Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand for beginners
I don't really know anything about websites and bought this not knowing what CSS or JavaScript were. I'm a designer and was looking to learn the basics and make myself a simple website. The book is really well written, not patronising at all but explains every step of what's going on. I also bought the HTML and css3 books in this series and was disappointed that they're...
Published on 20 April 2012 by beki

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Teaching Bad Habits
Although this book teaches the new HTML 5 standard, it is teaching new learners bad habits. This book shows how to format your site in HTML; however all formatting standards should be done through Cascading Style Sheets. Not enough emphasis is given to the importance of the new CSS3 standards and HTML 5
Published 16 months ago by D. Grant


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Teaching Bad Habits, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 In Easy Steps (Kindle Edition)
Although this book teaches the new HTML 5 standard, it is teaching new learners bad habits. This book shows how to format your site in HTML; however all formatting standards should be done through Cascading Style Sheets. Not enough emphasis is given to the importance of the new CSS3 standards and HTML 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand for beginners, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 In Easy Steps (Paperback)
I don't really know anything about websites and bought this not knowing what CSS or JavaScript were. I'm a designer and was looking to learn the basics and make myself a simple website. The book is really well written, not patronising at all but explains every step of what's going on. I also bought the HTML and css3 books in this series and was disappointed that they're written by different authors and not as easy to understand.
This book isn't enough to write your own website with (apart from something very simple) but would be great if you already have a website and want to learn how to add content, want to use and customise a theme or template or as a good starting point for learning about web design.
As a beginner I couldn't recommend it enough, really good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book for beginners, 23 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 In Easy Steps (Paperback)
This book is very good for people with no or very little/some HTML experience.
It contains some java script and CSS. In my opinion if you are not familiar with CSS
you should stop reading after 5 chapters and learn some CSS [free W3schools online course] just
to make sure you know what is this CSS all about. Java script is not necessary to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 6 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 In Easy Steps (Paperback)
I purchased this to aid in my interest in HTML authoring and I have to say that it is a great book. For those of you who have used HTML 4 before this the difference is noticable. I find it useful as a reference material that I can go to if I need help making sure that the ideas I have in my mind can and will appear on a web page. A great book and touches on .js and .css too and how they interact with HTML5 it would be a benefit to purchase the additional books on JavaScript and CSS though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 In Easy Steps (Paperback)
but knew what it was like as on permanent loan from library so decoded to buy it. Like the style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not really what i needed, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 In Easy Steps (Paperback)
technical speak and quite in-depth - as a complete novice - this is beyond me but made me realise I will just contact experts whenever i need HTML
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome surprise for an IT book, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 In Easy Steps (Paperback)
An excellent book and very easy to read. Well thought out and the colour does add to a pleasant overall impression.

Very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good clearly written book, 27 May 2013
By 
Mr. Colin Thomson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 In Easy Steps (Paperback)
This book is excellent for beginners, although I had some experience of HTML this book explains the subject clearly and in enough detail to make it understandable to beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Start writing HTML straight away., 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 In Easy Steps (Paperback)
Easy to follow and examples a good way to get you writing html straight away. Could do with more explanation of the html commands and an easier way of finding out how to do something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HTML in Easy Steps, 27 Nov 2012
By 
J. M. Maden "Fell walker" (Lake District) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 In Easy Steps (Paperback)
I bought this book on the recommendation of the university and must say that it has been very helpful especially as I have never done any website activities before starting this course. Well worth £11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HTML5 In Easy Steps
HTML5 In Easy Steps by Mike McGrath
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews