Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and iconoclastic
What is extraordinary about this book is that the argument it airs is almost never heard in the mainstream media. I had always thought it strange that a nation like Iran that produces so much oil should want to develop nuclear energy. Ergo, Iran must want to develop a nuclear weapon. What I hadn’t realized, until reading this book, is that Iran first embarked on...
Published on 6 May 2013 by James from Bath

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair arguments about nuclear Iran but presented in a somewhat biased way
The book fills an important gap - namely a coverage of the Iranian nuclear program without the scaremongering component so prevalent in the conventional media coverage of the subject. So far so great - if the authors would choose a somewhat less combative / victimized stance and kept to the subject, rather than to overinterpretation.

The basic premise of the...
Published 15 months ago by AK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and iconoclastic, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What is extraordinary about this book is that the argument it airs is almost never heard in the mainstream media. I had always thought it strange that a nation like Iran that produces so much oil should want to develop nuclear energy. Ergo, Iran must want to develop a nuclear weapon. What I hadn’t realized, until reading this book, is that Iran first embarked on developing nuclear energy before the Iranian revolution, and with the support of the US.

There are many other such revelations in this book that change one’s perception of what the Iranians are about. There is a fantastic quote from John F Kennedy at the beginning:

‘For the great enemy of the truth is very often not the lie – deliberate, contrived and dishonest – but the myth – persistent, persuasive and unrealistic. Too often we hold fast to the clichés of our forebears. We subject all facts to a prefabricated set of interpretations. We enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought.’

This short book – you can read it in an hour – challenges the current clichés of Iran. It is thought-provoking and iconoclastic. There is plenty of detail about the NPT and IAEA, and I might have liked more about Iranian society in general (like the fact that female university students outnumber men). But it is a compelling read and a pleasure to have one’s assumptions so completely challenged. Buy it, read it, lend it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ring of uncomfortable truth, 19 Jun. 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It surprised me that this hard-hitting attack on US and UK policy towards Iran is the work not of a John Pilger-type polemicist, but of two journalists, one of whom has worked for the Daily Telegraph.

This short book makes uncomfortable reading as it hammers out arguments backed by apparently valid sources: the US overthrew a democratically elected President Mossadeq in the `50s, replacing him with the puppet Shah who was allowed to acquire nuclear reactors with a view to generating electricity. When he was in turn ousted for a regime "that wasn't to the west's taste", although Iran had signed the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), offered to "abide by the rules" in producing enriched uranium for civilian purposes and even assisted the US after 9/11, the US has persisted in misrepresenting Iran as an aggressive power hell-bent on acquiring a nuclear bomb, using this as justification for harsh sanctions which have caused ordinary Iranians considerable hardship. Meanwhile, the US has practised double standards in permitting its allies Israel and India to obtain nuclear weapons after refusing to sign the NPT.

I appreciate the viewpoint of the reviewer who felt that this book does not address sufficiently the reasons why the US may justifiably fear the nuclear arming of a powerful Islamic state, but one could argue that, in trying to redress the balance of misinformation fed through the western media, and to reduce the ignorance of the general public, the authors must focus on the "dangerous delusion" of the title, since if "the west is wrong about nuclear Iran" the price is the counterproductive provocation of the very hostility and negative action that is feared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can we believe what we read in the press and hear from the media?, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dangerous Delusion: Why the West Is Wrong About Nuclear Iran (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Having never been to Iran my knowledge of that country was limited to popular images in the various news media, and these images are seldom positive.
However, like most people I understand that Iran (that was Persia) is an ancient civilization.
In his book, Peter Osborne challenges the truth as presented about Iran and asserts Iran's legal right to develop it's own nuclear industry and to enrich uranium to a non military level. Iran is a signatory to the Non Proliferation Treaty (NPT) and as such, has certain rights.
The book encourages the thought that the world, through a western media propaganda campaign, is being prepared to accept the idea that an invasion of Iran is required. The clear target of all of this is Iranian oil, currently not being sold due to sanctions. These same sanctions are hurting millions of ordinary Iranians who are being denied food and in many cases, medical supplies.
The reader cannot help but become angry at the hypocrisy of a power that, whilst undermining Iran also maintains a prison where prisoners are held without trial or even without being charged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye-opener, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dangerous Delusion: Why the West Is Wrong About Nuclear Iran (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Like most people, I try to keep up with the national and international news across a fairly broad spectrum. I really don't have time to research every piece of news that catches my interest. For that, and here I am not alone, I depend on the normal media reports from TV, newspapers, etc. In the case of Iran, this has been a big mistake, and I am grateful to this book for alerting me to the fact.

As an atheist, I have little truck with theocracies anywhere in the world, so I must admit that I was predisposed to believe the worst of Iran. And there is much in their judicial, political and social systems that I will continue to condemn. The media reportage from any source I read, and the comments of our own parliamentary representatives, simply reinforced this prejudice on my part. To be frank, I considered my views on the subject of Iran to be "intelligent informed opinion".

I believe it was Lenin who asserted that a lie repeated many times would eventually become the accepted truth. In relation to the world view of Iran, that is certainly the case. Even the British Press and TV have now elevated earlier surmise and conjecture to the status of current fact. Which they then go on to use as the basis of their interpretation of events in Iran. In turn, this has led people like me to acquiesce unquestioningly in the sanctions (illegal) being imposed on the ordinary citizens of Iran. This book makes it very clear that Iran does not have, and is unlikely ever to have, aggressive nuclear capability. The source of this information? The American Intelligence community. But because it is an uncomfortable truth, it has been brushed aside and ignored (You can check the claim online).

This, and many other claims, together with a significant number of instances where genuine information favourable to Iran has been conveniently supressed, is/are laid open in this well-researched book. Whether you ultimately believe what is claimed in this book, or reject it, the book itself is certainly an eye-opener and provides links to the sources it has used so that you can test its veracity for yourself.

Well worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Media manipulation, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dangerous Delusion: Why the West Is Wrong About Nuclear Iran (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
There was a time when I accepted that the ';news' was genuine and friends told me I was too ingenuous to recognise a con, it was a backhand compliment in a way. This book is aimed with great accuracy at my sort of people, trusting and open minded because we have to recognise we live in a different society from the one we were raised in, times have changed.
It is a slightly cool but intellectually passionate,appraisal of news manipulation aimed at destroying the reputability of Iran, a country that in 300 hundred years has never taken up arms against another country.
This book has, at last, opened my eyes to the disreputable side of the news media
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, factual book rebutting US and EU warmongering against Iran, 7 Aug. 2013
By 
William Podmore (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Writers Peter Oborne and David Morrison have produced a very useful study of the US/EU warmongering against Iran.

In spring 2005, Blair shut down an Iranian offer of a deal that offered both sides real benefits and was in line with international law. As the authors note, "the United States (and its client states in Europe, including Britain) has stood in the way of a settlement by refusing to accept Iran's right to uranium enrichment under the NPT [Non-Proliferation treaty]." Its Article IV(1) says, "Nothing in this Treaty shall be interpreted as affecting the inalienable right of all the Parties to the Treaty to develop research, production and use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes without discrimination and in conformity with Articles I and II of this Treaty." Yet neither the USA nor the EU has ever acknowledged that Iran has the same right to uranium enrichment.

Iran is not in breach of any of its obligations under the NPT. It is enriching uranium up to 5 per cent U-235, which is appropriate for fuelling nuclear power stations generating electricity and up to 20 per cent U-235, which is needed for fuelling the Tehran Research Reactor. 90 per cent U-235 is needed for nuclear weapons.

Argentina, Brazil, Germany, Japan and the Netherlands all have similar uranium enrichment facilities, yet the USA and the EU have never accused any of them of breaking the NPT.

As the authors observe, "the United States knows with reasonable certainty that Iran has no nuclear weapons programme, let alone a nuclear bomb." US intelligence agencies regularly inform Congress that they believe that Iran has no programme to develop nuclear weapons. No Western intelligence agency has come remotely close to producing hard evidence that Iran is trying to build nuclear weapons.

The International Atomic Energy Authority has often said that there is no evidence that Iran is trying to build nuclear weapons. Despite intense scrutiny, the IAEA has never found Iran trying to divert nuclear material to military use. Iran's Supreme Leader, Ayatollah Ali Khameini, said on 30 August 2012, our motto is, "Nuclear energy for all and nuclear weapons for none."

Yet the USA claims that Iran's uranium enrichment is `a threat to international peace and security'. So it imposes fierce sanctions on Iran, sanctions not endorsed by the UN. As a result, as Julian Borger and Saeed Kamali Dehghan recently wrote in the Guardian, "Hundreds of thousands of Iranians with serious illnesses have been put at imminent risk by the unintended (?) consequences of international sanctions, which have led to dire shortages of life-saving medicines such as chemotherapy drugs for cancer and bloodclotting agents for haemophiliacs."

Lapdog Cameron said 15 October 2012, "A nuclear-armed Iran is a threat to Israel. And a threat to the world." Iran spends $10-15 billion on arms a year, the USA $700 billion. Iran has no nuclear warheads, the USA 8,000. Iran has forces in two countries; the USA has special forces deployed in 75 countries (June 2010 figure).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. Presents solid arguments and evidence to make its case. And it is rather concise. (so can easily be read in a couple of days while commuting)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands as a beacon of truth amongst a myriad of myths, 1 Aug. 2013
This is a fantastic little book that meticulously and apologetically rips apart the various myths and delusions that we hear about Iran and it's nuclear ambitions.

You will find that Oborne and Morrison document in depth the west's hypocrisy towards Iran on the nuclear issue.

At the heart of the argument is the fact that the nuclear non proliferation treaty is unfair because it places different obligations on different states, and that aside, Iran is not even being allowed to pursue it's right to nuclear energy that it is given under the treaty.

Moreover, it is shown that it is (a) not alleged and that (b) there is no credible evidence that Iran has an active nuclear weapons programme. Further, it is rightly pointed out that Iran's development of nuclear power goes back many decades, and was originally supported by the US.

If you are still foolish enough to believe what you hear about Iran in the mainstream media I implore you to read this book, and once you have done so, pass it on to somebody else so that the myths about Iran can be ratted out once and for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exposed the level of indoctrination I have been subjected to., 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Iran is a country which has been pushed and pushed into submission by the West- irrespective of the logical and reasonable compromises proposed by the nation. Iran is not the bad guy. This book is beautifully written in a nice pocket size which made it easy to transport and read on my daily commute. The history given regarding Iran's nuclear position really makes you realise how brainwashed we all are... Buy this book. A word of warning: once you've finished reading this book, you'll feel ashamed of your previously ignorant and indoctrinated mind regarding Iran. I sure did, anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attitudes to Iran, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dangerous Delusion: Why the West Is Wrong About Nuclear Iran (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This short book is a useful corrective to the automatic assumption in the media and by many politicians that Iran is developing nuclear weapons. Whilst I do not approve of theocratic states and Iran is certainly such a state at present, the belligerent attitude to Iran displayed by the USA and its allies does nothing to resolve the dangerous situation in the Middle East.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews