Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly great tracks , good value for money .
I must admit I'm not sure whether all this music can really be classified as 'mod' or not , but it is a good selection of late 50's / early 60's tunes and includes a lot of upbeat, largely 'swing flavoured' r'n.b/rock/blues , soul and ska music ,a bit of jazz and a couple of ballads. Overall its quite an uplifting listen , if you like this sort of thing .
Published 12 months ago by John

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FORNEVER MOD!
Whilst I like the majority of the songs on this compilation including one or two rarities such as Jimmy Ricks great version of Daddy Rollin Stone, Bobby Marchans Booty Green & Sugar Pie De Santo's I Want to Know I have to agree with previous reviewers who state this is not a mod compilation and should not be classed as such. Indeed, I often wonder if some of the people...
Published 17 months ago by RH


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FORNEVER MOD!, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forever Mod (Audio CD)
Whilst I like the majority of the songs on this compilation including one or two rarities such as Jimmy Ricks great version of Daddy Rollin Stone, Bobby Marchans Booty Green & Sugar Pie De Santo's I Want to Know I have to agree with previous reviewers who state this is not a mod compilation and should not be classed as such. Indeed, I often wonder if some of the people who compile these albums have got a clue about the genre of music in question and just pick songs out of a hat. Many of the songs featured here (Boppin at the Hop, No. 9 Train, It Hurts me Too, Let it Be Me, Pop Eye, I've Got Papers on You to name a few)are more likely to be found on rock n roll or blues compilations & as far as I remember, mods were never too keen on rock'n'roll. My recommendation is if you like the majority of the songs on this album then buy it but if you are after authentic mod music there are far better compilations out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly great tracks , good value for money ., 6 Nov 2013
By 
John (Leicester , England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forever Mod (Audio CD)
I must admit I'm not sure whether all this music can really be classified as 'mod' or not , but it is a good selection of late 50's / early 60's tunes and includes a lot of upbeat, largely 'swing flavoured' r'n.b/rock/blues , soul and ska music ,a bit of jazz and a couple of ballads. Overall its quite an uplifting listen , if you like this sort of thing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catholic, 8 Aug 2013
This review is from: Forever Mod (Audio CD)
In the opinionated, if sloppily-edited liner notes to this value-for money double CD Garth Cartwright argues that these days the popular perception of Mod is that of a 1960s youth subculture, based around a false stereotype of "vespa-riding, parka-wearing, Who-worshipping, angst ridden young men".# But he believes that in reality it was actually, "much more fluid and culturally engaged" than that.

Over its 2 hours it is the intent of this blandly-titled compilation to prove Cartwright's point with its exposure of mod's roots. How? By gathering together the kind of tunes that were played at Soho's legendary Mod clubs The Scene and The Flamingo in the early 1960s. That means selections pretty much exclusively from American and Jamaican artists, in a catholic variety of genres including jazz, soul, ska, and blues. Despite the fact that the formulaic cover, and the disappointing fold-out poster, actually reinforce the impressions the compilers are looking to dispel, it pretty much lives up to that promise: there is no sign of mod icons The Who, The Creation, The Small Faces, or The Action et al in the fairly extensive 48 song track-listing. Instead, there are some instantly recognisable classic pop songs - 'Baby It's You', 'Let It Be Me' 'The Locomotion', and 'Take Five'; R&B favourites like Richard Berry's 'Have Love Will Travel', Bobby Marchan's 'Booty Green' and Sugar Pie De Santo's 'I Want To Know', as well as a couple of overlooked tracks which could do with the exposure to the limelight again such as Chuck Jackson's much-covered 'I Keep Forgetting', and Derrick Morgan's keen slice of rocksteady 'Shake A Leg'.

But not every single selection is, as the excitable prose for the back cover blurb falsely promises, either "smokin'', "sensual", or "stormin'". For instance, the polite jazz-y arrangements of Andre Previn and Johnny Dankworth seem too mannered when sequenced in close proximity to the looser feeling boogie-woogie of the likes of Rudy Ray Moore and Lee Allen. However, they are in a small minority - the majority of the tunes featured give a pretty damn favourable impression of how the enduring sub-culture was formed, and why these were the particular tunes "the Ace Faces danced to and were covered by the likes of The Who and The Small Faces".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars possibly the worst mod compilation I've heard, 20 April 2013
This review is from: Forever Mod (Audio CD)
This is very disappointing. There's a few decent tracks (however the Shirelles song isn't the original version)which are fairly well-known so most mods would have them anyway, such as Richard Berry, Sugar Pie etc. Also why include 'Loco Motion'? Every man and his dog knows that. Most of the other ones I'd not heard of but there are literally 1000s of R&B/ska/jazz/blues songs from that era so I was interested to hear some stuff I'd never heard before.
One of them sounds like rockabilly. I wouldn't have been surprised if I heard on a 'Best of Rockabilly' compilation. Nothing against rockabilly but this is meant to be a mod collection. The song title has 'Mabel' in it.
The Everly Brothers!!!??? Why not go the whole hog and put a few Elvis or Cliff tracks on?
Andre Previn? Johhny Dankworth? Lift music. Easy listening with a vengeance.
To be fair I haven't played all of it - just a few bars of each song. Disc 2 seems to be all ballads (with a few exceptions) that I can't really see anyone doing the Block to even if bombed out of your head on French Blues.
The poster is disappointing too - just a few guys wearing parkas and riding scooters.
The bloke who wrote the sleeve notes drones on about the Rolling Stones, suggesting that the long haired Brian Jones was a top mod, and then says that 'Daddy Rolling Stone' was covered by the Who (correct) and was the B-side of their first single (WRONG!!) There's some claptrap about Marc Bolan as well.
Don't buy this CD - it's about as mod as a Duran Duran album. If you're a youngster and are interested in becoming a mod DON'T BUY THIS, it will put you off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not all Mod tunes!, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Forever Mod (Audio CD)
Bought this cd from well known supermarket for £4, nice price. But some of the tracks are not Mod at all! The Everly Brothers songs were never played by Mods in the 60s. I know cause I was there.Also Andre Previn on a Mod cd !?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars living the past, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forever Mod (Audio CD)
used to like the music, just wanted to catch up with what it used to be like, cd plays well and music pretty good for a compolation. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forever Mod (Audio CD)
Really good CD,different collection of songs to most mod albums,no small faces and not one Who track!!!! Very enjoyable and some great moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forever Mod (Audio CD)
Really good CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't afford it?You're not a mod!, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. M. Ford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forever Mod (Audio CD)
You buy a 48 track CD and then rip the ones you like ...easy really!
(I remember that being a mod was never admitting that you couldn't afford it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews