Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.67
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2010
There must have been more column inches written about George Best than any other sportsman past or present.This though is the only book ever written about the Irishman's brief though fascinating career at Hiberian.To read the book is like winding back the clock to a football time which is very different from today. For those who can recall the hullabaloo caused when George signed for the Hibees, this is a wonderful return down memory lane. Many others will know little about Bestie's short spell at Easter Road. Whichever bracket you are in this book is a riveting read.

This publication has been extremely well researched and has been written with a lot of thought and is well balanced as a result.John Neil Munro has done a superb job tracking down many people who recall George's time in Edinburgh and their personal accounts make for fascinating reading. The narrative is nicely supported by lots of photographs and details of all George's appearances at Hiberian are included.

Whether you are a Hibs fan, a George Best fan or a football fan in general this book is a highly recommended page turner.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
I came to this book, first and foremost, as a footie fan who was nowhere near old enough to remember George Best playing the beautiful game in his pomp and prime. I've watched VHS videos and, latterly, dvds which leave me in no doubt as to the amazing and talented player that he truly was. Is there anyone out there with a love for soccer who hasn't heard of George Best? Probably not. His personal and professional life have been well documented in other books. We know the oft told tale of the flawed genius. Was there ever a genius who wasn't flawed? John Neil Munro, for it his he, has chosen to tell a story that hasn't really been told before - at least not in book form and not in such admirable detail. It's the incredible and bizarre account of Best's one year, on-off, love-hate romance with Hibernian Football Club. Gathered together in this riveting read are the insightful recollections of Angie Best (his widow), his team-mates and cooleagues, his opponents, sports journalists and, of course, the Hibs fans. It is generously illustrated throughout with photographs, taken at that time, of Best, on and off the pitch. It is a story told with a good eye for facts, but John Neil Munro has brought compassion and humour to the table too. This book is a fresh, new treatment on one aspect of George Best's remarkable, but ultimately tragic, life. A must.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Untold story of Bestie in Scotland. Sad to know a legend was trying his best but the alcoholism and boredom kicked in. As soon as the boredom kicked in, Edinburgh wasn't a big enough place to hide or be hidden. A story of a chairman whose heart and money was in the right place, tried to get Hibs at the top table. Circumstance let him down.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
I devour everything about Bestie having been introduced to him by my cousin back in the sixties and it was interesting to read about his time (or not) in Edinburgh.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
This is an absolutely tremendous read from beginning to end. It is very well written with lots of dry wit and great anecdotes. If you are a Hibee or even just from Edinburgh or a fan of Scottish football, you will love this excellent, compelling book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2011
This is a necessary addition to the Best canon, dealing with a period of George`s life usually glossed over. The author has done a fine job tracking down those who were on the scene at the time. There is a very good section at the end which features testimonies from lots of relevant people. John Neil Munro does not flinch from laying the blame for George`s failures at anybody else`s door and is very honest with regard to the attendance figures at the end of Best`s sojourn. I am old enough to remember Best at Hibs, his rocket shot against Celtic, his altercation with Aberdeen captain Willie Miller and his failures to turn up. This book captures it all.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
This book caught my eye in November 2010 when it was reviewed by a newspaper, and duly appeared under the Christmas tree!

I am not a Hibs fan but as a football mad 17 year old in 1979 I remember the George Best story very well. The author sets an excellent picture of the Scottish scene at the time and it's incredible to read that Best was being paid £2K a game at that time. The book is almost tragic at times as it outlines the great genius and his constant battle with the booze. In time honoured fashion Hibs gave him many last chances as had many others, and he let them down almost every time. All in all it was an excellent read and you certainly won't have to be a Hibs fan to enjoy it.

The only criticism I have is the author having a go at the 'West Coast Media' and making outlandish claims that if Best had signed for one of the old firm much more would have been made of it. The story was sensational at the time and was treated as such by the media. Who could blame anyone at the time for thinking Hibs couldn't pull this transfer off but once it happened it was major, major news and knocked everything else off the front and back pages.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
As a colleague of the late Stewart Brown, ex Hibs reporter at Edin Eve News, not sure the background to the signing squares with what I witnessed from virtually across a sports desk. Nevertheless, a good subject told pretty well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
I,M AFRAID I NEVER SAW GEORGE ON THE PITCH, MUCH TO MY CHAGRIN. I KNOW NOW THAT I MISSED A SPECIAL TALENT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
An entertaining look at a short period in the Hibees colourful history. Everywhere he went there were loads of brilliant stories about his exploits on and off the pitch. His time at Easter Road is well covered here
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)