Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular and memorable
Set on the Eastern Front in WWII, 'White Tiger' is a big-budget Russian film that impresses on almost all counts.
It's essentially a duel film, like 'Enemy at the Gates', with plenty of misty forest atmosphere, suspense and some brilliantly played out tank battles.
Parts are slightly surreal, as in 'Cross of Iron', and one part is a bit slow.
There's...
Published 18 months ago by DC111

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tank whisperer + a spectral Panzerkampfwagen VI + music by Wagner = one REALLY weird cookie (and a lot of head scratching)
This Russian war film (or is it really a war film?) made in 2012 is a strange thing, very hard to understand, classify and rate. Below, more of my impressions, with some SPOILERS.

The film begins, I think, soon after the gigantic battle of Kursk, in autumn 1943, somewhere in Ukraine or Belarus. In this time Red Army, after defeating the last major German...
Published 12 months ago by Darth Maciek


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular and memorable, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Tiger [DVD] (DVD)
Set on the Eastern Front in WWII, 'White Tiger' is a big-budget Russian film that impresses on almost all counts.
It's essentially a duel film, like 'Enemy at the Gates', with plenty of misty forest atmosphere, suspense and some brilliantly played out tank battles.
Parts are slightly surreal, as in 'Cross of Iron', and one part is a bit slow.
There's excellent attention to detail and relatively little CGI -- everything looks just right. Even the upgraded Tiger itself is believable.
The massed attack by T34s is amazing.
This film is superbly acted too.
If I could, I would give White Tiger four and a half stars out of five.
Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Havoc, a modern Tank with an experienced crew, can cause, 13 April 2013
By 
Ernst Wiltmann "store746" (Parry Sound, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Tiger [DVD] (DVD)
A scenario like that in movies is a very rare encounter. Usually we see a scenario like that unfold in modern films, where soldiers use superior weapon technology's to battle elusive enemy's or terrorist's. Our protagonist Russian tank soldier N.
happens to be "stalked", having lost his T-34/85 Battle-tank crew twice. Having survived severe burns, barely healed, is obsessed to destroy this "mysterious" Tiger Tank, who seems to come from nowhere, destroying numbers of Soviet tanks in any given engagement. And now in the last few days of the war, May 1945, somewhere in Austria or Hungaria, it is happening again and again...
The new Russian Cinema seems to produce many such films, this one stands out, with a fresh angle and from perspectives viewers are not used to. There are no known formulas being used. The viewer should stay alert, there are some sub-plots and twisty turns, that you see not coming. A gritty story, unfolding at tranquil sunny springtime. The Director did not use dark filters
to enhance "the war experience" but played with the feeling "I don't want to die in the last few days of the war". It works.
Somehow you feel drawn in, and learn what a Trauma might feel, or how it is negotiated. If a soldier ever can come to terms with it. The end is not predictable and will stick with you, not for the faint of heart mind you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Tiger [DVD] (DVD)
Have I just seen the same film as some of the negative reviews on here? Some are saying this should of been settled on the battlefield, you do know that wasn't an ordinary Tiger no?

It seems such a long time there was a decent war film and this surpasses easily all those biased hollywood efforts where everyone speaks with the same yankie accent drone. Even though I speak no Russian it was great hearing those accents and the German one as well, the subtitles does not take away anything from the film. It would have been great to see larger tank battles but even so the story had a huge twist and had me gripped as soon as they pulled the burnt Russian from his Tank.

Seeing the bodies by the Tanks brought home some of the devastation of war and if some of the details of the tanks were slightly off, so what. Hollywood does far , far worse. As for the twist at the end I thought how refreshing to have such a dark twist than the usual moralistic pap from hollywood.

I'm a big fan of the old British war films where people speak in accents albeit all English and also of foreign films more and more. I'd like to see more non American-English war films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tank whisperer + a spectral Panzerkampfwagen VI + music by Wagner = one REALLY weird cookie (and a lot of head scratching), 17 Oct 2013
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Tiger [DVD] (DVD)
This Russian war film (or is it really a war film?) made in 2012 is a strange thing, very hard to understand, classify and rate. Below, more of my impressions, with some SPOILERS.

The film begins, I think, soon after the gigantic battle of Kursk, in autumn 1943, somewhere in Ukraine or Belarus. In this time Red Army, after defeating the last major German offensive on the Eastern Front, was slowly but relentlessly advancing west - but the price paid for every mile of advance was high. We can see it very clearly in the first scene of the film, in which Soviet soldiers recover weapons from their fallen comrades and prepare their bodies for the burial. But then surprise - one of the supposedly dead soldiers, found inside a destroyed T-34 tank and therefore terribly burned, has still a little bit of life left in him...

To considerable surprise of all doctors and nurses in the field hospital, this man survives and in fact recovers very well - but he remembers almost nothing, not even his name. The one thing he somehow remembers is how to operate a T-34 tank. Renamed "Naydenov", which means "one who was found", he returns to service and quickly earns quite a reputation amongst even the most battle hardened Soviet tankists. Because of his skill, he is chosen for a special mission - operating a specially modified, heavily "upgraded" T-34-85 tank and commanding a specially selected crew, he is to track, ambush and destroy a very special and unique German tank, the terrifying "Belyi Tigr" (White Tiger).

The White Tiger seems to be itself a modified, extensively upgraded version of German heavy Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger tank which its crew (which we NEVER see by the way), for reasons unknown, kept painted all white, even once the winter 1943/44 is over... But Sergeant Naydenov soon finds out, that there are also many, many other things that make the White Tiger an absolutely unique and totally deadly opponent... All above takes care of like first ten minutes of the film and then the story really begins and the rest is for you to discover.

Not willing to provide more spoilers I will just say that I found this film very strange but ultimately rather good for the first 75 minutes. However, the last third of "White Tiger" suddenly goes in a completely different direction than all what precedes and from that moment on it just gets weirder and weirder. I almost had the impression that this last part was taken from another film... The ending - well, I am not certain what to think of it. I personally understood the ending as the moment when two of the main protagonists of World War II meet in hell for a little, not so friendly chat - but this scene is so strange, that I can absolutely not be certain if it was what the director wanted to say... In fact, even in its first part this film certainly forces the viewer to think a lot - and scratch his head a lot - trying to figure out what the heck is going on here and what it all means.

Even if it is definitely not a historical war film, "White Tiger" certainly offers a real treat for all military history freaks, especially those (like me) who are interested in weaponry. There is a great lot of finest military porn here, beginning with T-34 tanks - LOTS of them - and Panzerkampfwagen IV Ausf H tanks. Other tanks appear as wrecks: Matilda II, BT-7, Panzer III Ausf H and one Sdkfz 251 half-track (and it actually matters for the plot that they are wrecks). We also can admire ISU-152 heavy assault guns and SU-100 tank destroyers - although surprisingly they are used here as field artillery... Then there is one scene with a lot of ZiS-3 light field guns and we can see also a German PAK40 75 mm anti-tank gun, Soviet PTRD41 anti-tank rifles, Maxim PM1910 heavy machine guns, Degtyaryov DP light machine guns, SVT-40 semi-automatic rifles, etc. However, there is only ONE Tiger tank in the whole film, the White Tiger, which is not exactly your average typical Panzerkampfwagen VI...

The tank fighting scenes are not bad at all, although the tendency of all the tanks (on both sides) to immediately explode after they are hit was probably an exaggeration...

I was really of two minds after watching this film. On one hand, I confess, I didn't understand it - even if of course I got the general Moby Dick'ian allusion. However, ultimately I do not regret that I watched it. It has quite a unique atmosphere and a kind of deep, slightly scary secret hidden somewhere, all of it wrapped in uncertainty and served with music by Richard Wagner, skilfully interpreted to add some menace but also more mystery... I can not really say that it is a good film - but on another hand you certainly don't see this kind of thing everyday...

Bottom line, I think that the best thing is that you see this film by yourself and make up your own mind about it. I rate it three stars, because this rating is exactly like this film - somehow unclear, vague and equivoque...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Tiger [DVD] (DVD)
As a veteran tanker myself, I could relate to this very realistically made movie. Great stuff by a great movie-making team. Very much worth the money. I rate this up there with Cross of Iron and All Quiet on the Western Front and i am sure this movie will be a cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Russian drama, 7 Aug 2014
By 
A. D. Dawson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Tiger [DVD] (DVD)
A very good film for the most part, with that kind of brooding intensity common to much russian cinema. Needs a fair slice of suspension of disbelief - the ending in particular takes a bit of a swallow (no spoilers!) - but overall an interesting, original and mostly very engaging watch. Excellent tank duel sequence in the middle which alone is worth buying this for,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sits alongside Cross of Iron and Oh What a Lovely War as a reminder or the dangers of our morbid fascination with war., 3 Aug 2014
This review is from: White Tiger [DVD] (DVD)
The production values in this film are very high, and it works hard to portray the horror, the banality and clumsiness of warfare. This realism is not there simply for cinematic effect - it serves the main thrust of the film well and is joined by some wonderful non-battle scenes, which have been the cause of frustration for reviewers who were perhaps hoping for more of a Russian "Saving Private Ryan". Why spend so long portraying the grim, blank and battered faces of surrendered German soldiers, for example? Why are surrendering generals sat eating strawberries? How can a tank simply disappear? How can a soldier recover from 90% burns? Isn't this just too silly?

In making sense of this, we come to understand that White Tiger isn't a celebration of war's triumphs, technology, heroism, brotherhood and boys-into-men that typifies most war films. It is a film about the myths of war, created by war itself and cloaking war in a seductive veil of mysticism.

The myth is exposed piece by piece throughout the film - by the 'resurrection' of the Russian soldier, the words of a captured SS officer, the seeming impossibility of the White Tiger itself. In the last 20 minutes or so, just incase you still thought you were watching an action movie, the narrative becomes very direct, swinging away from the metaphors of the White Tiger and its Russian counterpart to a much wider perspective - that of an utterly devastated Europe, an utterly defeated people and the utterly delusional rantings of an insane, racist Hitler.

So here is a film that at once portrays war in a disturbing realism and at the same time suggests that it is only the myths of war make it both possible and inevitable. War has no virtue other than its own mythology, and our continued obsession with the myths of one war only serve to bring about the next. WAs the main character says in his last scene, we either destroy the myth or it will return again in years or decades to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 21 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: White Tiger (DVD)
It started as if it might be a hybrid of war film and ghost story. But it gets increasingly incoherent and silly. There are two inconclusive encounters between the hero and the big enemy, and then it simply stops. We get long dull scenes of the German surrender and nothing is resolved.

Pretentious trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Nick T. (Surrey, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White Tiger [DVD] (DVD)
Picked this up without researching it beforehand. It really is not worth the time, especially if you've any prior knowledge of tanks and tank battles. Not a good story, average to poor direction, it kinda just.... peters out....to an ending? Basically, it's a fantasy tank ghost story. Don't say I didn't warn you!

Also, 'official Russian entry to the Academy Awards' just shows that playful Russian sense of fun that we all know and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting film - great tank on tank scenes, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Tiger [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very interesting film. A mix of war and paranormal but with an edge. Excellent battle scenes. At times a bit enigmatic - was it Hitler at the last - last scene? Perhaps the end; signing the peace treaty by German staff, a little precipitate after the film action. So, an element of mysticism mixed with a straight war theme. But, I found it interesting frm the paranormal angle of a "ghost tank" and the stuff about psychic links with tanks was different. So, very different and even its flaws seemed of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Tiger [DVD]
White Tiger [DVD] by Karen Shakhnazarov (DVD - 2013)
£3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews