Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny
Consistently funny film from fifteen minutes in to the penultimate scene in the film, it only suffers from two ill judged jokes that leave a sour aftertaste (one in the second scene that felt a little bit mean and the already famous harry potter gag that is a bit odd. The rest of the film is a high point for everyone involved, especially Baruchel, Robinson and Cera.
Published 8 months ago by GiggidyGiggidyGoo!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some funny moments, but OTT crude tedious...
This film felt like a load of teenage boys, swearing and saying crude stuff because they think it's rebellious. The 'oh so shocking' kind of lost its effect after it went on and on. Kind of like, yeah got the joke, let's just move on and not dwell on it for the next 10 minutes as the joke is wrung to death. I think you definitely needed to know who the actors were and...
Published 1 month ago by J Page


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Consistently funny film from fifteen minutes in to the penultimate scene in the film, it only suffers from two ill judged jokes that leave a sour aftertaste (one in the second scene that felt a little bit mean and the already famous harry potter gag that is a bit odd. The rest of the film is a high point for everyone involved, especially Baruchel, Robinson and Cera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed the whole way through, 12 July 2014
By 
Ignore all the negative reviews, this film
Is brilliant fun, yeah it maybe ridiculous, but the thought of a bunch of friends making a stupid film like this is enough to make you laugh. The acting is brilliant, each character you will hate at some point, but most of the time you'll love them for their cracking jokes and stupid actions, if you can cope with silly jokes and crude humour, then this film is definitely a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some funny moments, but OTT crude tedious..., 19 Jan. 2015
This review is from: This Is the End (DVD)
This film felt like a load of teenage boys, swearing and saying crude stuff because they think it's rebellious. The 'oh so shocking' kind of lost its effect after it went on and on. Kind of like, yeah got the joke, let's just move on and not dwell on it for the next 10 minutes as the joke is wrung to death. I think you definitely needed to know who the actors were and what they'd been in, to really appreciate this. I didn't so I don't think that helped. It did seem quite self-indulgent.

Saying that, it did have some genuinely funny moments and the special effects were good. I would imagine if you like gross out, crude humour and men talking about mens bits alot, you'd love this. For me, it was ok, but wouldn't be that keen to watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll either love it or hate it!, 4 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This is the End [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
'This Is The End' is one of the most enjoyable American comedy films I've seen in a long time. Riding high on a cast of talent, I can see why some people didn't enjoy it, it's off the wall, completely daft, ridiculously self-indulgent, and a required taste. For comedy effect, all of the actors portray themselves in the movie, and the result is a laugh a minute.

Jay Baruchel visits his good friend Seth Rogen (who is also the film's co-director/director) in LA for a drug fueled catch up, and although Jay hates the Hollywood lifestyle and the mingling with celebrities (play spot the cameos) that goes with it, he's dragged along to a party at James Franco's house. Baruchel is instantly out of his comfort zone among the wild-partying crowds, and is accompanied by Rogen to a local off licence to buy a pack of cigarettes. Suddenly, earthquakes cause catastrophe and people are killed. The only survivors are James Franco, Baruchel, Rogen, Jonah Hill, Danny McBride and Craig Robinson. Fleeing to Franco's comfortable home, it's there where the pals must come together in an attempt to survive in what is the end of the world.

Contains strong language, lots of sex references, and drug use. It's great to watch with a group of mates, but I have to say that it would help if you are already familiar with the actors to fully appreciate the humour. Some would say (and have) that it's a load of old rubbish, but I think it's an original, refreshing mainstream comedy that takes a very funny tongue in cheek view of the Hollywood lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You either like this sort of thing, or you don't. I love it., 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After seeing it at the cinema, had to buy it to watch again. If a bunch of slightly self-obsessed, masturbation fixated, dope smoking actors who are stuck in the middle of an apocalypse is your thing, you'll love this.

I'd say this was a little blokey but that's not a problem for me even though I am female and in my mid-40s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rapturous comedy, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This is the End [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Portraying themselves in the film, Jay Baruchel is visiting his fellow Canadian friend Seth Rogan in L.A. Seth, whose been very successful & mixing with the Hollywood stars, takes Jay to James Franco's house party, which he is reluctant to attend, as he doesn't know anyone there & thinks Jonah Hill, who'll be attending, dislikes him. When Jay & Seth duck out to go for some smokes at the local seven eleven, all hell breaks loose, earthquakes & sinkholes start killing people, as James Franco (Oz.) , Jonah Hill (21 Jump Street), Seth Rogen (Funny People), Jay Baruchel (The Sorcerer's Apprentice), Craig Robinson (Hot Tub Time Machine) & Danny McBride (Your Highness) are the last surviving members of the party, holed up in Franco's fortress of a home. Survival has a funny way of bringing out the worst in people & uncovering they're dirty secrets.

At first, the film is just funny as it is, seeing these actors portraying themselves fictionally for comedic effect. While the whole apocalyptic premise is very weird & unsettling when it arrives, but towards the end of the film it's story makes for an interesting twist of fate for the remaining party goers. It also makes a great excuse for some oddball comedy & bromance. The film excels with it's comedy, while for the most part it's willy jokes or gross out comedy. There is some genius & comedy gold in places. All 6 leads are brilliant, given a fair share of screen time & bringing they're own different personalities to the table. Reacting to the rapture situation, conflicting with each other, taking the mickey out of they're carer choices, acting abilities, stature, exaggerating they're personality based on media perception, to getting high & acting out Pineapple Experess 2 with dodgy special effects. I dunno, once you see James Franco being a Jacobs cracker dealer, Danny McBride indulging on all the resources resulting in one the funniest lines "He's been eating nonstop. The ***** gained weight since he got here", or Jonah Hill going Exorcist in one of the film spoof take off's , it just can't be funnier, and consistently so, that is, depending on your preference of humor of course.

The whole film is shot in James Franco's home, but the special effects are certainly not by the half measure. The CGI to create the Armageddon torn Hollywood hills, or scary demonic creatures that add to the horror/comedy is really good quality. There are plenty of cameos from other Hollywood stars, such as Paul Rudd, Rihanna, Channing Tatum, Jason Segel, Christopher Mintz-Plasse etc.. Emma Watson (Harry Potter) tearing her sweet Hermione sterotype to pieces in the face of rape-y vibes, was a particular highlight. While Michael Cera (Superbad) as a cocaine snorting madman, was a bit hit & miss.

In conclusion, This is the End isn't perfect but for Seth Rogan & Evan Goldberg's directional debut, this offering should be applauded for it's unorthodox, original approach & being a great laugh. If you like the rude & crude humor films which these guys have appeared in together previously i.e Pineapple Express or Your Highness etc.... you'll like this a lot. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic film, james franco and seth rogen amazing, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fantastic film ,james franco and seth rogen amazing ,a must watch .pineapple express !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you're young, 26 July 2014
By 
Mr. G. A. Coralie "G. A. Coralie" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is the End (Blu-ray)
It's good for 1 viewing only. You have to know what other films these guys have been in for it to have any affect on you. If you do, you'll like it. It's a bit too long, but still worth a good laugh. My step father, of course much older than myself walked out because he didn't find it funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was ok, 17 Dec. 2014
This review is from: This is the End [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was expecting a lot lot better from this it looked very promising with the cast but i was slightly let down dont get me wrong it had its moments and was quite funny in parts and as a massive fan of seth rogen it was alright, but you may be let down as it falls a bit flat iv seen better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 8 July 2014
This review is from: This is the End [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Rather childish and feels thrown together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This is the End [DVD] [2013]
This is the End [DVD] [2013] by Evan Goldberg (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews