Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good choice in print form
I have not always been too enthusiastic about more recent LP guides, but this looks to be a return to form.

Though not an expert on Germany, I know Berlin pretty well and have stayed in Dresden for a few days and visited some of the Rhine towns: the recommendations for sites, culture etc seem to be pretty good, given that any country guide is going to have to...
Published 20 months ago by S. J. Williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Functional but uninspiring
A great guide book can not only provide you with information about a country, but can also inspire you and help you decide where you want to travel. I found that this Lonely Planet guide contained a wealth of detail about Germany, but the lack of pictures (there's an extremely small amount of photos, barely worth mentioning), and the sterile, repetitive layout meant that...
Published 15 months ago by Miss


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good choice in print form, 27 April 2013
By 
S. J. Williams "stevejw2" (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have not always been too enthusiastic about more recent LP guides, but this looks to be a return to form.

Though not an expert on Germany, I know Berlin pretty well and have stayed in Dresden for a few days and visited some of the Rhine towns: the recommendations for sites, culture etc seem to be pretty good, given that any country guide is going to have to make major compromises due to space. I could quibble with one or two points about Berlin where I might write with a more urgent recommendation: for example, specific Berlin walking tours, a visit to Haus Wansee where Heydrich, Eichmann and others planned the policy and logistics of the 'Final Solution'; or detail like the availability of an excellent English language audio guide voiced by Andrew Sachs, which can be had for free (in temporary exchange for one's passport) at the incredibly interesting Topography of Terror; the northern renaissance paintings by artists like van der Weyden and van Eyck are amongst the chief gems of Berlin's magnificent Gemaldegalerie. But this guide does more than give a heads up for most of the things anyone would choose and provide useful contact details and transport info for them.

The mapping is an improvement on the house style of some years ago and the addition of more colour photos makes for an (unnecessary, in my opinion) brighter read, though I must say the choice seems somewhat arbitrary given the number of options available. The historical background is informative and there seem to be a reasonably wide-ranging number of recommendations for accommodation, eating and drinking, though I do wonder how useful print media hotel etc listings are given that most travellers probably use the internet to arrange things before travelling - dumping them could free up space for other things, though it would take a brave series editor to actually take that step and LP and similar series did originate as guides to the back-packing culture.

LP guides are increasingly including a removable map which is tear-offable from inside the back cover. For some reason, rather than making this a larger all-Germany map as the book is for the whole of the country, here they give a Berlin map, which is OK if you go to Berlin, though tourist information gives away excellent versions.

IN PRINT FORM the book is easy to navigate, though why the contents page, which I imagine most guide users consult pretty often, is located several pages in and therefore rather harder to locate in a hurry, is beyond me. (I have tried a couple of RG and LP guides in ebook format and they are SO cumbersome to navigate that they become almost unusable.) This is something I would definitely use on a tour of parts of Germany: of course, for visits with a narrower scope, regional or city guides are much more preferable. Finally, unlike recent Rough Guides, which I tend to prefer, the print size is fairly user friendly for those of us of a certain age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well balanced, all round book, best used with other resources and an internet connection though!, 1 May 2013
By 
G. Wake "gregwake" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This slightly floppy, Chinese printed, soft back book is eight hundred and sixteen pages long with a folded map at the back. Too big for a pocket its probably something use to plan your day then to leave in the hotel. If you do carry it around though its should survive: it's been in my works bag for a few days now and is near pristine.

The first few pages are aimed at inspiration with a selection of pages giving an idea at the breadth of experience available in Germany so if you're not sure, begin at the beginning and it will point you towards the right region and page number for whatever cathedral, town, museum or railway excursion caught your eye. There are some example itineraries and a month-by-month planner that, unhelpfully, doesn't reliably list when in a month an event may fall, but it should be enough to guide your thinking. From there the book moves on to chapters about cities and regions, which takes up the bulk of the book, with the usual lists of things to do and places to stay interspersed with neat little insights, potted histories and explanations which make this better book more useful than randomly trawling the web for similar lists.

The end of the book is concerned with `Understanding Germany,' the `Survival Guide' (important things like what sort of electricity they use and tips on driving,) some German words and phrases and a brilliant index.

There are a few colour sections in the book, mostly in the first fifty pages, but for the most part the book (maps included) is dominated by black and grey text with blue highlighting. Print quality is good though the text is small and the paper nearly see-through so those with poor eyesight may struggle, especially in poor light. There are only about a dozen pages with
photographs on (and those are excellent, well chosen images) so this is a book to read rather than one to flick through and look for inspiring pictures. Read it with a web browser to hand and you can easily find the images the book is missing; reading it without this is liable to leave you wondering what on earth sections are talking about. On a similar note maps are indicative rather than comprehensive so be prepared to buy detailed maps if you plan to wander or download maps to your phone before leaving; even the tear-out Berlin map at the back isn't great, though you can unfold it without removing it from the book, which is unwieldy but could be useful.

If you treat this book as a starting point and a means to know what detail to go searching online for then it will work very well to give you a good understanding of Germany and where you might want to visit. It is not quite enough by itself as while it is very detailed in parts you are likely to want to know more as you plan your trip and the book acknowledges this as it suggests websites you may also want to look at. It is a very good place to begin planning your holiday in Germany and I'll be using this for mine when I go in the summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Gareth Smyth "Enjilos" (County Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Thorough and accessible guide, useful in my case for a first visit (of less than a week).

I'm not sure how much it would help someone who knew the country better, though, as much of the information about hotels can date quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong with Lonely Planet, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Evan (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've long been a fan of LP. Granted they're not what they used to be before the BBC bought and sold them but they still produce what in my opinion, are the best printed travel guides.

As usual, these guides don't cover everything and they never will. Some areas are covered better than others. But do your own research from a range of different sources eg this book, google searches, friends who have been before and even local tourist offices once at your destination and you won't go wrong.

My wife and I intend to go on a road trip through Germany early next year so this will serve a useful guide to help us plan our trip before we go as well as having in the car with other bits we print of the Internet.

Now I've been to Berlin, Osnabrück, Munich and Bremen and the country side along the border with Austria so I think I have a fairly decent understanding of Germany. This guide provides all the information I think most people would know about cities like Munich and Berlin etc but also more than you might expect. As I mentioned earlier, these guides also miss a trick or two when it comes to covering destinations but if you have more than one point of reference you'll soon get a wider feel for a city or area.

There are more colour photos than there used to be along with the now standard pull out maps that have been around since 2006 or so. It makes for a more interesting book to flick through and the maps are useful for obvious reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 28 Nov 2014
By 
Ian Baker (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Lonely Planet guides and this was no exception. I spend a lot of time before trips going through these guides to maximise the time I am there. Sorting out what excursions are must do and which are not is best done at home with plenty of time rather than under the pressure of a tourist/sales guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Germany in your hands, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
we took this on a recent tour of Germany, starting in the south and working north and, with the help of this guide book, had a fantastic time. the descriptions of sights and attractions were accurate and helpful, and the clear and concise reviews of some restaurants assisted in easing the money out of our wallets.

the recommendations were exceptional and up to date for the most part.

anyone thinking of going to Germany should strongly consider this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive guide to Germany, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Marco Busani "Proven Intellect" (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This Lonely Planet guide to Germany is split into 10 sections,which covers the different regions in the country.Each section has city centre maps that highlight the various attractions that each city/region has.The book also benefits from some full colour photographs in the each section.Love the full pull out city centre map of Berlin.Yet to visit Germany but this book has given me some ideas about what to see and do when I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Dependable, 18 Dec 2013
11/2013: I've returned from my multi-week trip to Germany with a well worn copy of this book. Not only did I use it to plan my trip, but I used it every day once there. I found the information in it invaluable: the maps, the sites, the travel hints, even the hotel and restaurant suggestions were dependable, never far off the mark. If you buy only one guide book to Germany, this should be the one.

Lonely Planet has been coming up strong in the international guide book arena. This up to date guide to Germany was published in March 2013. Weighing in at over 815 fact jammed pages, it includes a pull out city map of Berlin as well as many, many regional and city maps and color illustrations. Well organized by region and then city, this guide is easy to navigate with minimum searching back and forth. My only complaint is that the paper is grey-ish and very thin but an obvious trade-off for an 815 page book. High marks for this extremely comprehensive, well researched, well written guide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go to guide, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great guide for the vast country that is Germany. There is a certain predisposition for Berlin and the areas surrounding it but the details given to the other regions cannot be faulted.

My appetite for visiting has been whetted, and maybe I can make the suggestion of a Bundesliga match more palatable to the missus with the promise of an actual tour of the local sights. Before that I could only offer Oktoberfest... with no success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The only tour guide you need for Germany, apart from the maps, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Darren Simons (Middlesex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having complained bitterly over recent months on Lonely Planet's efforts to make their books look like DK, this one is quite different. Available in black, white and shades of blue and grey (with a little colour at the front), this guide gives as much information as possible on visiting Germany. The book is big, no doubt, but actually I have no issue with that. Although the distances between cities are quite long (by European standards) the roads are excellent (and fast) and it is an easy country to see a lot of within a couple of weeks so having everything in one book is good news for me. It follows the usual Lonely Planet format of Planning Tips, then each region is covered separately with the local towns and cities, then some history and bits of lingo.

Having visited Munich, Frankfurt and Berlin several times I am reasonably pleased with this guide book in terms of tourist spots (a lot of the book is given to Berlin) although I would have liked to have a U-Bahn/S-Bahn map for Frankfurt and Munich (as they have for Berlin) as it makes it easier to travel. In fact the maps for these cities are quite poor as they do not really show where the stations are at all. For the city maps, my rather old Baedeker guide is actually better except the restaurant and hotel recommendations are hopelessly out of date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Germany (Travel Guide)
£11.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews