Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
When FM made their comeback after a 12 year hiatus in 2007, it took until 2009 for their first new album in years to be released - and it was worth the wait. Metropolis was something special, and even featured a couple of tracks playlisted by Radio 2, for the first time in their 25 year career.

Now, four years later, the journey continues with Rockville. Not...
Published 18 months ago by P. McCormick

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful
As a fan from the beginning and hearing there come back album metropolis which was good this was a total let down and i am very disappointed in it steve has an amazing voice and a good line up so why did they not deliver?,
Published 16 months ago by Taz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 13 Mar 2013
By 
P. McCormick "Large" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockville (Audio CD)
When FM made their comeback after a 12 year hiatus in 2007, it took until 2009 for their first new album in years to be released - and it was worth the wait. Metropolis was something special, and even featured a couple of tracks playlisted by Radio 2, for the first time in their 25 year career.

Now, four years later, the journey continues with Rockville. Not content with just one album, they had so much material that they've recorded two. And they're both knockout.

Melodic, powerful, beautifully produced and with an oustanding sound, every track on Rockville gets a solid 9 or 10 out of 10 from me. The balance of tracks, the light & shade - Steve Overland's voice is as soulful and powerful as ever, and it would be remiss not to mention Jim Kirkpatrick's outstanding lead guitar. Some of his solo work has to be heard to be believed, and fits the songs like a glove.

Crave has had a spin on Radio 2, and is surely the most radio-friendly of all the tracks - the heavier Crosstown Train has been A-listed on Planet Rock.

Rockville I arguably contains the more melodic work, with Rockville II leaning towards the heavier material, but that's not to say that either album is better than the other.

If you've ever heard of FM, or even if you haven't; if you've ever heard anything on Indiscreet, Tough it Out or Metropolis (arguably their best albums), or even if you haven't - if you like melodic rock music with catchy hooks, singalong choruses and the impression of belting along an empty motorway in the summer with the roof down, buy these.

And if you can, catch them out on tour in March. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In time-honoured FM style, a real grower..., 17 April 2013
By 
O. Price (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockville (Audio CD)
FM are one of those bands that, as a loyal long-term, make me feel proud to know their music.

There's infuriatingly catchy sing-along tunes like "My Love Bleeds" and the simple yet heart-string-tugging "Show Me The Way", then just when you think the boys might be getting a little laid back, they lob in the rocking grenade that is "Crosstown Train".

Remember in the most recent Rocky film (Rocky Balboa), where Rocky tells Paulie he "still has stuff in the basement"? Well, crank up this bad boy and revel in the sheer quality of the instrumental and vocal performances - FM still have stuff in THEIR basement! (More like this please, fellas!)

In a nutshell - this'll be on repeat for the rest of Summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockville (Audio CD)
This a fabulous album - great songs as always - it is so difficult to pick out fav tracks as they are all of such a high quality - it is fantastic FM got back together and are playing such great new music - each band member plays to the highest of their capabilities - and Steve's voice is massively impressive. - a mighty fine album from a mighty fine band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific rock music from a great UK rock band, 7 Jun 2013
This review is from: Rockville (Audio CD)
I first came across Rockville on Pledge Music, a place where I previously backed another rock band The Union. I thought, I've heard of them in the early 90's, I wanna support this, so I did.

Upon release, I was blown away by the quality of music, songwriting, and Their lead singers powerful rock-soulful voice. Each track is a good 9 or 10 rating, it really is full of quality.

I remember in my youth seeing FM advertised in rock mags, but didn't look much further than that. Ho how I regret not finding these guys music earlier - and they're originally from my hometown too! I will make amends.

Buy this if you love your rock music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockville Review, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockville (Audio CD)
A rollicking good melodic rock album from start to finish, a true masterpiece from a band who IMHO should have been bigger than Bon Jovi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FM better than Digital, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockville (Audio CD)
Brilliant Album , I have to confess this is the first FM album i have bought and only bought it because I love the track "Home bound train" after hearing it on Planetrock radio. FM were penned to be the UK's version of Bon Jovi but for whatever reason it didnt happen. There are a lot of bits on this disk that sound like Def Leppard with the vocals on the chorus but i cant knock that as the Leps are fantastic. Its a good rocking album , good mixture of rocking and softer tunes and a few ballads thrown in also.

Get it bought you know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year!, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockville (MP3 Download)
If there was any justice in the world this band would be one of the biggest on the planet,unfortunately whilst the likes of Bon Jovi can release a mediocre album and soar high in charts around the world this class act will pass a lot of people by which is great shame. Full of great songs,superbly played sung and produced this deserves more. Rockville 2 is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch, 18 May 2013
This review is from: Rockville (Audio CD)
I have loved FM since I first saw them live in the mid 80's and feel Steve Overland has one of the great rock/blues voices and should be held in the same general esteem as Robert Plant, Paul Rodgers and our Lord Coverdale. I spent ten years from 85 following them live (they were never less than magnificent) and playing all their albums to death.It was a sad day in 95 when I heard they were no more.

You can imagine how pleased I was to hear they were coming back. Unfortunately, unlike some other reviewers here, I found comeback album Metropolis a bit disappointing. Of course, there was some good songs but some of the material was a bit hit and miss.

Well, I can happily say FM have their mojo back! More hooks than a fishing competition, Steve Overland singing like his life depends on it and Jim Kirkpatrik's guitar strutting around the place like a peacock on heat. This is already there to be in my albums of the year and can't wait to catch them live again.

If you like you rock melodic and bluesy, you need to own this record. Can't wait to hear Rockville II now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the album and see them live, 17 May 2013
This review is from: Rockville (Audio CD)
A good follow up to metropolis however to really apreciate just how good this band are see them live, they are by far the best sounding live rock band I have heard. Steve Overland's vocals are one of the Uk's best kept secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top band, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockville (Audio CD)
Top band and top cd. Go and see them live as well. What a buzz. Check out their web site for dates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rockville
Rockville by FM
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews