Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Audio but the download is an MP3
The disc itself is excellent but BE WARNED: the digital download that you get from the manufacturer is a 320kbs MP3!!!
I find that staggeringly stupid.
So you buy the blu-ray audio but if you want to listen to it on your music server, mobile, computer or whatever, you get an MP3, no FLAC, no ALAC, no high-definition digital file at all.
Published 6 months ago by Anthony Watson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Sound Quality for Blu Ray
I must admit to looking forward to this release. I never had the CD, so I can't compare sound quality, but - what a disappointment. I have 3 other Blu Ray audio discs and this comes nowhere close to the sound quality of the others. It sounds very 'flat'. The best one I have heard so far is Bob Marley: Legend. Take a listen to that to hear how good this format can be -even...
Published 8 months ago by allan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Sound Quality for Blu Ray, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla And Other Assorted Love Song (Blu-ray Audio)
I must admit to looking forward to this release. I never had the CD, so I can't compare sound quality, but - what a disappointment. I have 3 other Blu Ray audio discs and this comes nowhere close to the sound quality of the others. It sounds very 'flat'. The best one I have heard so far is Bob Marley: Legend. Take a listen to that to hear how good this format can be -even with older recordings. Had there been a 5.1 mix on this it might have saved the day, but without it, you may as well buy the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High resolution stereo but no 5.1, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla And Other Assorted Love Song (Blu-ray Audio)
Everyone knows the album, this rating is not based on the content but rather on a wasted opportunity. The Hi Fidelity Pure Audio releases interested me as some of the titles have been released previously on SACD and DVD-A in 5.1. Most of which are now deleted and if you can find them are ridiculously priced.
I had hoped that the 5.1 multi channel mix would be included on this blu ray, it's only available on SACD and in the very expensive box set. There's plenty of room on the disc itself but was disappointed to find it is just the stereo mix, albeit in high resolution. Buy this if you have two speakers and have a blu ray player connected to them, but not if you want the surround sound experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not 5.1 mix, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Elton Luiz Rabello (São Paulo, São Paulo Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla And Other Assorted Love Song (Blu-ray Audio)
I do not understand why this mix isnt a 5.1 in a bluray media if there is already exists the mix in 5.1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Audio but the download is an MP3, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla And Other Assorted Love Song (Blu-ray Audio)
The disc itself is excellent but BE WARNED: the digital download that you get from the manufacturer is a 320kbs MP3!!!
I find that staggeringly stupid.
So you buy the blu-ray audio but if you want to listen to it on your music server, mobile, computer or whatever, you get an MP3, no FLAC, no ALAC, no high-definition digital file at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No improvement on sound quality, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. Richard Robinson "Rich Robinson" (Birkenhead UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla And Other Assorted Love Song (Blu-ray Audio)
thought the blu-ray sound may have improved this album, but it still sounds really tinnie and cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars derek is eric and duanne, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Bruce M. Garber (cincinnati oh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Layla And Other Assorted Love Song (Blu-ray Audio)
The sound quality from a blue ray pure audio is awesome.these blue ray audio discs are worthwhile investments. I have this one supertramp and Stevie wonder-all excellent albumsto enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best rock, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla And Other Assorted Love Song (Blu-ray Audio)
an all time favourite now in studio quality sound
if you have got a Blu-ray player and a surround sound system
immerse yourself in some of the best rock music ever made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be much better considering the price., 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla And Other Assorted Love Song (Blu-ray Audio)
I have other versions of this recording which include the Mobile Fidelity LP and gold cd, an original LP, the HD tracks download, the 2004 sacd and now this Bluray version. LIstening to the vintage LP was probably the best interpretation, as this is not the best recording of rock music out there. Even considering the limitations of the vintage recording technology, the Bluray experience still was less than satisfying. I don't know if they used a multi-generation CD master or it could be the original master tape has shed much high frequency information, but the recording is lifeless. If the original unixed multitrack was still available, the producer should have considered a complete remaster.

I actually like the MFSL gold cd, but if you have a vintage LP pressing, stay with it and move along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star rating is irrelevant, 30 July 2013
By 
HTC (Perth, WA Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla And Other Assorted Love Song (Blu-ray Audio)
For those who have already owned a CD or LP would know that this is a good album albeit the sound quality. But this Blu ray is awesome in my opinion. The ratings given by some reviewers can be so confusing and misleading. Some reviewers just simply gave very low ratings just because they have bought a faulty item or are unhappy with the service.
So my star rating is mainly the music quality and sound. See for example Paul McCartney & Wings Rockshow. Many bought faulty items and gave bad reviews. Use your complain somewhere else. Don't confuse others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea..., 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla And Other Assorted Love Song (Blu-ray Audio)
Because its missing the 5.1 sourround sound im not going too buy any more bluray audio,
it sounds like a ordinary cd, maybe a little bit better, but not much.
A sacd or a dvd audio are lightyears better, sorry but thats my oppinion.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Layla And Other Assorted Love Song
Layla And Other Assorted Love Song by Derek & The Dominos (Blu-ray Audio - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews