Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very listenable, but quirky and edgy, positive and with fine sentiments
This an excellent CD of finely crafted and well executed songs. Although the style has obvious references to urban blues, rock n' roll, skiffle and even soul, there's something distinctive and quirky about the sound of the James Hunter Six. This is characterised by angular, edgy guitar riffs and occasional contributions from a "singing toothache" organ, often...
Published 4 months ago by R. W. Matthews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A 'Nice' album
This is the third album by James Hunter I have bought and my reaction to this album is the same as to the other two. They are beautifully played and Hunter is a good singer, however there is just no fire to the music it sounds like a pastiche of something that was done better 50 or 60 years ago by B. B. King and others. So what you have here is a Sunday afternoon album, a...
Published 4 months ago by rob w


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very listenable, but quirky and edgy, positive and with fine sentiments, 18 Aug 2014
By 
R. W. Matthews (Farnham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minute by Minute (Audio CD)
This an excellent CD of finely crafted and well executed songs. Although the style has obvious references to urban blues, rock n' roll, skiffle and even soul, there's something distinctive and quirky about the sound of the James Hunter Six. This is characterised by angular, edgy guitar riffs and occasional contributions from a "singing toothache" organ, often playing somewhat pleasantly distant to the key of the song. The vocals are also of a high standard, exhibiting an impressive vocal and dynamic range. The lyrics seem effortless but they are very thoughtful, and generally express fine sentiments. I recommend this CD wholeheartedly to anyone who likes strong, original, well-constructed and performed songs, with a decent spirit. I can also promise that, unlike so many others, the music on this CD is positive, happy and uplifting. Despite dealing with some difficult and painful subjects in some songs, the whole experience is light, brightening your day and leaving you feeling like life is worth living. Currently a favourite after a tiring day at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 April 2013
By 
Mr. T. Carr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minute by Minute (Audio CD)
This is James Hunter back to his best.

It's a mixed but very enjoyable set of tracks.

Roll on the next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A 'Nice' album, 4 Aug 2014
This review is from: Minute by Minute (Audio CD)
This is the third album by James Hunter I have bought and my reaction to this album is the same as to the other two. They are beautifully played and Hunter is a good singer, however there is just no fire to the music it sounds like a pastiche of something that was done better 50 or 60 years ago by B. B. King and others. So what you have here is a Sunday afternoon album, a pleasant and relaxing listen. To damn it with faint praise it is polite music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More very authentic retro soul from James, 29 Mar 2013
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Minute by Minute (Audio CD)
This is James' first record since 'The Hard Way' five years ago and his first record recorded in the US in collaboration with Daptone supremo Gabriel Roth who has previously worked with Amy Winehouse and Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings. It does have that really authentic 50s/60s R&B sound suggesting Sam Cooke and Otis Redding but to me it sounds very similar to his previous records produced in Britain, with his voice sounding just a bit rawer and rougher but still able to really swing on numbers like the single "One way love". The band produce a very full sound for just a six-piece and although they largely keep to the classic vintage soul vibe there are also elements of gospel, blues, reggae, latin and 60s pop in the mix. Like records of the period they concentrate mainly on ensemble playing, with the occasional smokey tenor solo or breaks featuring James' guitar. On the first couple of listens I don't think that the songs here are quite as outstanding as on previous albums, especially the excellent "People gonna talk", and I'd probably pick "Drop on me" and "Heartbreak" as my favourite tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Minute by Minute (Audio CD)
james has yet to produce a tune i didnt like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minute by Minute (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of this guy - great voice - good songs - Brilliant beat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STYLE, 9 Feb 2014
By 
E. Kelly "keypad" (Didcot,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Minute By Minute [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
I have just completed a selected compilation of downloads from 'minute by minute','the hard way' and 'believe what I say' They are all good albums. Even my selectivity of tracks meant that I downloaded the equivalent of two albums & not the lot, but that is an indication that the vast majority of the tracks are well executed with no real duffers amongst them.I just prefer the up-tempo stuff more. ' Minute By Minute' seems to be the best album as James' voice seems to have a more lived in feel to it now. If you;ve ever liked Sam Cooke, Boz Scaggs, Smokey Robinson, or Hank Ballard You will probably like James Hunter too. he has one of those classic,richly toned,old style, RnB vocals that bring real feeling into the lyrics. His style may be retro but that doesn't matter one bit if it's done with conviction & has superb quality, and those two traits are very much in abundance here. I sneakily feel that Rod Stewart, who has always been a fan of old style RnB, would have loved to have been able to sing like this, but he never could and still can't. Good ol' Rod just croaks by comparison. James Hunter is a new singer to my ears and I love what he and his band/s have done to bring RnB back to life again.

Eamonn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 24 July 2013
By 
Steveo (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minute by Minute (Audio CD)
Actually better, this kicks butt. Love The Gypsy in particular. All tracks blend to make a nice compilation of up beat blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minute By Minute [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
What a talented group, seen them live and the album doesn't disappoint. Very cool group of snowmen who had the crowd going from the start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars james h, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Minute by Minute (Audio CD)
Good album if you like James Hunter I prefer the people gonna talk album myself but once youve seen him and heard him you want the lot,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Minute By Minute [+digital booklet]
Minute By Minute [+digital booklet] by The James Hunter Six
Buy MP3 Album£7.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews