Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great improvement.
I like Rough Guides, and have purchased many over the years, but this is the first of the coloured editions I have bought. It is a significant improvement - great clarity, maps are especially good. Content up to usual RG standards, and splitting the region into clearly defined zones is very helpful. Recommended.
Published 16 months ago by Neil Bailey

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the area
Being based in Bergerac and travelling around the local area, I was a little disappointed the information on areas of interest was rather scant and a bit patchy. I realize rough guides are just that but a little more on the area than where to stay and eat would have been better for me. I think on this occasion I chose the wrong guide.
Published 14 months ago by Ms. B. Brewster


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great improvement., 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Rough Guides, and have purchased many over the years, but this is the first of the coloured editions I have bought. It is a significant improvement - great clarity, maps are especially good. Content up to usual RG standards, and splitting the region into clearly defined zones is very helpful. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need in a guide book, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything you need in a guide book even if you know the region. A fresh design, Rough Guides have come a long way since my 1980's edition. Bought a new French map book to compliment it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the area, 22 July 2013
By 
Ms. B. Brewster "pisces" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Dordogne & the Lot (Rough Guide to...) (Kindle Edition)
Being based in Bergerac and travelling around the local area, I was a little disappointed the information on areas of interest was rather scant and a bit patchy. I realize rough guides are just that but a little more on the area than where to stay and eat would have been better for me. I think on this occasion I chose the wrong guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide book, 28 Aug 2013
By 
butterfly (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good guidebook with a lot of useful information and a really good insight of the region. Some restaurant recommendations were disappointing though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great guide book, 19 Aug 2013
By 
M. N. Coleman "Book magnet" (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was one of the most useful guides I have used. The information was up to date and honest! We used it a lot during our holiday and I would certainly consider buying 'Rough Guides' again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book and guide, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does what it says on the cover! Well written and easy to read. Makes planning a trip easy and creates excitement ahead of the visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great informative book, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. A. A. Summers "Tony Summers" (Muir-of-Ord Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it is a must have book for the region so much info' that a fortnight's holiday is not long enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good choice for us, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose it as it was so recently published, dealt only with the area we are visiting and I have used Rough Guides in the past. Looks full of useful information - probably too much on accommodation for us but look forward to trying some of the other recommendations and having never been to the area before am finding it a very interesting/useful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The latest guide book for this area, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We bought this book simply because it was the latest book available for this particular area of France.

Being fairly well travelled I have entrusted Lonely Planet to guide me around the world and was disappointed to find that the only guide they had for the Dordogne appeared in their much larger guide to France and that chapter amounted to not much more than a précis of the highlights.

We have used the Rough Guide to plan our trip in August for which on the face of it has been excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've spent a lot on a holiday make the most of it. These are the best guides I've found. Great fun to read whilst looking forward to your break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews