Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch
Regardless of whether this book is cheap or expensive, the purpose of this review is to try to explain why I believe it is worth five stars. As far as I am concerned, it ticks all my boxes, with a couple of original touches added to the mix. These gave me the impression that the author may even have enjoyed writing his book. For a piece of historical fiction like this...
Published 15 months ago by JPS

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good airport read
I enjoyed the story but this book was not as good as some of the earlier ones in this series. Sidebottom writes well and knows his history around which he weaves an interesting and exciting story but it is not particularly memorable
Published 8 months ago by nicky passaportis


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series so far, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warrior of Rome: The Amber Road: 6 (Kindle Edition)
Now up there with Conn Iggulden. Really 1st class. Ballistics is a real hero with none of the politically correct softness of our modern age. Strong and full of integrity. The story Really feels historically accurate re the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read as usual from Mr Sidebottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Being reading the whole series and this one is good!, 19 May 2014
By 
Michael Hermin (Co. Armagh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warrior of Rome: The Amber Road: 6 (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy historical fiction and have three different authors I prefer when reading about the Roman Empire and Sidebottom is definitely one of my preferred authors. 'Warrior of Rome' has been an excellent series and reveals much about the challenges of the 'hostage' adopted by Roman to become one of her soldiers/generals.

The pace is well thought out as the plot starts to become evident, hence the desire to read the book in a matter of days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warrior of Rome: The Amber Road: 6 (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read. Left me wanting more. Will ballista ever make it back to his family? I can't wait to find out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a christmas present for my Brother who has other titles by this author. Very happy with delivery and presentation and a great value buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good read, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another book by Dr Sidebottom. I have read them all, a fast moving energetic stomp, full of historic detail and sub plot. A great way to take your mind off your life, a super holiday reead- can't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry keeps you looking for the Next Book, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought my first 'Warrior of Rome' as a paperback in an airport when my flight was delayed.
Since then I have devoured every book as soon as it has been released to Amazon for sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another good read, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warrior of Rome: The Amber Road: 6 (Kindle Edition)
Good story. I think better than the previous novel. I like the detail and inventiveness of the story line. The characters remain real and plausible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great follow on from all the other warrior of rome books very good good good a page turner bye bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent historical fiction, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Harry Sidebottom has done it again. I've probably learned more about Roman warfare reading this series of books than I ever learned at university. The Amber Road has a ring of authenticity that transports the reader to another time and another place. I'd rank it among the best of his six volume featureing Ballista. Heartily recommended--and if you haven't read the previous 5 in the series, buy them. My only problem is I have to wait for the next book! Well done Dr Sidebottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warrior of Rome: The Amber Road: 6
£2.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews