Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars At This is the World's End
I’m not the biggest fan of American slacker comedies and their apparent obsession with weed, but Seth Rogan is perhaps the one exception I am willing to take. He may have all the negative connotations that comes with weed based humour, but he also has a quick wit, good ear for dialogue and a fun personality. These will all come under close scrutiny in ‘This...
Published 3 days ago by Sam Tyler

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This is one of worst films I have ever watched
This is one of worst films I have ever watched. If you want to waste two hours of your life watching a bunch of American frat boys all of whom are at least 30+ messing like a bunch of 17 yr olds then go right ahead. As for me I just want the one hour I actually watched it for before I gave up and threw it into the bin. Trust me, even if someone paid you to watch this...
Published 18 days ago by Andrew P. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars At This is the World's End, 24 Nov 2014
By 
This review is from: This is the End [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I’m not the biggest fan of American slacker comedies and their apparent obsession with weed, but Seth Rogan is perhaps the one exception I am willing to take. He may have all the negative connotations that comes with weed based humour, but he also has a quick wit, good ear for dialogue and a fun personality. These will all come under close scrutiny in ‘This is the End’, a film that stars Rogan as a version of himself as the world starts to suffer from The Rapture. Joining him are several comedians that he has worked with in the past, all playing versions of themselves. These include James Franco, Jay Baruchel, Jonah Hill, Craig Robinson and Danny McBride.

On the face of it ‘This is the End’ is a similar film to Edgar Wright’s excellent ‘The World’s End’, but although they both vaguely discuss the end of days in a comedic fashion, they are very different. Thankfully, different does not have to mean bad as ‘This is the End’ is one of the best US ‘R’ rated comedies of recent years. The cast have a great time lampooning themselves and each other. They use the type of ribald humour that mates have for one another at home and put it on the screen. There are also loads of very funny cameos as celebrities appear, only to be despatched.

The worry with ‘This is the End’ would be that it is all concept and no pay off. In truth, large portions of the film are set in Franco’s house, but the banter between the stars as they deal with the apocalypse is great. Things do move on and directors Rogan and Evan Goldberg embrace the absurdity of the end of civilisation. For a comedy to work it needs to be funny and that is certainly the case here. There are loads of laughs to be had, as long as you enjoy a little crassness. For many present this is their best comedic film to date, even Danny McBride is decent.

Although dealing with the apocalypse the film does not need to be seen in HD as the majority of the film is set indoors. As you would hope from a film that looks so fun to make, there are some making of featurettes that are worth watching as is the obligatory line-orama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is the End [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Consistently funny film from fifteen minutes in to the penultimate scene in the film, it only suffers from two ill judged jokes that leave a sour aftertaste (one in the second scene that felt a little bit mean and the already famous harry potter gag that is a bit odd. The rest of the film is a high point for everyone involved, especially Baruchel, Robinson and Cera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll either love it or hate it!, 4 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This is the End [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
'This Is The End' is one of the most enjoyable American comedy films I've seen in a long time. Riding high on a cast of talent, I can see why some people didn't enjoy it, it's off the wall, completely daft, ridiculously self-indulgent, and a required taste. For comedy effect, all of the actors portray themselves in the movie, and the result is a laugh a minute.

Jay Baruchel visits his good friend Seth Rogen (who is also the film's co-director/director) in LA for a drug fueled catch up, and although Jay hates the Hollywood lifestyle and the mingling with celebrities (play spot the cameos) that goes with it, he's dragged along to a party at James Franco's house. Baruchel is instantly out of his comfort zone among the wild-partying crowds, and is accompanied by Rogen to a local off licence to buy a pack of cigarettes. Suddenly, earthquakes cause catastrophe and people are killed. The only survivors are James Franco, Baruchel, Rogen, Jonah Hill, Danny McBride and Craig Robinson. Fleeing to Franco's comfortable home, it's there where the pals must come together in an attempt to survive in what is the end of the world.

Contains strong language, lots of sex references, and drug use. It's great to watch with a group of mates, but I have to say that it would help if you are already familiar with the actors to fully appreciate the humour. Some would say (and have) that it's a load of old rubbish, but I think it's an original, refreshing mainstream comedy that takes a very funny tongue in cheek view of the Hollywood lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You either like this sort of thing, or you don't. I love it., 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is the End [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
After seeing it at the cinema, had to buy it to watch again. If a bunch of slightly self-obsessed, masturbation fixated, dope smoking actors who are stuck in the middle of an apocalypse is your thing, you'll love this.

I'd say this was a little blokey but that's not a problem for me even though I am female and in my mid-40s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This is one of worst films I have ever watched, 9 Nov 2014
By 
Andrew P. Jones "Freddy" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is the End [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is one of worst films I have ever watched. If you want to waste two hours of your life watching a bunch of American frat boys all of whom are at least 30+ messing like a bunch of 17 yr olds then go right ahead. As for me I just want the one hour I actually watched it for before I gave up and threw it into the bin. Trust me, even if someone paid you to watch this movie say no!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Typical silly comedy you would expect, 28 July 2014
By 
Ms. P. G. Stow (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is the End [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This film is pretty much what you expect it to be - Seth Rogan and Jonah Hill giving us the usual laughs that we've come to expect from the other films we've seen them in. It's not the best movie they've been in, but has an original storyline and many familiar faces which provides an entertaining 100 minutes. If you like comedies with Seth Rogen and co. it is definitely worth a watch - especially at this low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rapturous comedy, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This is the End [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Portraying themselves in the film, Jay Baruchel is visiting his fellow Canadian friend Seth Rogan in L.A. Seth, whose been very successful & mixing with the Hollywood stars, takes Jay to James Franco's house party, which he is reluctant to attend, as he doesn't know anyone there & thinks Jonah Hill, who'll be attending, dislikes him. When Jay & Seth duck out to go for some smokes at the local seven eleven, all hell breaks loose, earthquakes & sinkholes start killing people, as James Franco (Oz.) , Jonah Hill (21 Jump Street), Seth Rogen (Funny People), Jay Baruchel (The Sorcerer's Apprentice), Craig Robinson (Hot Tub Time Machine) & Danny McBride (Your Highness) are the last surviving members of the party, holed up in Franco's fortress of a home. Survival has a funny way of bringing out the worst in people & uncovering they're dirty secrets.

At first, the film is just funny as it is, seeing these actors portraying themselves fictionally for comedic effect. While the whole apocalyptic premise is very weird & unsettling when it arrives, but towards the end of the film it's story makes for an interesting twist of fate for the remaining party goers. It also makes a great excuse for some oddball comedy & bromance. The film excels with it's comedy, while for the most part it's willy jokes or gross out comedy. There is some genius & comedy gold in places. All 6 leads are brilliant, given a fair share of screen time & bringing they're own different personalities to the table. Reacting to the rapture situation, conflicting with each other, taking the mickey out of they're carer choices, acting abilities, stature, exaggerating they're personality based on media perception, to getting high & acting out Pineapple Experess 2 with dodgy special effects. I dunno, once you see James Franco being a Jacobs cracker dealer, Danny McBride indulging on all the resources resulting in one the funniest lines "He's been eating nonstop. The ***** gained weight since he got here", or Jonah Hill going Exorcist in one of the film spoof take off's , it just can't be funnier, and consistently so, that is, depending on your preference of humor of course.

The whole film is shot in James Franco's home, but the special effects are certainly not by the half measure. The CGI to create the Armageddon torn Hollywood hills, or scary demonic creatures that add to the horror/comedy is really good quality. There are plenty of cameos from other Hollywood stars, such as Paul Rudd, Rihanna, Channing Tatum, Jason Segel, Christopher Mintz-Plasse etc.. Emma Watson (Harry Potter) tearing her sweet Hermione sterotype to pieces in the face of rape-y vibes, was a particular highlight. While Michael Cera (Superbad) as a cocaine snorting madman, was a bit hit & miss.

In conclusion, This is the End isn't perfect but for Seth Rogan & Evan Goldberg's directional debut, this offering should be applauded for it's unorthodox, original approach & being a great laugh. If you like the rude & crude humor films which these guys have appeared in together previously i.e Pineapple Express or Your Highness etc.... you'll like this a lot. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed the whole way through, 12 July 2014
By 
This review is from: This is the End [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Ignore all the negative reviews, this film
Is brilliant fun, yeah it maybe ridiculous, but the thought of a bunch of friends making a stupid film like this is enough to make you laugh. The acting is brilliant, each character you will hate at some point, but most of the time you'll love them for their cracking jokes and stupid actions, if you can cope with silly jokes and crude humour, then this film is definitely a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic film, james franco and seth rogen amazing, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fantastic film ,james franco and seth rogen amazing ,a must watch .pineapple express !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you're young, 26 July 2014
By 
Mr. G. A. Coralie "G. A. Coralie" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is the End (Blu-ray)
It's good for 1 viewing only. You have to know what other films these guys have been in for it to have any affect on you. If you do, you'll like it. It's a bit too long, but still worth a good laugh. My step father, of course much older than myself walked out because he didn't find it funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This is the End [Blu-ray] [2013]
This is the End [Blu-ray] [2013] by Evan Goldberg (Blu-ray - 2013)
£5.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews