Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun Berlin comedy
Men To Kiss is a fun-filled film. A Sydney paper is quoted as saying "Hysterical!" in bold italics on the box, which may be overstating it, but there are quite a lot of laughs even so. The story focuses on a gay couple in Berlin, and the attempt of a female friend of one of them to get him for herself. It is sillier than most films, and is happy to be quite implausible as...
Published 4 months ago by schumann_bg

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars like The Three Stooges as German gays in love
I've been really eager to see Men to Kiss, hoping it might finally be a German comedy I could enjoy. Nope. I'm starting to think - after at least two dozen tries - that I just never will get German humor.

To me it always seems heavy-handed, loud, grossly exaggerated, totally lacking in subtlety, intelligence, gentleness, depth and warmth. It's like The Three...
Published 7 months ago by J. Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars like The Three Stooges as German gays in love, 13 April 2014
By 
J. Martin (New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Men to Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
I've been really eager to see Men to Kiss, hoping it might finally be a German comedy I could enjoy. Nope. I'm starting to think - after at least two dozen tries - that I just never will get German humor.

To me it always seems heavy-handed, loud, grossly exaggerated, totally lacking in subtlety, intelligence, gentleness, depth and warmth. It's like The Three Stooges.

So if you love The Three Stooges and can't imagine anything funnier than The Three Stooges as German gays in love, then this is the movie for you; it's not for me.

Unfortunately, it's awful in every other way too. Every character is like a cartoon character, a shallow overblown caricature of a human being, with nothing inside its hard and garish shell. The direction is cartoonish too, with an extreme close-up of someone's mugging face in nearly every shot.

There is NO credibility or chemistry in the relationship between Ernst and Tobias, which is the core of the movie. They're not even credible human beings. If I can't believe that those two love each other, or even that they're real, how can I care what happens to them? I don't.

Early in the movie I started thinking the actors and even their characters seemed very familiar, and I finally realized that many of them (actors AND their characters, and even some of the sets) were in an earlier movie called Alex and Leo, which I also hated for exactly the same reasons.

Someone named Andre Schneider wrote (and produced, and acted in) both movies, so I'm going to add his name to my surprisingly short list of people whose work I will avoid like the plague from now on.

But if you saw and loved Alex and Leo, you doubtless will love this, its apparent sequel, too. Or, as I said, if the idea of the Three Stooges as gay Germans in love sends you rolling in the floor, you must not let this gem pass you by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun Berlin comedy, 30 Jun 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Men to Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
Men To Kiss is a fun-filled film. A Sydney paper is quoted as saying "Hysterical!" in bold italics on the box, which may be overstating it, but there are quite a lot of laughs even so. The story focuses on a gay couple in Berlin, and the attempt of a female friend of one of them to get him for herself. It is sillier than most films, and is happy to be quite implausible as long as fun is had along the way. Going into the plot is likely to put people off, but when you see it the effect is quite appealing. The central couple (Udo Lutz and Frank Christian Marx) are charming, while all the supporting roles - except the very tongue-in-cheek villainess - give a good reflection of contemporary urban types, much more than usual, in fact. Tobi is camp, while Ernst is a very goodlooking bank clerk - really a dreamboat! It seems they fell in love at first sight, and that has to be threatened, but it all turns out well in the end. Some people may find the whole thing too ridiculous, but if you can go with it it has a pleasing confusion and warmth, and above all a rude energy. Swarthy Ernst with a flower behind his ear looks quite fabulous, high on drugs, and it has its sexy moments, as well as bit parts for actors with names like Nina Queer and Barbie Breakout. It's as if Berlin is getting back its atmosphere of unadulterated fun from the 1920s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn't find this funny at all, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Men to Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe the problem is with my own sense of humour but I thought this was just pretty stupid. Every character, every scene and every line of dialogue was so OTT and hammy that it just became a nonsense to watch.
The cover picture bares no relation to the storyline - it is not about 3 men in love and/or competition with each other. The "competition" to the relationship of Ernst and Tobias is from a woman and frankly the relationship between Ernst & Tobias was so unbelievable and lacking in passion/chemistry that I'd have been quite happy if the woman (played like some silly mish-mash of vamp and looney serial killer) had succeeded!
It gets a second star simply because the actor playing Ernst was quite pleasant to look at! (and yes a film this insulting to my intelligence deserves such a shallow consideration in it's rating). Thank goodness I got it for a knock-down price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Highly enjoyable", 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Men to Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
This comedy is so much better than most so called "comedies" produced in the USA. It has a very good and believable story and very good leading actors/actresses and also a sharp and witty dialogue that is a delight to listen to. A film to watch and enjoy many times and definitely very good value for money. I will give it 4+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's German, Its Gay and yes it is a Comedy., 26 July 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Men to Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
Released as "Männer zum Knutschen", this is a gay comedy from Germany. It tells the story of Ernst played by the rather good Frank Christian Marx. He has met the man of his dreams in Tobi (Udo Lutz), they are living a happy if turbulent life but all of the new friends that Ernst has made are all friends of Tobi's and then Ernst hears from his bestest childhood friend Uta who is coming to visit and he is thrilled.

She is glamorous, self confident, speaks a lot of English and is a total biatch. She just wants to split the happy couple up and get Tobi out of the way, one way or the other. What develops are some truly funny if farcical situations where everyone can see what is going on except the poor Ernst.

This is not a rip roarin' comedy, but it made me laugh on a number of occasions and the out takes in the end credits are really good. The acting is all good especially so from a young and mostly inexperienced cast, who I hope we see more of especially Frank Christian Marx and the gloriously evil Alexandra Starnitzky who played Uta.

It is only 83 minutes long but still long enough to be satisfying - no pun intended. In German with a smattering of English and some very good sub titles. Director Robert Hasfogel has made an accomplished and entertaining film and this is his first credited on IMDb so I think we should be hearing more from him too. This is yet another German film that proves they do have a sense of humour and if you need more evidence check out `Fashion Victims' or the wonderful `Summer Storm'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Men to kiss, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Men to Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
A reasonable film with some amusing moments. It just goes to show that having a best girl friend is not always wise they are trouble personified
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pantomime (in a good sense) on film, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Men to Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a laugh out loud comedy but nevertheless enjoyable. It essentially uses the pantomime formula with a wicked witch trying to break up our lovers. And though our two lovers are so different in character we just know they are right for each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effervescent entertainment, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Men to Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
Quite simply one of the best gay comedies I have ever ever seen ever. Plus there's a stupendously hot sex scene. Not explicit but hot. And the performances? Out of this world! Excellent. A delight. Truly fun. Must see film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarity of the highest order, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Men to Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
To watch the preview you'd think there is more English in the film that there is but the German subtitles are on the mark with the translation and the film itself is hilarious. With a lot of eye candy to make it even more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant walk through comedy from Germany!, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Men to Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
I waited with vast anticipation for this movie to come out on DVD ever since I saw and watched the trailers etc as I am a huge fan of foreign film... I was NOT disappointed in the slightest. This film is a maze of fun with some touching moments, it is a colourful journey through the lives of Earnest and Tobi which undulate and romp with a very fresh funny direction.

If you want an alternative jolly which seeps comedy and is an easy on the eye viewing then this is the film for you. I truly recommend it! Fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Men to Kiss [DVD]
Men to Kiss [DVD] by Robert Hasfogel (DVD - 2013)
£5.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews