner engagements, that is. The middle and lower voice have a very special richness and beauty, and the top is totally secure, even if not quite Italianate in its vowel quality. The breath control and dynamic control are astonishing (the latter sometimes overdone), and the words are savored, even if the phrasing sometimes lacks an ideal flow. Nothing here is careless -- everything is thought out and, on the whole well-executed. Weak points for me are the "Boccanegra" scene (well sung, but doesn't "build") and the "Masnadieri" scene (not very interesting, with Chorus too far back). Very fine are the "Celeste Aida" and the "Otello" items, and absolutely outstanding is the "Trovatore" scene -- a slow but beautifully-phrased "Ah si, ben mio" and a thrilling "Di quella pira." The orchestral support is efficient -- not nearly in the Abbado class, as on Kaufmann's German recital -- and the voice is forwardly placed but not too much so. Make no mistake, though -- this is voice to savor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tenor of our Time, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
Jonas Kaufmann can do no wrong and this recording of Verdi Arias proves it. this man is at the top of his career, and his rich and warm sounding voices fits like a glove in these arias. The man is great in his field and i llok forward to more recordings and stage performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mixed results, 7 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
If Kaufman's Wagner disc was one of the finest recital discs of the stereo era, the Verdi equivalent is not so consistently successful. Spanning the composer's output is difficult for any tenor. I agree with the comments that other singers have (Bergonzi) and in the case of Calleja still do have more idiomatic timbres for the lyric roles. But Kaufman's great sensitivity and musicianship get him through even the extracts from Rigoletto and Luisa Miller. His darkening voice comes into its own in the more heroic repertory, and we can look forward to his first Don Alvaros and eventually Otellos - Kaufman in the latter role could prove as good as any in the last 50 years. For someone who has recently performed Il Trovatore, I was bemused by his observations on the part of Radames which better suits his voice really - his diminuendo-morrendo at the end of Celeste Aida is breathtaking and at least he doesn't need to adjust the pitch. Also on this evidence I am not sure the transfer to Sony has been an artistic triumph. This important recital deserved a better conductor - although the Parma Orchestra play well enough. The Sony engineers sound rather stuck in the studio so I missed the rich atmospheric Decca sound of Kaufman's previous discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jonas and Guiseppe - a powerful combination !, 9 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
I have most of Jonas Kaufmann's CDs and love them all, though I think my favourite is still the 'Romantic Arias'. I re-ordered this CD, having already bought it when it first appeared, because I had inadvertently left the disc in a friend's player (as it turned out later !) and just couldn't live without it ! That gives you an idea of how much I appreciate Jonas - his voice has a quality rare in tenors, an incomparable ability to transmit emotion that reaches the depths of the human psyche. Not only that but an intelligence par excellence along with a stage presence that totally engages his audience. This selection of arias documents Jonas' talents at this stage in his career but is also an outstanding tribute to the composer's genius to mark the 200th anniversary of his birth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JONAS KAUFMANN VERDI ALBUM, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
i am a singer and rate \jonas Kaufmann as one of the greatest tenors ever. He has the lower quality of a baritone still keeping the high range of a tenor. I have never heard this quality before in a tenor, he is quite different from the other great tenors of his generation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...speechless, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Verdi Album (Audio CD)
This is Jonas Kaufmann best ever CD. You will be enchanted and surprised as his voice is this near perfection we have all searched for in his previous recordings. Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Verdi Album
The Verdi Album by Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews