Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read
I did not purchase this from Amazon but from a book rummage sale. It is a wonderful book; I thoroughly enjoyed it. It goes back and forth between the life of a WWI volunteer nurse and a generation later. Very well written and an easy and absorbing read.
Published 11 months ago by VJF

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another war time read
Although I liked the fact that this book was written expressing the women's view of the war, I felt it could have been condensed into a much shorter novel with perhaps a little less description.
Published 9 months ago by painter lady


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 11 Nov 2013
By 
VJF (Kerry, IE) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Paperback)
I did not purchase this from Amazon but from a book rummage sale. It is a wonderful book; I thoroughly enjoyed it. It goes back and forth between the life of a WWI volunteer nurse and a generation later. Very well written and an easy and absorbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
This story is beautifully told. I had to make myself measure out how much time I spent absorbed in it otherwise I wouldn't have done anything else but read! It is about a young Australian woman's experience in France during 1914-1918 and her grand-daughter's life, each telling how certain times in their lives unfold, the links and the consequences. The background is based on facts about hospitals run by Scottish female doctors in the Great War and about young 'men' (boys really, aged under 16) who enlisted. There are loves and losses but I won't spoil the story by giving any more details; only to say that although there were clues as to what the ending would be, it took me by surprise and brought tears to my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Untold Stories, 27 Nov 2013
By 
D. Piper "the reader" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Paperback)
This beautifully crafted novel takes us beyond the front line of war, to a place of suffering, compassion and finally to some degree of comfort and acceptance. Dreadful injury and moral consequence are threads which run through a cleverly controlled dual narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely loved this book,couldn't wait to get home from work to continue reading it.l think the way she mixed the past and present was fantastic ,l cried my eyes out at times and the way the book ended was not the way I expected which made it an even better read!Can't wait to read more of her books .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
A well told story spanning one woman's life during World War 1 and after.
It captures the mood of war, its horror and the men and women who lived and
suffered through it. Two connected lives are the main thrust of the story and the
author moves between the two seamlessly with the war story particularly well
imagined. I recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
I loved this story. A very sensitive story covering three generations and as many countries. It showed how events and mistakes and lies of the past can rear ugly heads and affect the lives of the innocent in our modern generation. Anyone loving a good story will enjoy reading this..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CRACKING READ!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
Historically interesting, a complex story of female emancipation, with a twist in the tail or is it tale! Respect to past generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A superb read, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
This is a very cleverly written book that will warm your heart telling a story of the first world war based in and around an actual Cistercian Abbey
Whilst the story is mainly fictitious, some of the characters are based on the women who helped to build and run a field hospital.
I would definitely like to read some more of M MacColl
RC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent history, fiction and romance combination., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
This is a fictional story based on the history of the Scottish Women's Hospital at the French Abbey of Royaumont in WWI. The two female lead characters - Iris and Violet - are fictional and the twists and turns in their lives leave you thinking one thing and finding out quite a different story, ultimately. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Falling Snow (Kindle Edition)
Found myself getting really involved with the characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Falling Snow
In Falling Snow by Mary-Rose MacColl
£2.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews