Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even those few tales without a strong ending are a delight to read
I picked this up for a couple of quid not expecting a great deal from it. Like many anthologies you hope for at most half a dozen great tales buried in twice much dross. For time travel as a subject I was expecting fewer gems. For such a well-worn path I was not convinced that there was that much more to surprise or delight in that sub set of SF. However I was pleased to...
Published 14 months ago by P. J. Dunn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
Like in any collection of short stories there are some better than others & other readers might enjoy the ones you weren't so keen on but for the money it is a collection that if you only like half of them you'll think it was good value.
Published 9 months ago by Michael Foster


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even those few tales without a strong ending are a delight to read, 6 Oct 2013
By 
P. J. Dunn "Peter Dunn" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I picked this up for a couple of quid not expecting a great deal from it. Like many anthologies you hope for at most half a dozen great tales buried in twice much dross. For time travel as a subject I was expecting fewer gems. For such a well-worn path I was not convinced that there was that much more to surprise or delight in that sub set of SF. However I was pleased to be proven very, very wrong. Out of 25 tales at least 23 shone and I had only read two of those before. Even those few that don't have a strong ending were a delight to read (in which category I would particularly place "Palely Loiterering" by Christopher Priest).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top Talent and a great way to try additiional authors, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Time Travel SF (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
Short stories are a wonderful addition to any reader's collection. Firstly because you get to pay out for authors that you already know and love, and secondly because, for that price you'll get to try some authors that you've either not had the money for or worried about risking your hard earned cash on.

They're a great addition to the a readers bookshelf and this one brings great talent such as Christopher Priest, Fritz Leiber, Robert Silverberg and a great many others/ All round a great read and one that I had a lot of fun with all in. Definitely worth the time as well as the money and a good way to lose a lunch break or to while away that journey time with your own selection of time travel tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Chris "chrisgb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Time Travel SF (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
I always quite enjoy short-story collections; if you're struggling with one story, you can skip ahead to another. So far, this has been easily digestible and entertaining. It also weighs in a bit over 500 pages, so there's good value for money here as well. Worth a punt if you enjoy the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Time Travel SF (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
If you like time travel stories you will love this, plenty of variations on the theme, could have maybe done with some more stories with the paradoxes in so it started you thinking more, but overall a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Time Travel SF (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
Like in any collection of short stories there are some better than others & other readers might enjoy the ones you weren't so keen on but for the money it is a collection that if you only like half of them you'll think it was good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. J. C. Nice "bookaholic" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Time Travel SF (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed most of the stories in this book, however like most compilations, there were one or two stories that were not very good, but for all that, a handy book to have on the Kindle to dip in and out of as required and not necessarily to read in one go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars time travel, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Time Travel SF (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
Great book with modern stories, some are really thought provoking! One of the best collections out there! Highly recommendable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Curate's egg, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Time Travel SF (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
Like most of these compilations the stories are of variable quality but none is less that an interesting read. There are many goodies here so a recommended buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great bed-time reading, 25 Nov 2013
By 
A. Rea (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Time Travel SF (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
Some of these short stories are thought provoking and memorable, some not so good, but overall I have loved reading this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Time Travel SF (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
Love the concept of time travel but this is hard going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews