Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE piano boxed set of 2013
This 41 CD/1 DVD set presents a generous selection of Vladimir Horowitz's appearances at Carnegie Hall from 1943-1978. It includes all Carnegie concerts RCA and Columbia (both now owned by Sony) recorded from 1951-1978. It also contains three complete recitals that were recorded by the Carnegie Hall Recording Company at Horowitz's expense. The pianist donated about 13...
Published 12 months ago by Hank Drake

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horowitz deserves better
The box is very beautiful and really strong.

The cds are in strong paper sleeves and, finally, Sony realised that it is not a good idea to put cds in double albums
where you need to take them out horizontally. The way out for the cds in this box is
vertical.

All cds have the same sober, elegant design. The box set has one dvd only and the...
Published 12 months ago by lucas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE piano boxed set of 2013, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Hank Drake (Cleveland, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vladimir Horowitz Live At Carnegie Hall [Box Set] (Audio CD)
This 41 CD/1 DVD set presents a generous selection of Vladimir Horowitz's appearances at Carnegie Hall from 1943-1978. It includes all Carnegie concerts RCA and Columbia (both now owned by Sony) recorded from 1951-1978. It also contains three complete recitals that were recorded by the Carnegie Hall Recording Company at Horowitz's expense. The pianist donated about 13 of these recitals along with other material to Yale University and they are sometimes referred to as the "Yale concerts." Parts of these concerts have been issued piecemeal since the 1990s and are also compiled here. The 1953 and 1966-1968 recitals are presented unedited for the first time. In a few cases, the set contains back-to-back performances of Horowitz playing the same program. Of course, Horowitz never played works twice in the same way, so the duplication of repertoire will not faze aficionados.

Horowitz's recording career can be divided into five distinct phases; this set covers phases 2-4. Space does not permit a detailed analysis of each performance, so I will give my impressions of each phase:

1943-1953: In this era, technical limitations simply did not exist. But, relaxation is a challenge: the Mozart Sonata from 1951 is wound very tightly; there are places where some of the playing is positively brutal - but these are rare. The two recordings of Tchaikovsky's First Piano concerto make for fascinating comparison: the 1943 War Bonds performance with Toscanini is very straight; the 1953 performance with Szell is phrased more rhapsodically in the opening movement, while the pianist sounds as if he's been shot from a cannon for the finale's octave torrent. There are only two compositions entirely new to the Horowitz discography: Brahms Rhapsody in E-flat, Op. 119, No. 4, and Debussy's The Little Shepherd from the Children's Corner Suite, both from the 1953 25th Anniversary recital. A sense of unease pervades the opening pages of the Brahms, with several wrong notes - I can see why Horowitz declined to release it. As for the rest of the recital, it's more balanced than I remember. Perhaps it's because the concert is now presented unedited, but there's a greater sense of ebb and flow to the Schubert D. 960 Sonata, while the Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 is as thrilling as ever.

1965-1968: This, for me, is Horowitz's true peak. The technique is largely intact, but the interpretations have a new sense of depth and repose - and there is a wider color palette, although that may be the result of superior recording technology. Further, the pianist has lost nothing in the way of charisma: it's clear he has the audience in the palms of his hands throughout each recital, even when a string snaps on his piano as happened in 1968. Due to the overwhelming demand for tickets, Horowitz repeated the same program several times from the 1960s onward. It's illustrative of Horowitz's spontaneity to compare the pianist's performances of identical works. An extreme example is Chopin's Second Sonata: The November 1966 performance is taut and lean in the opening movements, with a haunting funeral march; while the December performance is stately and measured - more restrained (both wisely eschew the first movement repeat that's heard in the 1949 recital). There are several works which are new to Horowitz's stereo discography: Beethoven's Variations in C minor, Mendelsohn's Song without Words, Op. 67, No. 5, and Poulenc's Toccata.

1975-1978: Here a decline in Horowitz's playing is evident from the get-go. It's clear from the 1975 recitals that the pianist is trying to prove he can still pull off the technical stunts of his youth (and even middle age), which often he can no longer do. While his technique is secure in most of the standard repertoire, from Liszt's By the Source to Chopin's Scherzo in B minor, in certain works - such as Rachmaninoff's Etude Tableau in D and the finale from the Second Sonata - the pianist tries to cover up technical lapses with an overblown, bombastic style. In Schumann's Sonata in F minor (presented twice), Horowitz does not seem to have fully assimilated and internalized the work, and seems to be fighting it rather than playing it - fortunately RCA recorded it again in California several months later as the version issued on LP in 1976 is superb in every respect. That same year, Horowitz made a rare appearance as a chamber performer at the celebration of Carnegie Hall's 85th anniversary. The rendition of the slow movement of Rachmaninoff's Cello Sonata with Rostropovich is about the most beautiful, loving thing you'll ever hear. What a pity they were never persuaded to record the whole piece. The opening movement of the Tchaikovsky trio has moments of greatness as well as lapses of ensemble - along with some unsteady intonation from Isaac Stern. Horowitz brings far more imagination to the piano part of Schumann's Dichterliebe than one normally hears, and Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau was reportedly displeased with the results. While the recitals are presented unedited, the edit the baritone requested in Ich grolle nicht has been retained. Even more substantially edited is the Golden Jubilee performance of Rachmaninoff's Third Concerto from 1978. This was Horowitz's first time playing with an orchestra since 1953, and while there are many beautiful and heartfelt moments, the performance has some rough spots. There are more technical lapses here - even with editing - than later performances with Zubin Mehta (which was televised on NBC) and in Ann Arbor with Ormandy - a stunning performance where Horowitz nearly equals his younger self.

For many, the real prize here will be the 1968 mini-recital which was televised by CBS. (Can anyone imagine a major network broadcasting a classical piano recital today? It was a demonstration not only of Horowitz's celebrity, but the larger role Classical music played in America's cultural life at the time). Copies of this recital of variable quality have been circulating privately and on the Internet for decades, and small portions have been shown on various documentaries. This is the first time the entire recital has been remastered from something close to the original videotape. I believe the producers have done all they can with the 45 year old standard definition video tape. The image quality is a bit blurred, and there are occasional signs of wear, but overall it's very watchable. The stereo sound, which has been newly synced from Columbia's master tapes, is superb - a vast improvement over what TV audiences would have heard in 1968 (the original mono soundtrack is included as well). For those only familiar with Lang Lang and a host of other performers who agonize throughout their performances, Horowitz's concentration, economy of motion, and straightforward platform manner will come as a shock. This most aurally flamboyant of performers was a portrait of rectitude visually. Astute listeners will notice several minor differences in Horowitz's performance from the companion LP, Horowitz on Television. The pianist played through his entire recital program twice, along with a few selected retakes after the second concert. The network chose which takes to use primarily on the basis of visual quality, while the takes for the album were chosen for musical reasons. Whatever the differences in detail, the performance is consistently some of the tightest, most disciplined playing I've ever heard from Horowitz - how fortunate a visual document of the recital is now available.

Most of the recordings here have been newly remastered. The sound restoration in the 1960s recitals is especially impressive; the listener gets a real sense of hall ambience (along with the occasional subway running underneath the hall). The mono items sound mostly good, although there is one issue with about 30 seconds of heavy surface noise during Liszt's Rákóczy March which stems from the original 78rpm disc. The book includes complete recording information, an essay by producer Jon Samuels about the work that went into remastering the set (reading about the way RCA and Columbia handled Horowitz's recorded legacy will curl your hair), an appreciation by Jed Distler, and a history of Carnegie Hall by Richard Evidon. This last was not particularly interesting to me, as it's obvious Horowitz played so often at Carnegie mostly because it was convenient for him - and judging by the many pirate recordings available, Horowitz tended to be at his best in small college towns like New Haven and Ann Arbor.

I hope Sony will issue the remaining Yale recitals before the source material deteriorates further. A release of selected unissued studio material, which has been circulating privately, would also be in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wonders of Horowitz, 21 Jun 2014
This review is from: Vladimir Horowitz Live At Carnegie Hall [Box Set] (Audio CD)
This is an absolute must for those of us who are too young to have heard the man play live. It is a true treasure trove of material and essential to any classical collection. Some other reviews make mention of the background noises, but I don’t think this is a real problem, at least not to me. It would perhaps have been a bonus if the recordings had been remastered, as there is a bit of ‘crackling noise’ sometimes. Although this does give it a bit of a vinyl feel (for those of you old enough to remember vinyl….). The price is a steal, taking into account all the material you are getting. Enjoy, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Performances to cherish, 17 April 2014
By 
Philip Chadwick - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vladimir Horowitz Live At Carnegie Hall [Box Set] (Audio CD)
I normally give live recordings (particularly historical ones) a miss - ahem.
These are as magnificent as I anticipated from a unique performer - cough.
One slight caveat - COUGH
Audience noise - either the Carnegie crowd are in the throes of terminal TB or the hall is designed to amplify coughing.
Be aware - on balance the performances are good enough to enable you to ignore the spluttering and hacking, but if you have problems with Glenn Gould's humming this might not be for you.
Surely someone could have re-engineered this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horowitz., 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vladimir Horowitz Live At Carnegie Hall [Box Set] (Audio CD)
One of the Worlds greatest of great pianists. A truly remarkable collection of a keyboard genius whose colour, tone and touch are unsurpassed. Thank you Sony for this treasure-chest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horowitz deserves better, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vladimir Horowitz Live At Carnegie Hall [Box Set] (Audio CD)
The box is very beautiful and really strong.

The cds are in strong paper sleeves and, finally, Sony realised that it is not a good idea to put cds in double albums
where you need to take them out horizontally. The way out for the cds in this box is
vertical.

All cds have the same sober, elegant design. The box set has one dvd only and the quality of image and sound is poor.
Sony itself warns about that in the beginning of the dvd and also in the booklet. The images are blurred, show TV lines, and sometimes you will see, for example,
two or three different colours on Horowitz's face.

I just can't believe that there are no other films or tv shows with Horowitz in the Carnegie Hall. Then again, things were different then.
The TV recording is from 1968 and, despite its poor technical quality, you can watch it in peace because there is no idiotic BBC director with short span of attention
cutting the images every 15 seconds as they do in every single classical music programme on BBC.

The booklet has a hard cover and fonts of readable size. It has a few short essays and a track listing.
The booklet is in English, German and French.

The sound is excellent, as far as I good tell.
Right now, for example, I am listening to Mendelssohn's "Songs without words", recorded in 1949. The quality of the sound is impressive.

(WARNING) But, listening to track 7 of cd 5, a Liszt's piece, I heard a weird noise towards the end of the piece. The noise lasts for good 30 seconds.
It has nothing to do with the age of the recording. It is not a "hiss" or something like that. It is clearly an added ,extraneous noise in the original recording.
A customer informs that the noise on cd 5 is on the original recording. Sony should have warned its customers about that. If they did, I didn't see it. I am glad to know that I don't need to ask for a replacement.

Horowitz is one of those rare genius of the piano and is almost beyond reviews, especially from someone like me who is just an "apprentice".
I would like to have called this review "Ladies and Gentlemen: Vladimir Horowitz".

Unfortunately, this box set is not as good as it should be. Let me elaborate:
Sony launched, last year, a box set of Murray Perahia recordings. It has a book, not a booklet, with liner notes for all the pieces. The book also has a very detailed track listing.
In addition, the box set has several dvds, not only one.

Perahia's book has 180 pages in English and it is a proper book, not a booklet. Horowitz's booklet has 300 pages with texts in three languages. The booklet has short essays but, unfortunately,
they are distributed in a messy way along the book.

Now, Horowitz was a far better pianist than Perahia will ever be. Why is it that Sony didn't publish, with this box set , a proper book with liner notes and more documentation as they did for the dry as dust Perahia?
And isn't there a better filming or tv programme of Horowitz in the Carnegie Hall? Even if there is no other film or TV recording of Horowitz in the Carnegie Hall, isn't there a documentary about him that Sony could
have added to this set? Yes, there is : "Vladimir Horowitz-The Last Romantic", which is part of the box set of dvds "Vladimir Horowitz-The Video Collection". This set was published last year by guess which company?
Sony.

When I write reviews I rate the product as a whole. I gave three stars to this set because I can't say "I love" this product or "I like it". "It's okay" seems more appropriate to me. I also would like to call the attention for this single fact: Horowitz, for what he was, deserves better than this box set.

Please don't get me wrong. The box set is more than worth ordering. But I do think that you don't order only excellent products. This is the only box set of its kind so, unfortunately, one has to live with its limitations.
The main thing, of course, is the music but an excellent quality of sound today, when you get cds from the likes of Sony, DG, Decca, HM and so on, is practically a given.

So, what makes the difference is what the recording label adds to the box set or individual cd: Design, documentation etc. Horowitz deserves something really especial and this box set is just not that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The genius at the keyboard, 19 July 2014
By 
P. D. Ball "pedro" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vladimir Horowitz Live At Carnegie Hall [Box Set] (Audio CD)
What more can I say that haven't already been said about this genius at the keyboard an essential purchase for anyone who loves piano music. One of the bargains of the year as far as I am concerned.
Peter Ball
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL WANT A KITCHEN SINK..., 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vladimir Horowitz Live At Carnegie Hall [Box Set] (Audio CD)
I bought this rather modest price box set on impulse as I have no Horowiz in my vast collection of all type of music.Music is music whether it heavy metal,rock,folks jazz,opera etc and alway I should boaden one mind and not stuck in any particular music and this snobish.Well study box set,300 pages book and the cd is easy from individual box from the top.The music is mind blowing and can even listen Scriabin piano music and still enjoy.I was playing the Tchaikovsky piano concerto no:1 and my wife said:The pianist play with feeling and emotion and make the piano sing and this come from a person who only like about 10 classical works.This made me listen and hearing the music.I really enjoyed all the cd despite the frying noise on earlier recording.The price is a bargain of the century.The amount of money spent to make this box available at such a give away price is beyond belief.Buy this box set and this will be an investment.Why other recording re-cycle the old recording and ask for..compare Britten complete works,Bach cantata by Gardiner and behold John Mrtyn island box set at over £150 for 18 cd.Thanks Sony and start moaning buy it when it is still available.Happy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Patrick W. "Patrick W." (Haywards Heath, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vladimir Horowitz Live At Carnegie Hall [Box Set] (Audio CD)
I am still going through the CDs and am now still in 1950 but can confirm that Horowitz is a great musician and that the quality of the recording, despite from being still in mono, is very good. Not all the music is to my liking, hence four but not five stars. I also gave a box to my brother for his fiftieth birthday and he enjoys it too. At this price (I paid £74.87), it provides hour after hour of great music performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vladimir Horowitz Live At Carnegie Hall [Box Set]
Vladimir Horowitz Live At Carnegie Hall [Box Set] by Vladimir Horowitz (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews