Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars55
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2013
The film is very thought provoking and the suspense is kept up until the very last minute. It is not fast paced though, in fact it is the slow feeling of ordinariness which makes the suspense mount.
Troels Lybye as the loving father who's accused of abusing his daughter is incredibly convincing - and the story hinges on his ability to convince us of who he is and what he is capable or not capable of.
You are constantly wondering whether he can be guilty or whether he's being hounded by authorities who are suffering from hysteria.
And you don't know for sure until the very last few minutes of the film.
0Comment30 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 19 August 2013
Henrik and Nina are happily married, he works as a Swimming Instructor and she is devoted to him. They do have a troubled teen daughter, who we find out is withdrawn, needs counselling and is prone to making things up. Then Henrik gets a call seemingly out of the blue, that lets him know that his daughter Stine, has accused him of sexually abusing her on a number of occasions. The authorities waste no time taking action.

What happens next seems to be totally unreal and Henrik is judged without trial by so many people. As more people find out, the strain on his marriage and also sanity start to take a heavy toll.

This was originally released in 2005, but it stars Sofie Gråbøl as Nina who has found deserved fame in TV series `The Killing' and if you are a fan check her out in `Aftermath' too for an outstanding performance. This then is another Nordic Noir treat, set in Denmark it is a story that is completely gripping and will hold your attention from the very start, a thing the Scandinavians seem to do rather well. This tackles a very dark subject and does so in a responsible way, but it is the anxiety and tension that had me transfixed.

It is also completely unpredictable which just added to the whole experience. The cast are all superb and as expected the direction and pacing are flawless. In Danish with really good sub titles and a smidgen of English. When you see quality you just know it is, almost instinctively, and this most certainly is that - ruddy excellent. If recent successes are going to cause more of these films to be resurrected, then keep them coming, I am a now a committed fan to the whole genre.
0Comment28 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Coherent and plausible from start to finish. Wonderful scriptwriting, acting, and not as predictable as I had feared it might be from some of the reviews. No type casting. No stereotypes. Genuinely thought provoking.
The characters build up slowly, and I especially liked that we meet the couple long before we meet their daughter. Clever parallel of the chronology of the family's story up till the time of 'the accusation'. Manages to create a sense of growing and permanent threat to the stability of a family unit with sympathetic characters. As the mother fights to protect and maintain relationships between the two people she loves most, her resilience seems to become more solid and substantial as the shimmering threads of the three lives woven together become unravelled.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Certainly a clever film about a man who is accused of sexually abusing his daughter . Slow paced , building tension and surprise ending , great movie to fill the Saturday night gap now that killing / borgen has finished and of course great to see my fav Sofie Grabol in such a different role . Having seen the Hunt earlier in the year I did keep making comparisons and I do feel that this is more a tv style film with a lot smaller ambitions .
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Great entertainment and excitement
For a very fair cost we the family will enjoy again and again by one and all.
So can I now take a moment please on behalf of our whole family group to state loudly here and now
...`We Thank You`
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
I've given this four stars because the theme is one that defies being loved, and five stars is supposed to mean that. However I am a bit in love with Sofie Gråbøl though and she's absolutely great in this and Troels Lyby, as her husband, gives a masterful performance. It's about a man accused of sexually abusing his daughter. The subject is approached with a will to provoke thought as well as provide a mystery to answered. You will absolutely not be disappointed as long as you are prepared for a bit of tough viewing. Not violent, but disconcerting.
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
A dark film, covering the horribly difficult issues surrounding an accusation of child abuse in a very thought provoking way.
Well crafted and acted, and highly watchable.
Beware, you may not like the way it ends.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
The supporting text for in that the story is about a child accussing her father of abuse. It implies that it is similar to the excellent Danish film called 'The Hunt'.

Yes it is, but only in the fact that it about a child abuse accusation. The story delivery and the way the story ends is totally different. To me this was better than The Hunt.
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
Brilliantly understated. One is left in doubt until the very end. So nice to have a movie without any sentimentality on a very sensitive subject.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Not a very interesting storyline. Certainly doesn't compare with the Scandi TV series in terms of complexity of plot and characters
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.