Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep THIS side of the pond
This is the second Max Tudor story I have read and I enjoyed it very much. It is a quintessentially English setting with English characters. Regrettably Americanisms creep in too often. 'Gotten?' And what the hell is a breakfast cake? I look forward to a Summer story, but in English please.
Published 16 months ago by MaryContrary

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable.
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed the first in the series, Wicked Autumn I was so looking forward to this. I have to agree with the other reviewers here, it was a little disappointing. It centres around Chedrow Castle with little input from the village of Nether Monkslip and therein I think, lies the problem. Father Max is as ever a character to enjoy but without the...
Published 14 months ago by Wendy McFarlane


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable., 23 Jan. 2014
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed the first in the series, Wicked Autumn I was so looking forward to this. I have to agree with the other reviewers here, it was a little disappointing. It centres around Chedrow Castle with little input from the village of Nether Monkslip and therein I think, lies the problem. Father Max is as ever a character to enjoy but without the involvement of his cohorts in the village this fell a little flat for me. It was very slow, only revolving around the cast of suspects residing at the castle in the wake of the murder but that shouldn't have been a problem; I can remember devouring Agatha Christie's Crooked House which has the same premise but there the confined characters came to life under the pen of the skilled author. This invites a little page skiming but if you can reach half way it does pick up giving a quite satisfying murder mystery. I hate writing reviews such as this as to be able to compose a story at all must be wonderful. However, I do think this author should take issue with her editors in that to "sell" a quintisencially English village story the first thing you must do is speak(or write) in the appropriate language. The word gotton appears with regularity alongside other americanisims so takes away the joy of the tale; in other words, it just doesn't fit. I have however just finished the third in the series, Pagan Spring and found that set among the village once more the story came to life. It is with these novels the backdrop of the village and it's quirky residents which gives this series it's edge so I would say don't give up on G. M. Mallet, I am sure there are many more wonderful times to be had down in the murderous village of Nether Monkslip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep THIS side of the pond, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Winter (Max Tudor) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second Max Tudor story I have read and I enjoyed it very much. It is a quintessentially English setting with English characters. Regrettably Americanisms creep in too often. 'Gotten?' And what the hell is a breakfast cake? I look forward to a Summer story, but in English please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deeply disappointed, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Winter (Max Tudor) (Kindle Edition)
The first book in the series I enjoyed (a three star) and I bought this to read on holiday. There were so many errors in it that it just annoyed me. I don't mind light and frothy books that provide an escape but that should not be an excuse for errors and statements that show a lack of research or knowledge. So i stopped reading this half way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Passable – but too long and slow, 5 Jan. 2015
This is a classic country house murder (grumpy old man with a dysfunctional squabbling family) but set in modern times – the author seems obsessed with mentioning Kate Middleton to show how current it is!

The hero is a vicar in a country village and after the murder he is placed by the police in the family home even though only one of them has any hint of religion. Rather than wondering what this stranger was doing with them and why he wasn’t sleeping in his own nearby home the family all open up to him and he solves the mystery. One wonders what the police were doing. This set-up belongs more to a classic 1930’s style whodunnit rather than a modern setting. The resolution of the murder was a bit convoluted and highly unlikely and unbelievable.

The book is also too long. The first part opens at a pace with introductions to all the family members and then a quick murder. After that however it goes to sleep and takes forever to get going – no opportunity for pointless waffling is ignored. Some of the descriptions and events of village life were shoved in and seemed out of place – almost as if were a screenplay for a midsummer murders type village.

This is the second in a series. It was passable but based on this I won’t be reading more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good character in Max Tudor, story needs some abridging, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatal Winter (Max Tudor) (Kindle Edition)
Max Tudor has the potential to be a good and long running series. Fatal Winter was a reasonable, if slow, read. The story needed abridging and tightening up. The village of Nether Monkslip is almost as much of a character as Father Max. This adds to the interest, and the characters and relationships will, I hope continue to develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but Terribly Dated in Supposed English Social Attitudes., 20 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Fatal Winter (Max Tudor) (Kindle Edition)
Max Tudor handsome MI5 agent turned Anglican priest - and part time detective when required - is confronted with a murder at his local castle.In a plot seething with the most terrible 'posh' characters one can imagine will Max track the murderer down?
The book is fun to read and is part of a series of thrillers starring Max.
The aristocratic family are depicted in the most dated way imaginable. The last person to complain about a family
member marrying a 'commoner' must have been in the 1940's and to be sniffy about another member of the family being 'in trade' dates back to the turn of the last century.And this from a character carrying a mobile phone.
I see that the authoress lives in the USA so perhaps her attitudes come from living out of the UK but she should improve her research as this comes over as more old fashioned than any Agatha Christie or Dorothy L Sayers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the good sequel I hoped for., 2 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed the first book in this series- 'Wicked Autumn.' However, I couldn't get through this one at all. It consists of long 'setting up' passages about each character. Then long interviews with each character, then more talking....
The book is set almost completely in the Manor House, with a lot of the interesting village characters missing,
I read the first bit, then skipped to the end to keep up with the personal life of the sexy vicar.
I will give the next one a go, as it is set back in the village again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good murder mystery, I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fatal Winter (Max Tudor)
£5.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews