Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bewitched And Bothered
Denise Mina is one of my favorite authors and I have many. It took me a couple of chapters to get into this book, but when I did I could not put it down. This can be a stand alone book, but it much easier to fall into the flow of the book to understand the intracacies of the family and police

DI Alex Morrow loves her job in the Glasgow CID. Her last big case...
Published 14 months ago by prisrob

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "It was a bit like an episode of Taggart "was a fitting description
Not a popular read. Most people found it a very confusing story that was difficult to understand. We all found it difficult to connect with characters and thought it was probably a book that needed to be read in a short period of time I.e a holiday read. "It was a bit like an episode of Taggart "was a fitting description .
Published 8 months ago by bluebird book club


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bewitched And Bothered, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Denise Mina is one of my favorite authors and I have many. It took me a couple of chapters to get into this book, but when I did I could not put it down. This can be a stand alone book, but it much easier to fall into the flow of the book to understand the intracacies of the family and police

DI Alex Morrow loves her job in the Glasgow CID. Her last big case ended up with her putting her ex-partner behind bars. That put a crimp in her career, but this new case may give her some momentum. She is testifying about the sale of arms to criminals in Pakistan and is brought into another investigation about her case involving her prisoner, Michael Brown. His fingerprints are found at a recent murder, and he was in jail at the time. This could not be, and Alex needs to figure this out. What a mess she finds herself in, and her brother becomes involved in this case. Alex has one year old twins, her husband is the caretaker, and it sounds like the poor man is becoming very tired at this role. Money is tight, and Alex is busy, a woman torn between her children and her job.

On the other end is the criminal group who have become the mastermind behind the on-going gun running, money laundering in this vicinity. Moving from 1997 to the present, we are given the history of some of the people involved in this group. Their real lives and loves, and it does not stop with the criminals, as you begin to suspect some legal and police minds are in this mix. This is a fast paced novel with many characters to get to know. On the whole this is a convoluted and complicated series, and, as the last page unfolds, we wonder, will DI Alex Morrow continue in her line of work?

Recommended. prisrob 03-17-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "It was a bit like an episode of Taggart "was a fitting description, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Road (Alex Morrow Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Not a popular read. Most people found it a very confusing story that was difficult to understand. We all found it difficult to connect with characters and thought it was probably a book that needed to be read in a short period of time I.e a holiday read. "It was a bit like an episode of Taggart "was a fitting description .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect crime, 18 July 2013
By 
D. Harris (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Red Road (Hardcover)
I'm really enjoying Mina's Alex Morrow series. Morrow is a believable DI, nagged by the real problems of work and life (and especially a half-brother who's a mid ranking Glasgow gangster) but not spiralling into police-novel burnout: sometimes she gets home in time to bath her kids, sometimes she doesn't, but whichever it is she's rooted, compassionate but never overwhelmed by the grim flotsam of urban policing.

And it is grim. Mina doesn't dodge that. Here, Morrow has to unpick what looks at first like a classic cerebral detective mystery - a set of fingerprints have turned up where they just can't be. However (despite going back to 1997) it's a puzzle with roots in the sort of sick child exploitation that's filling the headlines right now. Morrow's a good detective, but she feels her position is weak - she's not liked after she uncovered a bribery scandal in her station, and whatever the answer turns out to be - whether sloppy forensic work, corruption, or cover-up - it threatens a high profile case, and you feel that can't be good for her.

Mina constructs a perfect plot round the two timelines, swooping between 1997 and the present and tying everything up so you see just what the consequences of the earlier events were - good, as well as bad - and how high the stakes are for those involved. It's deftly done and repays close attention as characters come and go. In the end, the story is as much about why as what her characters did - acts of sudden violence, of unexpected compassion, of revenge and gratitude - and this is knotty to unpick, because none of these turn out as might be expected.

This is a great book, better I think than the last in the series, Gods and Beasts because more taut, focussed more squarely on a single(ish) mystery. It's at least the equal of The End of the Wasp Season, my favourite in the series so far. Mina also includes some nice vignettes on the state of the newspaper business and of the Glasgow police on the cusp of the new national Scottish force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 8 Jan. 2015
By 
MisterHobgoblin (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Road (Alex Morrow Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
The Red Road is a police procedural murder story. It's Tartan Noir. I hadn't realised when I began reading that this is the fourth outing for DCI Alex Morrow and so I might have missed some of the backstory, but the book still stood up in its own right.

As so often in these Scottish detective pieces, the lead detective is an outsider with regard to office politics and has personal connections with the story that start to generate conflicts of interest. The plot itself is a little far fetched and relies on one big event that is revealed late in the piece - but seemed to be pretty obvious right from the first few chapters. The surprises as they come tend not to be surprising. The cast seems too large; everyone seems to be involved in some shape or form (I can't remember any red herrings) and seems to involve a lot of frenetic activity for fairly opaque reasons.

The depiction of the Red Road flats is evocative, if somewhat fleeting to have given the book its title. There are also atmospheric scenes on the Isle of Mull, and some of the grander houses in and around Glasgow. The characterisation is also better than average, particularly a hippy in a castle and an aristocratic defence counsel. The structure also works, with plenty of cliffhangers ending chapters to keep the pages turning quickly. But overall it is just a bit meh; you feel you've read books like it before and will read books like it again. It is too convoluted, too clever-clever and when it reaches its denouement it just feels a little bit too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The red road, 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Road (Alex Morrow Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Very well constructed plot and conveyed Morrows dilemmas very powerfully. Gripping to the end. Well written with very fine characterization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, 17 April 2014
This review is from: The Red Road (Alex Morrow Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Oh dear ....really did not enjoy this book at all. It was dreary to say the least . Very poor plot and unlikable character s. I thought the ending was terrible. Having read many of Denise Minas books would have to say this was the worst. Have no idea why she named it Red Road one wonder if she was just cashing in on the popularity of this iconic area as it barely touched on the area !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Can Denise Mina Get Any Better?, 2 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Red Road (Hardcover)
I have been "auditioning" crime authors for years to find a worthy successor to the best ever, Ruth Rendell. Denise has long been neck and neck with a half dozen other gifted writers. With Red Road, she has pulled decisively into the lead. This heartbreaking story is breathtakingly well plotted, seeded with rich, broken characters and beautifully written. I've met Denise several times at the Theakston festival. Success couldn't happen to a warmer, more deserving gal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thought-provoking page-turner, 6 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Red Road (Alex Morrow Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
DI Alex Morrow is an agreeably flawed character. She wears cheap suits. She gets things wrong. She loves her twins but is always working late. She wants to get on but she can't play the political game.

The Morrow novels are not whodunnits. The reader is often inside the head of the criminals, we see how they think, we are challenged to consider what we would have done in their place. In The Red Road, this is particularly true of Rose, a young girl who kills her abuser and whose life is transformed - but not in the way you might expect.

Because of the way the story is told, we always know more than Morrow, as she deals with a number of apparently unconnected cases. Our interest is in how the characters react to the unfolding investigations. The downside is that at times with this novel I felt I was treading water, waiting for Morrow to jump through the obligatory procedural hoops to catch up, but there is a further twist at the end.

Mina's novels portray a dark, morally ambiguous world. In The Red Road, we find ourselves identifying with people who we think of as bad, and unable to trust those who are supposed to be good. It is a page-turner that asks some satisfyingly complex questions. The crimes may be solved, but the reader has to decide whether justice has been done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old sins cast dark shadows......., 29 July 2013
By 
A. Macpherson "Phoenix" (Kilchoan, Ardnamurchan, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Road (Hardcover)
This is the first Denise Mina novel I have read....it certainly won't be the last!!
Her precision engineered plotting, divergent, believable cast and a story resonating through two decades make for a riveting, psychologically complex and socially astute journey.
Crime here is merely the glass through which Glasgow, at all levels, is explored deeply and darkly.
Highly recommended....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Road (Alex Morrow Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Not one of Denise Mina better stories needed more blood and guts, and more powerful characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Red Road (Alex Morrow Book 4)
£5.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews