Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanzeyeview, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Roger N. Allen "Roger" (Braintree ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: STANDING IN THE SHADOWS (Audio CD)
A follow up to a successful debut album is never easy even for the more notable artists in the world of music, let alone the artists of the blues scene in UK and Europe. Have King King managed to achieve the standard so highly attained on Take My Hand? Yes I believe they have. This is a more mature offering all around from the quality musicianship to the song-writing and production.

Mixing blues-rock swagger with some sublime laid back grooves, I'm enjoying this album more than the predecessor because of the gained experience of the musicians playing on here, Alan's more assured vocals and guitar, Bennett's delicious keyboards , the award winning class of the rhythm section of Wayne and Lindsay, providing the resolute platform for the songs.

The afore-mentioned swagger comes in the form of album opener `More Than I Can Take' and `One More Time Around' before settling into the glorious Hammond groove of `Taken What's Mine'. The song `What Am I Supposed To Do?' is for me the best work King King have produced, from the scintillating music to Alan's emotional vocals, this song is perfection in its construction and execution.

We have the epic slow burning `A Long History Of Love' with Alan showing guitar skills and singing with heart and soul with Bennett's keys layered in the background beautifully.

Covers of a couple of my all-time favourite artists, Frankie Miller (Jealousy) and Free (Heavy Load) are given the King King treatment and do the upmost justice to the originals. `Can't Keep From Trying' is very commercial sounding with more than a touch of Huey Lewis about it. Alan then gets reflective with `Coming Home (Rest Your Eyes)' before the album closer and gospel tinged `Let Love In' has the Rev Nimmo leading the choir in a celebration of joy.

Take My Hand gave King King a host of awards and mass critical acclaim, Standing In The Shadows could very well achieve the same accolades, they have improved on the formula on every level to create yet another classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Band., 2 April 2013
This review is from: STANDING IN THE SHADOWS (Audio CD)
I bought the first King King album on basis that I liked the Nimmo Brothers.
I bought Standing in The Shadows because I liked 'Take My hand'.
From the first listen, I loved this album. It is real quality with great talent. When you have great musical ability with great feel and emotion you have (in my opinion)a Great Band.
All of the tracks are good and I guess favourites will vary from person to person. I think that most people who love the blues,especially rhythm and blues will find many favourites on here. Mine is Heavy Load. (It feels like this band have picked up where Free left off) I knew Paul Kossoff for a short time.(Such a nice man). When I hear King King's version of Heavy Load, I think of him. It's a good memory.
This is a great album, don't miss it or King King live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mighty KING KING, 26 Mar 2013
This review is from: STANDING IN THE SHADOWS (Audio CD)
I have been a follower of King King since their early days, and this, their second album is certainly not a let down!
A couple of very respectable covers on there, and the rest written predominantly by Nimmo/Coulson.
I think compared to first album 'Take My Hand' the new album has a very slightly more mellow and laid back feel to it, but Alan still manages to let rip that amazing guitar to give that King King sound the fans know and love!
The band who work extremely hard, and who deserve to have their music heard, have been championed by Paul Jones from the Blues Band and Radio 2. And hopefully he will give this album the accolaides it deserves and plays some of it on air!!
A Superb album, if you don't know King King, give it a chance, you will be glad you did!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WON'T BE STANDING IN THE SHADOWS FOR LONG !, 25 Mar 2013
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: STANDING IN THE SHADOWS (Audio CD)
Saw King King last December for the first time and the band are simply awesome. They are just so good, lead by Alan Nimmo on guitar & vocals, in both areas he is inb the top mleague, a major talent. Add to that the bass guitarist who was voted the best in 2012's British Blues Awards Lindsay Coulson, plus drummer Wayne Proctor whose also the producer. He's played with the very best of Britain including Ian Parker, Aynsley Lister and Oli Brown, oh and on keys we have Bennett Holland, another great talent. On their first album of mainly original songs they did a cover of Eric Clapton's Pld Love, and it was even better than the original, and I'm a massive EC fan. This new album is going to be hard to better by anyone in 2013, filled with ten tracks of King KIng magic, superbly played and sung. t's hard to pull out a single song because the overall album is just so good throughout. The cover of the Andy Frazer/ Paul Rodgers hit Heavy Love is right on the money and the stunning Coming Home For Your Love shows just what a great voive Alan has, and its full range is superbly on show her, not to mention some excellent fluid guitar work and the whole band gelled so tight tother throughout. Eight of the ten songs are original, and the band were playing some of them when I saw them, in fact they were straight away off to the studio to complete the recording of this set.The first album was superb but this latest sets has set the standard even higher. Though they play the blues their range over these tracks is wide, no two tracks sound alike, its one of those where each song os a pleasure to play again and again. If you buy one album this year do yourself a favour and make it this one,you'll love it in fact get two so when you wear one out you've still got another.
Track listing is:-
1. More Than I Can Take -new song
2.Taken What's Mine- new song
3. A Long History Of love - new song
4. Jealousy (Frankie Miller song)
5. What Am I supposed To Do - new song
6. One Mopre Time Around -new song
7. Can't Keep From Trying - new song
8. Coming Home - new song ( this could well be sng of the year )
9. Heavy Love (Andy Frazer/Paul Rodgers)
10. Let Love In -another new song.
See them live, you can't miss them they wear kilts and are the best export from Scotland in many a year. Let's hear it for King King. An album that will surely be a long time classic, but its right there now....unmissable (shame about the limit if 5 stars, worth at least 10 ,a really great album!0.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to see them live, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: STANDING IN THE SHADOWS (Audio CD)
Another great album - great lead voice, fab guitar and a mix of rock and blues. Not what you normally get from a blues band - deserve the awards they've won.

Can't wait to see them live very soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 2 May 2013
By 
G. Rae (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: STANDING IN THE SHADOWS (Audio CD)
Never heard of King King until I bought this CD. Loved it from beginning to end. A couple of stand out tracks for me are, A Long History of Love and Jealousy! Playing this album repeatedly in the car, loving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Band - See Them Live, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: STANDING IN THE SHADOWS (Audio CD)
I have seen King King live twice - once supporting the very good Joanne Shaw Taylor at the O2 Shepherds Bush and recently as the main act in a small venue in Windlesham where they delivered an outstanding show. Alan Nimmo is a great guitarist and this album is excellent. A mixture of blues, rock and some more mainstream tracks with 'Heavy Load', ' Jealousy' and 'A Long HIstory Of Love' particular favourites. A polished set of songs. I need to get their first venture ('Take My Hand') which contains the Clapton/Cray classic 'Old Love' which they do a killer live version of.

Highly recommended. See them live - they are touring with John Mayall later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic album, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: STANDING IN THE SHADOWS (Audio CD)
Just when you despair at finding any good new music along comes an album to take your breath away. Yes it may be a bit formulaic but Alan Nimmos guitar playing and soulful melancholy voice just does it for me. For me its a lot like early Clapton. Go on try it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth having, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing in the Shadows (MP3 Download)
an excellent album pity there can be no more due to this guys demise the best I have heard in a long time well worth having.
along same vein as bonamassa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fine Follow-up Effort, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing in the Shadows (MP3 Download)
Another very good album to follow 'Take My Hand'. The inclusion of a strong version of Free's 'Heavy Load' doesn't do the album any harm either.

Their next/third album is currently being worked on and I for one can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews