Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
Great book, gruesome and detailed, just how I like them, love this author and his style of writing, highly recommended read, not for faint hearted :-)
Published 18 months ago by Anne.b

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Before you go
Not for me could not get into this book even after several tries it was so unbelievable where the author got this idea I do not know
Published 13 months ago by elizabeth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Aug. 2013
By 
Anne.b (Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offspring (Kindle Edition)
Great book, gruesome and detailed, just how I like them, love this author and his style of writing, highly recommended read, not for faint hearted :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Ketchum read, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offspring (Mass Market Paperback)
Just when you think you have found a dark place, Ketchum has the ability to make it darker!
Another fast paced read that takes you on a journey to places you didn't know ever existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars disagree, 8 Feb. 2010
By 
Dr. Robert A. Josey "mystery lover" (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fan of Smokey's reviews and her lists of horror titles. In fact she has inspired me to go buy quite a few new novels - including Bryan Smith's 'House of Blood' and 'Queen of Blood'. Also the absolutely brilliant 'Pressure' by Jeff Strand. So a great big thanks for those...

I have read 'Off Season' - the 'original' version and Ketchum's preferred 'unexpurgated' edition, which is really a chance to restore the bleaker ending.

'Offspring' scared me more than the first book. I felt for the characters - David, Amy, Claire, Luke, and baby Melissa. I found it hard to turn the page wondering what was about to happen to them. (I haven't felt that level of terror in a book since reading Laymon's 'In The Dark'.)

Ketchum is a psychologically acute writer. And he gets the anthropological sense of 'The Family' just right. It didn't feel like a lame sequel at all, but a darker shift of the lens.

However, I won't be able to look at kitchen taps the same way after reading this.

In the midst of all the awfulness is a sense of Ketchum's wisdom amd humanity. It's not what one would expect from a 'renegade' horror writer, but you can find treasure in the strangest places. (His book 'Cover' is one of the best novels ever about the effects of Vietnam, next to Kent Anderson's 'Sympathy For The Devil'.)

I'm glad Ketchum is getting a bigger readership from the film tie-ins. He is one hell of a 21st century writer - examining the primal in human nature.

This book is very well crafted - from the horrific beginning to the devastating end. Definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offspring (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offspring (Paperback)
.EXCELLENT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT HORROR BOOK VERY VERY FREAKY, 8 Dec. 2007
By 
K. Smith "BOOK GEEK" (BRISTOL.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offspring (Mass Market Paperback)
IF YOU HAVE READ THE 1ST BOOK "OFF SEASON" THEN YOU WILL KNOW EXACTLY WHAT TO EXPECT AND THI SBOOK DOSENT FAIL,VERY VERY FREAKY AND SCARY.
THE STORY MOVES AT SUPER CHARGED SPEED AND IT WILL KEEP YOU GOING TILL THE LAST PAGE.DO NOT READ IF YOU ARE EASILY OFFENDED!"!!!!
BUT PLEASE READ THE 1ST "OFF SEASON" AND ANY OTHER JACK KETCHUM BOOK HE IS A MASTER OF GORE,SEX,FREAKY HORROR BOOKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Before you go, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offspring (Kindle Edition)
Not for me could not get into this book even after several tries it was so unbelievable where the author got this idea I do not know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Offspring
Offspring by Jack Ketchum
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews