Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Action RPG for the Vita!!!!
Firstly I have to say that after my first attempt at playing this on the demo version I was not actually a big fan of the game. The concept was great but I think I fell victim to the "This is a clone of the Monster Hunter series except with sorcerors and magic" state of mind. With my expectations so very high I felt a little disappointed (I am a huge Monster...
Published 11 months ago by Rahul

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horrifically frustrating.
Let me start off by saying that I love this game. It's got a fantastic art style and the gameplay is pretty tight and interesting. Lovers of MH (like me) will probably adore this title.

I got quite far in before just giving up in frustration.

The reason being there are two ways to level. Once the monster is defeated you choose to either sacrifice...
Published 4 months ago by S. Ligg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Action RPG for the Vita!!!!, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Sacrifice (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Firstly I have to say that after my first attempt at playing this on the demo version I was not actually a big fan of the game. The concept was great but I think I fell victim to the "This is a clone of the Monster Hunter series except with sorcerors and magic" state of mind. With my expectations so very high I felt a little disappointed (I am a huge Monster Hunter Fan)

BUT! After continuing to play through the games demo (which is fantastic in terms of content for a demo) I realised that I should not be comparing it to Monster Hunter. It was a standalone game with its own unique mechanics. Once I got into this new frame of mind I enjoyed the game a lot more. The story was actually quite gripping, though it's advancement is paced a tad too slow for me. The unique narrative was also something I had not experienced before so I was pleasantly surprised (I don't really want to spoil anything for you so play the demo if you're not sure what I mean!).

The gameplay itself is split into 'pacts' which are essentially your quests. Though there is often similarities between quest types which will eventually feel repetitive, its quick and punchy quest system balances this out. Most quests will take no longer than 10-15 minutes and if you're particular good or overpowered then quests can sometimes be cleared in 1-2 minutes. This is perfect for the Vita in terms of playing on the go. This may lead you to wonder about the games length. Well I can tell you that I completed the main story at about 20-25 hours of gametime. But as a trophy hunter it took me 60+ hours to get the platinum which is a more than decent value for money.

It is worth noting that so far there have been 4 DLC quest packs (EU) that have all been absolutely free. I'm under the impression that future DLC will follow this route so theres further value there.

As for some other importnat things...The Soundtrack is fine if not particularly memorable. The voice acting is a simlar scale (though you can choose between english and Japanese voice acting I believe). The gameplay itself is very rewarding and most importantly, fun! You will be allowed to equip up to 6 'offerings' which are your spells. Offerings are thankfully plentiful and varied. With over ten categories (including: homing, explosive, summon, support and armour magic) as well as five elements to master you will have your work cut out for you if you want to see them all. Your offerings can be leveled up seperately to increase their power, duration or number of casts (to avoid players spamming an all powerful spell). The levelling system is intuitive as you can choose how you level up, whether you 'sacrifice' the souls of enemies and go down the chaos route, or 'save' them and go down the divine route. Both routes with lead to completely different playstyles and final builds which will also effect the 'sigils' (sort of like equipment) you can use. So to fully experience the whole game you will most probably have to create two save files, one for a divine chracter and one for a chaos character!

Finally I just want to talk about the online aspect. It puts the cherry on top and in fact adds something that Monster Hunter lovers wanted on the PSP versions. Online coop is available (though if you buy second hand, you will require a network pass) straight off the bat and it works a charm. With the exception of story missions, all missions are playable online. The difficulty adjusts to how many are in your party (with a maximum of 4 party members at once). I had no issues connecting or getting started and the menu navigation is easy and frustration-free. There are also a variety of preset messages that allow you to communicate with party members which can help when new players are unsure of archfiend weaknesses or general strategy for a particular mission.

Overal I must say that the game grew on me immensely and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a lengthy and unique experience on the Vita. With a lack of quantity in terms of vita games, its the quality titles such as Soul Sacrifice that make the purchase worthwhile. So if you're looking for something to keep you going definitely give this a try!! Hope you found this helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great JRPG, cant wait for part 2, 5 May 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Sacrifice (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Soul Sacrifice is a JRPG with a difference.

The graphics are fantastic and easily among the best on the system. Diverse environments and lively colour pallet ensures the game is a real treat for the eye. Very well optimized and uses the power of the vita to produce near ps3 level visuals.

The sound is equally impressive with a fantastic sound track and sound effects which compliment the game very well, highlighting the tone and actively getting the heart pumping in the heat of battle. This is one of those games you should play with a good pair of headphones to get the most of the experience.

The gameplay is where the game really shines. Its a Monster Hunter style RPG with no open world or trekking around a vast environment to get to your next fight. The games chapters are just fights with story segments in between. The fighting mechanics are very deep and you will have a great time mixing spells and weapons to see the different effects. The combat is more intricate than monster hunter taking a page from Demons Souls by emphasizing timing.

The single is a satisfying story and already cant wait for part 2.

The game also has a deep online mode with tons of exclusive missions designed for upto 4 players over wifi or ad hoc. Finding a game at random or inviting friends to a lobby is quck and painless. Online the game runs very smoothly and is best played tactically with all players playing a role in successfully completeing quests.

The game is challenging without being frustrating and you cam easily sink 50 hours into the game.

Really recommend this game to any fan of JRPGs and vita owners looking for something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horrifically frustrating., 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Sacrifice (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Let me start off by saying that I love this game. It's got a fantastic art style and the gameplay is pretty tight and interesting. Lovers of MH (like me) will probably adore this title.

I got quite far in before just giving up in frustration.

The reason being there are two ways to level. Once the monster is defeated you choose to either sacrifice them or save them. Depending on which you choose means you'll get either essentially Holy or Chaos exp.

Leveling up Holy will give you defence and Chaos will give you attack.

So the best team composition is people to tank and people to attack, except the game doesn't allow that. Nope. Because the decision whether to sac or save is a team based thing, if you want to be the healer or support (think hunting horn or light bowgun in Monster Hunter) you will get zero exp reward from the fight. As all the Chaos players will vote Chaos and then you'll either have to de-level yourself (thankfully allowed) or just not choose to vote at all.

I accepted this for a time, and tried to join rooms with people playing Chaos, prepared to have fun being the support slowing time, buffing and team healing. It was great fun, reviving the squishy players while boosting their attack and creating openings for them to hit.

But the majority of rooms, would see my Holy level and kick me as it's a "Chaos only room". Wouldn't let me join. Some neutral rooms exist and if you can get one, go for it. Also, holy rooms are very slow as they lack damage output.

Game is excellent and a great substitute to the lack of a Monster Hunter title (a game I've played every iteration of since it's first release in the UK). But this one flaw is, for me, enough to put me off it for life. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best game on the ps vita, 29 Nov 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Soul Sacrifice (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
This is the best game I have played on the ps vita. A classic RPG with some good tactical spell choices and plenty of background lore, if you go looking for it. I would recommend for any fans of Dragon Age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the VITA needs, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Sacrifice (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Great story, the visuals are superb and the online play for the game is well executed. A must buy for VITA owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Oct 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Sacrifice (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
A surprisingly great game. I'm a big fan of the Monster Hunter series and there are definite similarities, yet the games are unique in their own individual ways.

The gameplay is addictive and the storyline is seriously impressive. In principle the game follows a rather simple format; there's no huge open world to explore and many of the stages are recycled throughout (similar to Monster Hunter). You'll play small sessions, similar to Monster Hunter, with varying criteria (but more of an emphasis on combat in general) and will then return to a menu, which allows for customisation and general purpose RPG management. But what sets this game apart is the great combat.

Because the combat is so customisable, you really won't care much about the stages being similar and that they're nothing particularly special. What you get is a game that is easy to dive into, rewarding and challenging, all the makings of a game with good re-playability. You'll either love the game or will get fed up with it, it depends upon what type of person you are. Great soundtrack and again, the storyline isn't to be ignored. The first stages of the game as you play with the character Sortiara really are emotional and sets the tone for the rest of the game. This isn't a perfect game, it could do with improvement in quite a few ways, more stages and a little more depth overall, but this is worth a buy and has given me many hours of enjoyment. One of my favorite Vita games.

The concept of this game has SO much potential, it's a shame about the depth of gameplay, but for a handheld game, it ticks all the right boxes for me and is importantly extremely good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Vita's best, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Sacrifice (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Soul Sacrifice is the first game Keiji Inafune game since he left Capcom, and it's bloody brilliant! It all revolves around the sacrifices that you are willing to make in order to obtain more power. It's all about decisions that will affect the experience of this wonderfull RPG. Everything has a cost, so the player has to be very careful with his choices.

It's not a visually stunning game, however, Soul Sacrifice delivers a compelling story, many, many hours of gameplay, and a well developed multiplayer. Even if you are like me and don't like RPG's, you should give it a try because it's simply that good. It's easily one of the best games available for PlayStation Vita.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 10 May 2013
By 
P. Hulford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Sacrifice (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
I have no idea why IGN gave it such an average review. This game is long, in depth and very replay able. The only thing I guess people may not like is that it is a little repetitive and not open world however, the repetition of killing monsters is very well rewarded by gaining power/items etc to further your character...

Best thing about this game is the online feature, brilliant. Can really kill enemies in a huge variety of ways and if you enable voice chat or play with 4 friends via ad hoc it is incredibly fun and satisfying!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Online pass and ps plus aren't working, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Sacrifice (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Online pass and ps plus aren't working.
Don't know what happened, the online pass and ps plus just show invalid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game, 2 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Sacrifice (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Great game with lots of replay potential. Will take a lot of effort to complete,and even when you can defeat Magusar there are still loads of high level tasks to complete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul Sacrifice (PlayStation Vita)
Soul Sacrifice (PlayStation Vita) by Sony (PlayStation Vita)
17.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews