Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action and Fun Aplenty.
As a piece of pure entertainment "The War Wagon" works perfectly. It is very much a feel good movie. We see the bad guys get a deserved whupping. People get shot, but there is not much blood. The Duke dominates the screen once more without really trying, and is aided an abetted by Kirk Douglas in another of his likeable rogue roles. The film is directed by Burt Kennedy,...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Bob Salter

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caper Western!
Burt Kennedy one of Hollywood best western screnwrites turned director in the mid sixties and his tongue in check style is clearly in evidence in this Caper Western starring John Wayne and Kirk Douglas. Th eplot revolves around the highjack of a war wagon filled with gold but as usual isnt the plot that really matters in this type of film but the interaction between its...
Published on 14 Mar 2008 by websurfer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good clean fun, 18 April 2014
This Burt Kennedy directed caper is an enjoyable escapade - don't expect great acting or a detailed plot, but it remains the only western to team John Wayne and Kirk Douglas - it's a shame that we have Howard Keel playing the role of one of the indians, but aside from that I found it a good evenings entertainment. The picture quality is excellent, the sound fine and there are subtitles available - no need to upgrade to blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have screen this acouple of time but my mother has not so brought this for her still great viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the best., 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Wagon [Blu-ray] [1967] (Blu-ray)
I hoped this would be a classic but afraid the acting just seemed a bit to corny and looked dated in its delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JOHN WAYNE, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Gerald (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Wagon [Blu-ray] [1967] (Blu-ray)
As an avid life long John Wayne Western films follower I enjoyed this Film and in living colour Blu-Ray
it is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned entertainment., 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Wagon [Blu-ray] [1967] (Blu-ray)
One of the best John Wayne films ever made great to have it on Blu ray..great delivery great price..more region 2 or region free please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The War Wagon, 23 May 2012
By 
Mr. David Harvie "david harvie" (Glasgow uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great movie Starring John Wayne and Kirk Douglas,plenty of action and good fun. As with all Mr Wayne,s films fantastic fun for the family. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 26 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Wagon (John Wayne) [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD arrived 2days after I ordered it, excellent as usual. I think this was one of John Wayne's best westerns, well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wagon full of gold., 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Enjoyable toungue-in-cheek western with Wayne and Douglas a good team. No classic but less can do. One to buy for easy entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Westerns your have to buy this!!!!!!, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic western with two of the top film stars of all time, both exciting and funny!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun !, 6 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: The War Wagon [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
In 1967 John Wayne and Kirk Douglas starred in this fun, action/comic western directed by the efficient Burt Kennedy, better known as the screenwriter of several Bud Boeticher/Randolph Scoot westerns.
"The War Wagon" may not be a classic western but it's essential in every John Wayne DVD Collection, since it represents one of the last sucessuful old fashioned westerns of the 1960ths.
For the ones who really enjoid this one i remind you the second and last Wayne/Kennedy collaboration, 1973's "The Train Robbers", wich I like even more than the " War Wagon"....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The War Wagon [Blu-ray] [1967]
The War Wagon [Blu-ray] [1967] by Burt Kennedy (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews