Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars72
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 March 2013
This boxset features the second set of episodes of the complete 32 episode Rejseholdet series. Originally aired in Denmark on DR1 during March and April 2001, ratings were steadily rising with over 1.6 million Danes glued to their TV sets for an hour at 8pm every Sunday night.
The set continues where series one left off and features one of the team being taken into custody! With over 400 minutes of drama, the quality of the show equals that of more recent Danish productions such as Borgen: Series 1 & 2 [DVD] and The Killing - Series 1-3 [DVD] as well as the return of a few familiar faces from both shows.
The most recognisable guest star in this set is Benedikte Hansen (The Killing, and more recently as Hanne Holm - Borgen) who has a recurring role in the series.
If quality drama is what you like, Unit One series 2 is ideal for you.
As usual, audio is in Danish with English subtitles (excluding where English is spoken).
Unit One: Season 3 [DVD] (of 4) continues the series in JANUARY 2014!
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This Danish police procedural picks up where the first season left off, with the national crime squad being called to manage an investigation each episode - the serious crimes that local forces aren't up to handling. Unit One sweep into town with their mobile HQ, driven by a national-class retired footballer, and a team of detectives all with their own specialities. It makes for fascinating viewing of the highest quality: it's sneakily addictive as the personal lives of the group provide texture and background to the current investigation.

The first series was somewhat compromised by its initial set-up, with a new woman heading the task force against the wishes of her immediate boss. That generated some less than credible conflict which is gone this time around: now there's considerably more depth to the relationships between the team members. Few of them are straightforward and just about every officer has a convoluted private life, it seems, but the subject is always tilted more towards the criminal investigation.
Unit One approaches soap-opera territory in some respects, but returns to the safe ground of forensics, questioning, intelligence gathering and fact-finding which reflect the series' roots in reality. All of the cases shown are based on real ones so while the squads' personalities and interactions are ficitional, the legal outcomes are real. And that gives Unit One a distinct edge.
Each subtitled episode runs to just under an hour. There are only seven in this series; one two-parter. If you've not seen the previous season then many of the situations will be confusing, so although Series Two is definitely better than the first I'd say it's worth watching from the beginning to enjoy all the nuances. If you have seen the first season but weren't sure whether to carry on - go for it: this one is a definite improvement. There is one situation in which a Unit One officer is implicated in the death of a suspect... and we were genuinely engrossed in the outcome of that episode.
In later seasons, there's no doubt that the policework and criminal investigations start to take a back seat to the characters' personal lives. But in this boxset the balance is just about right; the romance and domestic lives of the characters do play a part but they don't overwhelm or bog down the investigative storyline.

Unit One is less dramatic and high-powered than, say, The Protectors. It's more thoughtful, more procedural; less action. It's just as good but in a very different way: intelligent serial TV for the crime-thriller enthusiast. Plus Mads Mikkelsen in his younger years, before Hannibal - looking every inch the superstar in waiting...
8/10
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Another excellent Police procedural series, with well played and believable characters. I've already ordered the second season!.Fully recommend what I believe has been a long running series.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 November 2015
I suppose I should have started with the first series, but I shall certainly watch all of the others and in any case the episodes here stand alone. It seems to me that Unit One is well up to the standard of the best Nordic Noir films, very much on a par with: The Killing, The Bridge, Borgen, The Legacy….

The characters here have a particular charm and the relationships between them are handled with sensitive skill. I particularly like La Cour, who is genuinely an original and compelling member of the team, though all are convincing. Perhaps the endings sometimes stretch plausibility somewhat – the unit always arrive just in time, but this is fiction, however born of reality. I find the interrogation scenes which are much more in evidence than in other crime series are particularly fascinating and handled with great subtlety. I look forward to the three series still awaiting.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this season- can't wait for season 3 and hoping for season 4, a truly thrilling production, thanks!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Very enjoyable series
Why hasn't BBC 4 bought this one as it would be a winner with a very likeable group of detectives except the boss man Ulf.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Each season is better and better. The characters are more well defined and interesting. Just love this series, can't wait for season 3 in January!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
I now have series 1-3.The format is a bit dated and some off the translations are a bit odd - but- I love it! Interesting to see actors who have gone on to films and other dramas (Hannibal, The Killing (1,2 & 3), The Bridge (1 & 2) The Hunt, Headhunter etc etc). Watch out the music (very dated) will get inside your head. All in all, 5/5.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
This was our first taste years ago of Scandinavian TV and it still rates with the very best.. Wallander, Sebastian Bergman, Jo Nesbo, the Protectors etc etc.. all are superb..if only tv in the rest of the world was a good..!!!!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
This is one of those series that you warm to the more you watch. It is a bit dated now and some actors have gone on to bigger and better things, but it has a warmth and character of its own which is hard not to like.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)