Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avoid the bad CD master - Buy on vinyl if you can!
I'd heard a lot of reviews of this album which repeatedly stated 2 things:
1. It's not as good as 'Opus'.
2. It suffered from a terrible over compressed 'brick wall' mastering process (producing a loud sound but with audible digital distortion and loss of nearly all dynamics)

To the first point, I have to be controversial and say I actual prefer this...
Published 14 months ago by Martin Katscan

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly great, ruined by brickwall mastering
Having liked the band since Opus came out I was looking forward to this release with mixed emotions. Would the major label and 'buzz band' status ruin it all? Mostly the answer is no although I don't think this release is as good as, or will have the longevity of Opus it has an immediate and very self aware commercial sound drenched in keyboards with a lot more pop...
Published 15 months ago by Lea Torn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avoid the bad CD master - Buy on vinyl if you can!, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infestissumam [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I'd heard a lot of reviews of this album which repeatedly stated 2 things:
1. It's not as good as 'Opus'.
2. It suffered from a terrible over compressed 'brick wall' mastering process (producing a loud sound but with audible digital distortion and loss of nearly all dynamics)

To the first point, I have to be controversial and say I actual prefer this album to their first!
I guess it depends what you like about Ghost's sound as to which you would prefer. People seem to spend FAR TO MUCH time deciding how 'metal' something is as a level of quality. I personally find that to judge Ghost on how 'metal' they are is to completely miss the point. Ghost are a refreshing escape from the factory line rotation of formulaic metal 'products' around. They exist on their own as a unique and brilliant oddity. (Until, that is all the inevitable clone bands start emerging on the back of their success ;)

Anyway.. Point 2.
It sounds better on vinyl!!!
That sounds like a typically hipster, audiophile bore thing to say, but it's true.
Forget for a minute the constant debate of whether vinyl generally sounds 'warmer' or has more 'soul' than digital, there is in this case another important factor.
It's mentioned in reviews everywhere that this album has suffered what's become known as a 'Death Magnetic' master, where in an effort to make the record sound as loud as possible, all the dynamics and 'life' has been squashed out of it leaving a distorted chunk of a sound.
So why is the vinyl version going to be any better?
Because the physical 'limitations' of vinyl, when done properly, music has to mastered to a completely different standard than digital. Mastering engineers who know what they're doing have to approach a vinyl master in a different way and are forced to leave far more 'headroom' for the intended dynamics of the original recording to shine through. Also because vinyl records are unlikely to be played on radio, tv or online playlists, they don't have the same need to compete in a 'loudness war' with other releases.

So if you are going to buy this album and have a record deck around the place, do yourself a favour and get it on vinyl. Not coz it's cooler (obviously it is though ;) but because it really does sound better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy as hell, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If satanic zombie-popes with hooded 'nameless ghouls' are your thing, then Ghost definitely is.
Not for the religious or god-fearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album !, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infestissumam (Audio CD)
Great album however i would recommend the deluxe version wich comes in a jewel case with artwork includind lyrics and artwork and two bonus tracks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought after their Download performance, 19 July 2013
This review is from: Infestissumam (Audio CD)
Only really bought this for the last track ("Monstrance Clock". They closed the set on the Sunday at Download with it, and i was humming it to myself for the rest of the day).... and was quite impressed with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infestissumam (Audio CD)
Pre-ordered this having bought Opus Eponymous previously, another great album with incredible vocals. Looking forward to their next release, hopefully there won't be long to wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Devilishly good!, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infestissumam (Audio CD)
Looking forward to seeing them at Download last summer, and wasn't disappointed !!. Very catchy riffs, a bit Sabbathy in places ,but what the hell, I like them too!!!. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for Sure!, 15 Dec 2013
This review is from: Infestissumam (Audio CD)
Its a weird one. I'm not entirely sure what to make of it, but its quite enjoyable!

Kind of a King Diamond/Hell pantomime type metal haha. Its quite cheesy, but is still good.

Its hard to explain what Ghost actually do, but its kind of organ driven metal songs with hymn style vocals... Its quite weird, very different but pretty interesting, and quite enjoyable. Id recommend you listen to a few tracks first before you buy, wont be everyone's cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Album, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infestissumam (Audio CD)
Ghost are such a refreshing change from all the other heavy bands. They have something for everyone and their songs pay tribute to all styles of the past masters.Blue Oyster Cult,Sabbath Metallica,Megadeth.I am a huge Sabbath fan so the combination of latin and riff based metal works for me and is very powerful. This is my favourite album by far in the last year. Can stop playing it and smiling, great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and addicting!, 15 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Infestissumam (Audio CD)
This band, this album is fantastic!
I've allready listened to it so many times.
When I'm not hearing the album, the songs are still in my head.
The danish saying: "give Satan your little finger, and he takes your whole arm", is true to Ghost B.C, if you just hear a small bit, it will take you whole!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Martand (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Infestissumam (Audio CD)
I adore Opus, the first Ghost album and this follow up is even greater! It transcends genres abd shatters stereotypes. A fantastic album that's easy to listen to every day!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Infestissumam
Infestissumam by Ghost B.C. (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews