Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read
I did not purchase this from Amazon but from a book rummage sale. It is a wonderful book; I thoroughly enjoyed it. It goes back and forth between the life of a WWI volunteer nurse and a generation later. Very well written and an easy and absorbing read.
Published 10 months ago by VJF

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another war time read
Although I liked the fact that this book was written expressing the women's view of the war, I felt it could have been condensed into a much shorter novel with perhaps a little less description.
Published 8 months ago by painter lady


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 11 Nov 2013
By 
VJF (Kerry, IE) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Paperback)
I did not purchase this from Amazon but from a book rummage sale. It is a wonderful book; I thoroughly enjoyed it. It goes back and forth between the life of a WWI volunteer nurse and a generation later. Very well written and an easy and absorbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
This story is beautifully told. I had to make myself measure out how much time I spent absorbed in it otherwise I wouldn't have done anything else but read! It is about a young Australian woman's experience in France during 1914-1918 and her grand-daughter's life, each telling how certain times in their lives unfold, the links and the consequences. The background is based on facts about hospitals run by Scottish female doctors in the Great War and about young 'men' (boys really, aged under 16) who enlisted. There are loves and losses but I won't spoil the story by giving any more details; only to say that although there were clues as to what the ending would be, it took me by surprise and brought tears to my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Untold Stories, 27 Nov 2013
By 
D. Piper "the reader" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Paperback)
This beautifully crafted novel takes us beyond the front line of war, to a place of suffering, compassion and finally to some degree of comfort and acceptance. Dreadful injury and moral consequence are threads which run through a cleverly controlled dual narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely loved this book,couldn't wait to get home from work to continue reading it.l think the way she mixed the past and present was fantastic ,l cried my eyes out at times and the way the book ended was not the way I expected which made it an even better read!Can't wait to read more of her books .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
A well told story spanning one woman's life during World War 1 and after.
It captures the mood of war, its horror and the men and women who lived and
suffered through it. Two connected lives are the main thrust of the story and the
author moves between the two seamlessly with the war story particularly well
imagined. I recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
I loved this story. A very sensitive story covering three generations and as many countries. It showed how events and mistakes and lies of the past can rear ugly heads and affect the lives of the innocent in our modern generation. Anyone loving a good story will enjoy reading this..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CRACKING READ!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
Historically interesting, a complex story of female emancipation, with a twist in the tail or is it tale! Respect to past generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent history, fiction and romance combination., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
This is a fictional story based on the history of the Scottish Women's Hospital at the French Abbey of Royaumont in WWI. The two female lead characters - Iris and Violet - are fictional and the twists and turns in their lives leave you thinking one thing and finding out quite a different story, ultimately. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
Found myself getting really involved with the characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, absorbing novel, 14 July 2014
By 
F. M. M. Stott (Devizes, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
Iris, in old age, receives an invitation that brings back many memories from her time in France in WW1. Sent by her father to bring her brother Tom home to Australia (Tom having lied about his age in order to join the war), Iris became involved in the founding and running of a field hospital, where she found friendship, love, and her lifelong interest in medicine.

In the present, she is concerned about her granddaughter Grace, an obstetrician, and despite her own increasingly frail health, does what she can to support Grace and her young family. But Iris has a secret - one she has never shared, and which has profoundly affected her life and her relationships - and it is not until near the end off the novel that this is revealed.

Iris is a wonderful character; she is strong, loyal and loving, and has made huge sacrifices to ensure the wellbeing of those she loves. Grace too is a great character; committed to her work, but with problems at home and in her workplace. The narrative moves back and forth between the war and the present, and while this can sometimes be a distraction, in this novel it works beautifully, never allowing the pace or the tension to let up.

I absolutely loved this novel, and didn't want it to end. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Falling Snow
In Falling Snow by Mary-Rose MacColl
£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews