Customer Reviews


448 Reviews
5 star:
 (267)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


212 of 218 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic, but good value for money Sat Nav
There are some newer Garmin's out in the entry range, but the price on the Nuvi 50 is hard to beat right now.
It's not the most feature packed GPS you will ever buy, but it gets the job done for modest outlay. I bought this for a friend who just wanted an affordable GPS and didn't need the advanced bits the higher priced models have.

While the usual Garmin...
Published 4 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SO HARD
On first glance sat nav was just what I required.Hooked up to computer fine and quick,But would not update ERROR showing ,So rang Garmin helpline 25 mins on the phone ,Was told they would send me an e-mail,So waited for two days NO E-Mail.Rang Garmin again another 25 mins on the phone again was told we will send you an e-mail .waited a further day no e-mail.
Fed up...
Published 3 months ago by Dave Parker


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

212 of 218 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic, but good value for money Sat Nav, 5 May 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 50 5" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps (Electronics)
There are some newer Garmin's out in the entry range, but the price on the Nuvi 50 is hard to beat right now.
It's not the most feature packed GPS you will ever buy, but it gets the job done for modest outlay. I bought this for a friend who just wanted an affordable GPS and didn't need the advanced bits the higher priced models have.

While the usual Garmin interface is the same across the range, there are some differences in the models. As with all Garmin Sat Nav's you get the window mount and car charger included, you don't get a home charger (Garmin do a travel kit that includes this) but you can charge the device with a wall charger that has a "mini" USB port (not micro) there are plug chargers (or even power banks) available that can do USB charging, all you need is a mini USB lead. I rarely home charge the device
Quick summary of the good and bad points.

Pros:
+ Decent 5" touchscreen, fairly clear and bright.
+ Bang per buck is good on the Nuvi 50 it's a pretty good deal
+ Simple and easy to use
+ It does have speed camera alerts
+ Has a micro SD slot so can be upgraded with larger map areas
+ Street name and postal code search, as well as GPS coordinates
+ Points of interest database (shops, hotels, fuel stations, local attractions etc)
+ Has the lane assist dual screen display (handy for motorway driving)

Cons:
- No traffic trends, this isn't a massive downer but some Garmins use historical data for traffic (time of day etc) , and will avoid heavy congestion roads. This model doesn't have that option
- There is no "eco route" option either this allowed you to pick the most fuel efficient route
- Not compatible with the FM traffic updates, even if you have the cable for it, the Nuvi 50 doesn't support it
- No bluetooth (useful for hands free phone calls)
- No journey trip planner (this can be useful for longer extended multi waypoint trips)

You get most of the core basic features you might need, minus the above limitations. No world clock or currency converter, but few would need these extras. But you can save a home location and mark locations in the favourites section.

Navigation works well most of the time, do take a look at the Garmin express software, this can update the firmware of the GPS and Garmin have been improving it over time.

Only real reservation on this unit is you don't get the lifetime maps updates (on the UK and ROI version), if you are a frequent traveller that could be an issue. It's possible to buy that from Garmin as an add on but usually works out cheaper to buy it on the GPS model at the time of purchase. Go for the Western Europe lifetime maps version if you feel you might want updated maps.

The 5" display is larger than some of the super budget Sat Navs, performance is good overall though none I've used are perfect (either tom tom or garmin!)

If you want a decent low cost Sat Nav and don't need any fancy extras this is one of the better ones out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great garmin, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 50 5" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps (Electronics)
large enough to see,.clear voice and quiet between directions..also warning sound when my speed exceeds limit! A real confidence booster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean, clear and precise, 22 Oct 2013
By 
S. R. Hudson (Nottingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 50 5" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps (Electronics)
Cheaper than a TomTom, so easy to use, map large and clear and precise instructions given. Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sat Nav, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 50 5" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps (Electronics)
I moved to a new area and I wouldn't be without it. Would recommend to anyone and simple to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice one, despite some initial niggles, 16 July 2014
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 50 5" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps (Electronics)
Reviews for this product generally rate it very highly for it's price range but most comment that Instructions packaged with the product are negligible to say the least; They're not wrong.
THE LACK of CLEAR initial INSTRUCTIONS IS ASTONISHING, leaving us to fumble through the possibilities and hope for the best.
The good news is.....they are available on-line...(but could still be a bit more user friendly for a novice like me).
The bad news is......the USB cable required to connect the unit to your pc is not supplied (Confusing! because it is necessary to download essential updates).
Unless you have also acquired a compatible mains charger you will need to sit in your vehicle to have your first play with it.
(But then, it can't find the satellites from indoors anyway).
This is my first purchase of a SatNav so I've nothing to compare it with, here goes anyway....
Graphics are absolutely 5 star,
After a 450 mile journey with multiple destinations I am generally happy with it.
Rural'ish locations are not it's favourite. Rather annoyingly, at several roundabouts the voice stated "exit onto xyz road (or lane etc)" but there is not a street name to be seen but there was always a directional sign pointing the way to one or more destinations. "Heading in direction of 'one of the destinations on the sign'" would be reassuringly helpful.
It also struggled to re-compute when I made some wrong turns in a rural village (shortage of street name signs again).
The only other niggle I have is when the speed limit / safety camera information is out of sync. Three times this happened, and one of these lasted for well over 5 miles;- The Speed limit was 60mph, the Garmin stated it was 70mph, The Garmin Camera Warning displayed a speed limit of 50mph and repeatedly warned me audibly that I was exceeding it's erroneous interpretation of the speed limit. Quite annoying when you're doing 55 in a 60 zone.
All-in-all I quite like it, especially as I don't have to keep trying to remember which motorway exit I'm looking for which left me with a nice relaxed drive. And those graphics really are the biz.
Oh well, guess it's time to read that instruction manual now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 50 5" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps (Electronics)
Nicely packed, comes with in car charger and holder, bid scree, accurate touch screen, simple not hard to use at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Garmin satnav, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 50 5" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps (Electronics)
Very satisfied with the purchase. Would recommend. Good vision and clear instructions. Voice clear but pronunciation not as good as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple to set up, easy to use, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 50 5" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps (Electronics)
Really thrilled with this sat nav. I was worried that set up might be difficult as I'm not the most technical of people and have no one to help, but you plug it into the cigarette lighter, turn on the engine and follow the instructions. The pad that sticks it to the window screen is also easy to use. I tried it on a journey I knew, which wasn't the prescribed route, and the sat nav just adjusted instructions once it caught up. Also gives warnings about speeding camera sites. This is my first sat nav and I wonder what took me so long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 50 5" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps (Electronics)
This is my 2nd Garmin, first one was purchased many years back when " sat nav " first came on the market, current model very very good ! First model is still working now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sat nav, 7 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 50 5" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps (Electronics)
Bought two of these at a great price for my kids xmas gifts and had to snigger at seeing the same thing on post - christmas sales at more than I paid .
Does what it says on the box , all speed cameras etc marked , speed limits for roads indicated and many voice /picture options . Prefer it to my tom tom !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Garmin nuvi 50 5" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps
Used & New from: £138.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews