Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Distinctive styling, great sound
The first thing to get out of the way is the design of these speakers.

They are in fact modelled on a Doc Martin boot.

This may divide opinions; some will love it, while others may write off the Solemate for this reason alone. I shall try to be objective, in the full knowledge that the styling alone may be the deciding factor for many. If the styling...
Published on 22 Sep 2012 by J. Chandler

versus
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good speaker but outscored by the competition
This is a chunky, very heavy (620g) and well made Bluetooth speaker. Design features included a neat integrated 3.5mm jack lead stored in the base of the unit and three large control buttons - volume up; volume down; battery status/hands free - well placed on top of the speaker. The Bluetooth connected seamlessly with my iPod and laptop and the range is good around the...
Published on 17 Oct 2012 by OMG! It's got a plug!


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good speaker but outscored by the competition, 17 Oct 2012
By 
OMG! It's got a plug! (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a chunky, very heavy (620g) and well made Bluetooth speaker. Design features included a neat integrated 3.5mm jack lead stored in the base of the unit and three large control buttons - volume up; volume down; battery status/hands free - well placed on top of the speaker. The Bluetooth connected seamlessly with my iPod and laptop and the range is good around the house although limited outside (but this is a flaw of Bluetooth technology in general, not the speaker).

The sound is good and it will fill a room, but the bass relies too much on bass boost support and on bass heavy songs it just sounds a little too forced. The battery lasts for approximately 9 hours with the volume at 75% and it takes about 2 hours to fully charge it.

Ultimately though I have to compare this speaker with the Braven 650 Bluetooth Speaker (the price of it goes up and down but at the time of writing it costs the same as the Jabra) which outscores it in a number of areas. The Braven is more compact and nowhere near as heavy (370g) and in the two most important areas when considering a portable speaker - sound quality and battery life - the Braven beats this hands down. It delivers the same volume of sound but it handles bass much better - it sounds natural and unforced - and it has a battery that lasts 16-17 hours. Additionally, the volume buttons allow you to skip between tracks and you can also charge a mobile phone from it, features that the Solemate does NOT have.

Whilst this is a decent speaker, there is a better speaker in the same price range (at the time of writing) available and for that reason alone 3½ stars is an appropriate rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Distinctive styling, great sound, 22 Sep 2012
By 
J. Chandler (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The first thing to get out of the way is the design of these speakers.

They are in fact modelled on a Doc Martin boot.

This may divide opinions; some will love it, while others may write off the Solemate for this reason alone. I shall try to be objective, in the full knowledge that the styling alone may be the deciding factor for many. If the styling is not to your taste, I would suggest considering the Braven 650 (or one of its siblings) as I also have one of these, and have found it excellent, and which I shall use as a point of comparison. (Braven 650 Portable Wireless Speaker - Silver Aluminium)

The Solemate is marketed as being tough, dust and splashproof. It certainly feels well built with a black matt soft touch finish, steel grille, ridged rubber sole and carry loop. It is also quite heavy, and somewhat larger than the Braven (610g, 172mm x 64mm x 70mm VS 350g, 159mm x 64mm x 45mm).

Inside the case there are 3 speakers; two smaller and a larger central speaker. On one end there is a fabric grab strap, and on the other the 3.5mm audio, micro usb, off-on-Bluetooth multiswitch. On the top are three flush buttons for controlling the device. A clever design feature is the inclusion of a 3.5mm to 3.5mm connector in the style of a yellow boot lace which is stored in a groove in the sole.

The raison d'etre for speakers: Sound. Fortunately, the quality is excellent, with a very full sound. All frequencies sound well balanced, except that the bass seems somewhat emphasised. The sound was both louder and of better quality than the Braven 650, with no distortion evident, as there was for the Braven at full volume. However the sound is slightly directional, which was not a problem with the Braven. There was no difference in the sound when the speaker was inside the carry case.

The Solemate claims 120dB at 0.5m. I'm not sure how Jabra got this figure as it is the equivalent of standing next to a jet engine. As a commercial pilot I can assure you that this little speaker is not THAT loud! It is however loud enough to fill a room.

An unexpected and novel feature is that the device talks to you. When you turn it on it plays a (slightly dubious) jingle and you are instructed to turn on the Bluetooth on your phone. When it connects to your device, it tells you. It's a completely unnecessary, yet a really nice feature that illustrates the thought that has gone into the design.

In terms of additional tricks; you can connect it to your computer as a USB speaker, or with the 3.5mm cord. It will work as a handsfree speaker for phone, Skype, Gtalk or other VoIP, although only in Bluetooth and USB modes as the 3.5mm jack is output only. However, unlike the Braven, there is no full size USB to allow charging of other devices, which disappointing to see. The battery is also only rated at `up to' 8h, where the Braven is `up to' 20h.

In the box you will get instructions (very brief - it's very easy to setup and use), a 1 year warranty card, a micro USB charger, a USB to micro USB cable and a water/dustproof carry bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best potable speaker I've come across., 1 Jan 2013
I used this with an Iphone4s and it produces excellent sound quality from such a small unit. Bluetooh connection is easy and reliable. There is also a built in Head phone jack plug option as well.
It has a microphone so if it on the desk you can have a hands free conversation as well.
The device is quite heavy, 650 grams ish but that goes with the great build quality. The battery has a good life as yet i haven't run it down in 3+ hours. Haven't determined if the battery can be changed out for a new one. I had a tivoli radio but the batteries keep dying, dispite changing them, so it now runs off mains power which is not good for use outside.
I steam internet radio, play podcasts and music in the garage / shed / greenhouse (at neighbourly volume) because the repoduction is clear as a bell. Hopefully this solution will endure.
The only irritationg thing is the greeting voice that tells you "solemate is connected" when it finds your device.
It is pricey but I'd say the sound quality makes it worth it.
Dispite Amazon's usual value, I've seen this for £99 in a high street shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Oct 2013
Fantastic build and sound quality. Excellent depth. Jawbone and Philips are loud too, but lack the depth of the jabra. Excellent value for money too. Very rugged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic music box., 5 Oct 2012
By 
A. J. Parkes "sekrapa" (Dudley, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have been using the Logitech Wireless Boombox for a while and it is a great sounding unit, so thought this would have a job living up to expectations.

However, I am pleasantly surprised. It looks light but has a good weight and feels rugged and well constructed. The base looks like the tread of a boot, but this is an improvement over the previous Jabra offerings as it helps it keep still instead of vibrating off the table.

The unit easily paired with my phone, and tells you when it is paired in a nice tone. When switched on you hear a nice vibrating tone to let you know its on. When its connected via Bluetooth you hear "Soulmate is connected". You have a separate volume control on top of the unit so you can alter the sound from either the unit or your device (when using the buttons on the unit, the iPhone volume slider moves to coincide with a higher/lower volume. The overall volume is loud but probably not as loud as claimed.

At the base is a lead to connect to an headphone out socket on any device. This looks like a yellow lace and therefore continues the shoe styling. There is also a sound bag to keep it in when you are out and about. You get a USB lead for charging and a main USB lead in case you do not have a computer to charge it from, but the plug is a 2 pin shaver type, so you will need an adapter to use it.

The big test is sound. Sound overall feels OK, it has a good bass for the size of the unit and high notes are ok, but not brilliant. When compared to the Logitech mentioned above which offers a better bass and higher clearer notes, it feels flat. However, they are for two entirely different markets. This is not for keeping in one place, it is a small portable speaker system that can be taken anywhere because of the compact size.

If you want a compact portable speaker then this would be ideal. If you just intend to keep it in teh house, then look at the Logitech Wireless Boombox which I think gives a crisper sound at a lower price.

Which one do I prefer? I keep one inside, and take this with me when going on picnics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little solemate !, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabra SoleMate Portable Bluetooth Speaker - White (Electronics)
This is a highly recommended boombox !
Nice design and great sound !
Recommended to ALL musiclovers all over the World !!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of kit for the price, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabra SoleMate Portable Bluetooth Speaker - White (Electronics)
Love this speaker, great sound quality. Easy to set up and use straight from the box. On a full charge i get at least 5 hours play time on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sound, easy to use, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent sound from such a small device. Easy to use Bluetooth link. Also works well as a speaker for telephone calls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent device, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabra SoleMate Portable Bluetooth Speaker - White (Electronics)
Chunky, robust and neat design. Very easy to set-up.Sound quality is excellent even at high volume. Big bass response from such a small unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Durable loud Bluetooth speaker, 24 Jun 2013
Own a Logitech boom box which is brilliant value, good sound and tiny. Jawbone Jambox which gives better depth of sound than the boom box, but is quieter and 50£ more expensive. The sole mate is the loudest and good for a medium sound room. Sound quality fine too, bigger tgan boombox and jambox. 99£ Amazon , 89 @ Currys. Boom box is best value though @ 59£. Love all these blutooth speakers and it really depends on how loud you want it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews