Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It stopped all,draughts.
Used as a draught excluder on the inside of the normal letter box and it stopped all draughts, even with a north wind at subzero temperatures coming straight at the letter box. The brushes were too strong to allow letter through without being mangled, but the brushes came out easily enough, and it works just fine without them. It was easy to put on and strong enough to...
Published on 29 Mar. 2013 by G. Rackley

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE
Bought this to replace an almost identical one that worked perfectly adequately for many years. As others have reported (wish I'd read the reviews first!) the 'draught proof' brushes keep coming off when post is pushed through as their resistance is too strong. Worse, however, is the strength of the spring mechanism on the metal flap. It is so strong the post is very...
Published 8 months ago by Hallyboy


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It stopped all,draughts., 29 Mar. 2013
By 
G. Rackley (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Used as a draught excluder on the inside of the normal letter box and it stopped all draughts, even with a north wind at subzero temperatures coming straight at the letter box. The brushes were too strong to allow letter through without being mangled, but the brushes came out easily enough, and it works just fine without them. It was easy to put on and strong enough to withstand rough treatment (oversized packages coming through).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Storm guard, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anything that reduces the draughts is a boon and this item certainly does do that. I am pleased that we made the purchase and we did not have any problems fitting the item to the interior of the wooden door. We should have purchased this item years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job!, 20 Jun. 2014
By 
Chunky1234 (Reading. Berks.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letter Box Cover with Brush & Flap for Internal OR External Use - Silver Finish (DIY & Tools)
Took the advice from others regarding the brushes falling out and removed them, popped a little super glue in the retaining clips and popped them back in, so far so good. Looks the part on the inside of my front door and seems to stop the drafts as best it can. For the money its worth it and took about 5 minutes to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Letter Box, 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Luckily it was a very fast delivery with clear instructions so we were able to put it in place the same day. Now it is keeping the draught out. Would definitely order one again if needs be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this to replace an almost identical one that worked perfectly adequately for many years. As others have reported (wish I'd read the reviews first!) the 'draught proof' brushes keep coming off when post is pushed through as their resistance is too strong. Worse, however, is the strength of the spring mechanism on the metal flap. It is so strong the post is very difficult to push through that as well. That process is not helped, finally, by a rubber strip on the inside of the metal flap (designed I would imagine to soften the sound of the flap springing shut) as post gets caught on its leading edge. I've fiddled around with it and have managed to reduce the strength of the spring closure mechanism. But I would have preferred to have just been able to fit it and forget about it! I would not buy this product again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great item, 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very nice sturdy item, good spring on the flap and looks a million times better than the outdated brass effect one.. speedy delivery, well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letter Box Cover with Brush & Flap for Internal OR External Use - Silver Finish (DIY & Tools)
the brush on the inside keeps falling out which is very annoying when the local free paper is delivered. usually means my house is freezing as the wind blows straight into the hallway.

on the up side it is very effective the rest of the time closing tightly once letter have fallen through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cover for letter box, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well packaged and it arrived very promptly. The gold colour is a bit garish - would have preferred it to be more muted but good value for money. The inner top brush comes adrift occasionally but this may be due to too much post being pushed through at one time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice product, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Keeps the draughts out and heat in. Quite flimsy as when the postman puts heavy letters or packages through the brushes on the inner side come off. But all in all does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This flap is well made and solid. It was easy to fit to my front door. Has functioned well since installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews