Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This second book about Anne is as enchanting as the first.
For those of you who enjoyed the first book in this series, Anne of Green Gables, you'll find this second book about Anne's adventures just as enchanting. In Anne of Avonlea, you can follow Anne into her teens and smile at her new and mirth provoking exploits such as chasing ornary cows out of neighbor's fields, teaching for the first time in the local school, forming a...
Published on 5 Oct 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sugary sweet
I did enjoy this book but I found it not as good as Ann Of Green Gables. It's a lovely sweet story but a bit predictable
Published 9 months ago by gerardine farrington


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This second book about Anne is as enchanting as the first., 5 Oct 2000
By A Customer
For those of you who enjoyed the first book in this series, Anne of Green Gables, you'll find this second book about Anne's adventures just as enchanting. In Anne of Avonlea, you can follow Anne into her teens and smile at her new and mirth provoking exploits such as chasing ornary cows out of neighbor's fields, teaching for the first time in the local school, forming a village improvement society and helping Marila to raise the mischievous Davy and his twin sister Dora. Of course, old friends like the unquenchable Mrs. Rachel Lynde and also Anne's childhood "bosom friend" Diana, still feature largely in her life and add to her colourful adventures. The handsome Gilbert Blythe, whom Anne once swore to hate forever, has finally been found to be a kindred spirit, and he strives to be worthy of her friendship...and perhaps something more? For Anne is growing up and becoming a graceful and sweet young woman who will win your affection as surely as she did as a child. All in all, this book follows in the footsteps of the first and like me, you probably will not be able to put it down until you are through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second book in the "Anne" series - a wonderful sequel to Anne of Green Gables, 30 Aug 2007
By 
S. Barnes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The "Anne of Green Gables" series are one of my all time favourites, and this second book in the series (first published in 1909) is every bit as wonderful as the first (1908). Beautifully written and a really good read for ages 8 to adult.

In Anne of Avonlea we catch up with Anne (aged 16 and half, although I thought that she had ended up 17 at the end of Anne of Green Gables - minor glitch!) as she returns to her old school in Avonlea as the school teacher. Anne is delightful in her ideals and her everlasting optimism... but even Anne can have her bad days (or "Judas" days) and there are a few laugh-out-loud moments where Anne just can't help but get it all wrong! You can't help but laugh aloud in the firecracker incident at school.

Anne and her old chums have also set up a society for the improvement of Avonlea, which meets with its fair share of hiccups, and Marilla and Anne take on six-year-old twins Davy and Dora, whose exploits Lucy Maud Montgomery recounts in her typically amusing way. Gregarious Anne also makes new friends, with the cantakerous Mr Harrison, and the eccentric Miss Lavendar.... and then there is her favourite pupil, dreamy eyed Stephen Irving...

Just wonderful timeless classics & I can't recommend them enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anne Shirley becomes the teacher at the Avonlea School, 10 Jan 2005
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
After the great success of "Anne of Green Gables," first published in 1908, Lucy Maud Montgomery had to quickly write a sequel to continue the misadventures of the mischievous red-headed orphan on Prince Edward Island and satisfy her readership. Since the original classic was not intended to be the first in a series, Montgomery had to make some changes and the one that will drive you crazy is that Anne is back to being oblivious about Gilbert Blythe being the love of her life and her perfect match. Even though it was clear at the end of the first book that Anne knew what Gilbert's place in her life would be that was quickly forgotten and in fact it would not be until the third book before the two finally worked out their future together.
The other thing that becomes obvious in "Anne of Avonlea" is that Montgomery was rather uncomfortable with Anne growing up, even though she is only "half-past sixteen." There is an infusion of new children into the story, not only because Anne is now teaching at the Avonlea school and having to deal with her young charges, but also because Marilla Cuthbert has adopted the irrepressible Keith twins, Davy and Dora. Also thrown into the mix are the mysterious new neighbor with his parrot and my favorite addition, the eccentric Miss Lavendar who has been waiting a quarter of a century for her beloved Stephen Irving to return to her.
"Anne of Avonlea" was published in 1909 and along with the fourth book in the series, "Anne of Windy Poplars," is a testament to Montgomery's respect for the teaching profession; the book is dedicated to her former teacher, Hattie Gordon Smith. While this is not one of my favorite Anne novels, it is still a worthy successor to the classic story. However, be warned that if you watch either the 1940 "Anne of Windy Polars" with the actress Anne Shirley (nee Dawn O'Day) or the 1987 "Anne of Avonlea" mini-series with Megan Follows, the two cinematic sequels that follow up on the two "Anne of Green Gables," that very little from this particular Montgomery novel makes it into either version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anne of green gables 2, 26 Oct 2002
By 
C. M. Collier "myopia1" (Liverpool,england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I think this is an utterly charming book,a sequel to Anne of green gables.Anne is growing up,but still manages to get herself into the same kind of scrapes as the first book.She is teaching at Avonlea school,but still has time for her old friends,as well as some new ones.
As usual,there are glorious descriptions of the countryside and the same delightful humour that made Anne of green gables so popular.If you liked that,you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in series, 10 April 2003
This is my favourite of all the Anne books. I was 16 myself when I read it and you feel you can totally identify with the young Anne's character. It has everything...and the best ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, 28 Nov 2008
By 
Steven R. McEvoy "MCWPP" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Like the first Anne book, Anne of Green Gables, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. And though many think these books sentimental mush, I seemed to garner a lot from reading them.

They teach me to see God in new and exciting ways - to see God more in Nature and the world around me that He has created - to look for the best in all people I meet, especially those who are hard to like, ie Mrs. Rachael Lynd and Mr. Harrison. We have to learn to see past the exterior to see the person inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, 28 Nov 2008
By 
Steven R. McEvoy "MCWPP" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Like the first Anne book, Anne of Green Gables, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. And though many think these books sentimental mush, I seemed to garner a lot from reading them.

They teach me to see God in new and exciting ways - to see God more in Nature and the world around me that He has created - to look for the best in all people I meet, especially those who are hard to like, ie Mrs. Rachael Lynd and Mr. Harrison. We have to learn to see past the exterior to see the person inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as number 1 and 3, 27 Dec 2010
By 
S. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In this second book in the series, Anne is 16, and now teaches avonlea school, where she herself went as a little girl. She struggles to win some of her pupils respect, grows deeply attached and even finds kindred spirits among them. Anne grows into a woman in this book, but it some how lacks the fun and comical side of the first book when she was getting into childish scrapes. Although a great book, not as good as the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book was Wonderful!, 13 April 2010
By 
Ms. B. Biniek (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anne of Avonlea (Paperback)
The book was sent very fastly, which I am happy about. I mainly bought this book for my 10 year old daughter, who is just learning about the charms of Anne.

She loved it and commented: "Anne of Avonlea is a funny, elegant, romantic and surprising book. I enjoyed it very much"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel to Anne of Green Gables, 7 April 2010
By 
Tracy Wallis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book for my 9 year old daughter who really wanted to read what happened next to Anne Shirley after reading Anne of Green Gables. She really enjoyed the book and assures me it's much better than the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anne of Avonlea
Anne of Avonlea by Lucy Maud Montgomery
£0.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews