Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to form
This is a real slow burn album by one of my favourite bands and will be great to hear them live on current tour. My only disappointment was I bought this item as a special packaging and it arrived as standard CD case even though the invoice stated Special Packaging disappointed with CD package but not the music content
Published 17 months ago by Mr. D. C. Thomas

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy
I'm a massive BRMC fan and have been eagerly anticipating this latest release. The previous album, Beat The Devil's Tattoo contained (in my opinion) 3 of their absolute best tunes and a lot of others that missed the mark somehow. It wasn't that it was a bad album but definitely one that I would struggle to listen to the whole way through now. Spector At The Feast is...
Published 17 months ago by jjonesp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to form, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. D. C. Thomas "Palomino" (Stoke on Trent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Specter At The Feast (Audio CD)
This is a real slow burn album by one of my favourite bands and will be great to hear them live on current tour. My only disappointment was I bought this item as a special packaging and it arrived as standard CD case even though the invoice stated Special Packaging disappointed with CD package but not the music content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy, 22 Mar 2013
By 
jjonesp (Salford, Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Specter At The Feast (Audio CD)
I'm a massive BRMC fan and have been eagerly anticipating this latest release. The previous album, Beat The Devil's Tattoo contained (in my opinion) 3 of their absolute best tunes and a lot of others that missed the mark somehow. It wasn't that it was a bad album but definitely one that I would struggle to listen to the whole way through now. Spector At The Feast is similar, however with a better success rate.

It starts off with the moody 'Fire Walker'. This track is superb. I've read a couple of reviews complaining that it never quite takes off. They are missing the point, it's never meant to. It's perfect as it is, slowly guiding you into the album before the raucous cover of The Call's 'Let the Day Begin'. For those unaware, bassist Robert Levon Been's father was the lead singer of The Call and recently died while on tour with BRMC, working as a sound engineer. The quality certainly doesn't let up with the next two tracks 'Returning' and 'Lullaby', the latter being a gloriously lush indie-pop track and possibly BRMC's finest of that type to date.

Then comes the mid album slump. 'Hate the Taste' seems almost a parody of the excellent Ain't No Easy Way from their 2005 album Howl and 'Rival' is a rocker that completely misses the spot. Things improve with 'Teenage Disease', more of a spit than anything else, it packs a mighty punch and should sound excellent live. The tempo slows down again with the ambient 'Some Kind of Ghost' which is not nearly as good as it should be. 'Sometimes the Light' is good however, very like 'Open Invitation', the track tagged onto 'The Line' at the end of Howl. 'Funny Games' comes and goes before you're left with the two epic tracks of the album. 'Sell It' is truly monstrous BRMC flat out rock at its finest. Starting off with a dirty base line before getting increasingly angry and reaching a crescendo of noise. It's possibly the album's finest moment. 'Lose Yourself' finishes things off. This one will divide fans as it is dangerously close to Coldplay power-ballad standards. To me it just stays the right side of cheesy but I can fully understand why the hardcore BRMC fan would be put off by it.

Overall there's some more classic songs to add the band's huge collection. I'm still waiting on another classic album though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you are new to BRMC - please don't buy this album., 15 Jun 2013
This review is from: Specter At The Feast (Audio CD)
BRMC are my 2nd favourite band and I hate rating one of their albums 2 stars but that is what the album deserves. Their debut album was a 5 star record with a unique sound. Their third album, Howl, is another 5 star record and an excellent folk/acoustic album. Since Howl the band have mixed the sounds of their first three albums and have produced good records but the albums have never truly flowed from having that range. For every album since Howl some fans have been writing reviews saying that they want another album like that. I've thought these fans annoying...until now. It really is time to go back to that.

Specter At The Feast just sounds too much like they're trying to replicate old sounds and are going through the motions for what made successful BRMC rock songs in the past. Normally Peter Hayes and Robert Been compliment each other really well and both produce excellent songs, with for me Hayes normally being slightly better than Been. I don't like one song that Hayes does on this album, where as Been has the excellent Lose Yourself, Lullaby and The Knife, which are all songs with feeling - he also does a good job with Let The Day Begin and Returning. More songs like these and we have a brilliant album. But even though Been's efforts sound great I just can't give the album more than 2 stars. Hayes wants to rock too hard where as in between this album and the last he wrote my favourite BRMC song Done All Wrong, as well as The Absent. It is time for a haunting folk/acoustic album because that is what they're best at now. If they don't do that then at least they need to choose a direction/theme for an album otherwise it just doesn't flow and sounds a mess.

If they have to try and write rock songs then they need to work much harder in order to repeat the brilliant songs such as Whatever Happened To My Rock And Roll, Heart And Soul etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a classic, but not quite, 3 April 2013
By 
S. A. Gordon (Enfield, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Specter At The Feast (Audio CD)
I have lived with this album for over a week now. I always think you need a few plays before you can do any review. Firstly, I am fan of this band and therefore, there will always be a bias that you want to like it. I appear to be in the minority in that I was slightly disappointed with the previous album, Beat The Devil's Tattoo. My favourite BRMC albums are Howl and Baby 81. I thought that Beat The Devil's Tattoo was a bit of step backwards from the previous two but Specter is definitely a step forwards.
There are some of the best songs that they have recorded on this album, especially the slow, moody ones. Really enjoying Returning and Lullaby at the moment plus Lose Yourself.
It's not a classic though as there a couple of tracks that I can live without.Teenage Disease seems forced and Sometimes The Light never goes anywhere. However, these are minor quibbles.
I also have the three bonus tracks - none of these would have improved the main twelve tracks of the album but Angel Baby is probably the best of the three.
Overall, I think it is a bit different to earlier albums but this is not necessarily a bad thing. Bands have to evolve over time and I think this is an improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album but amazon sending out the wrong packaging, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Barry Bell (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Specter At The Feast (Audio CD)
This album isn't as rocky as their last album, which was there best album, but it's still a great album. I ordered the deluxe packaging but time I received from amazon a week later they had sent out the wrong cd & gave me it in the standard box. I'm not the only person they have done that to. Still a great album tho & I seen them last night at the Barrowlands which was rocking & played loads of their new songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great record, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Specter At The Feast (MP3 Download)
Many have called this a return to form however as a fan (and therefore admittedly bias) every record this band puts out has its moments of genius. Catchy riffs and foot stomping beats have always been this bands forte and are present on Specter at the feast.

Whats interesting about this album though is that it's these type of songs that let the album down, Rival and Teenage Disease sound like outtakes from Baby 81.

The impact of the unfortunate passing of Levan Been snr is evident throughout with a number of tracks taking a more sombre, introspective approach whilst still packing the BRMC punch. It's these tracks where the album excels and proves that they're a band capeable of diversyfying without losing what makes them great.

In a pop obsessed world it's great to see a (criminally underated) rock band like BRMC going strong, consitently delivering the goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top band., 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Specter At The Feast (Audio CD)
Love BRMC. Their sound is unique in today's market.
Every album of their seems different to the next too. Keeps them fresh.
Big love for the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME ALBUM, 2 April 2014
This review is from: Specter At The Feast (Audio CD)
Hate the taste, Rival are two quality songs. I seen a few other reviews not in favour of these two tracks, but they are their biggest hits on the album, hence the reason they've played them on their 2013/14 tour. I like BRMC, especially over the last 6-7, they have matured a shell of a lot, they use to be immature and be an interviewers worst nightmare, now they have showed their maturity, and people like talking to them, especially getting to know Peter Hayes more, imo he is a musical genius, very underrated musician, one of a kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Specter At The Feast (Audio CD)
love it. Heard it on i-tunes and decided to go for it. Happy I did. Would highly recommend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Specter At The Feast (Audio CD)
More dark alternative tunes from a fantastic band. If you like BRMC you will like this a good follow up or even a good intro to BRMC. BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Specter At The Feast
Specter At The Feast by Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews