Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film overdue a reappraisal, a good if not perfect Blu-ray
*Warning - may contain slight spoilers if you've never seen the Frankenstein films before. You've been warned.

The Evil of Frankenstein has got a bad reputation in some quarters. I've been indifferent to it myself on previous viewings, but wanted to give it a fair reappraisal when my Blu-ray arrived. I prepared for it this time by watching Revenge of...
Published 10 months ago by Lee R

versus
29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Format
I have been looking forward to this release for a long time. I have the Region 1 version, but I can only watch this on my computer, so to have a version I can play on my TV would be great. What a disappointment, it's FULL FRAME and not in the correct widescreen format it should be in. These DVDs are for a specialist market, who expects certain standards; and the correct...
Published on 23 Oct 2007 by Mr. Peter F. H. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop Knocking This Movie - It Was GREAT!, 24 April 2013
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
I just cannot understand why some are knocking this movie so much. In my view, it was flawless, and I would even go as far as to say that it was one of the BEST Hammer Frankensteins ever. Peter Cushing, as always, is brilliant as the Baron, and the supporting characters - esp the devious hypnotist and the poor mute girl - enhance the enjoyability of this movie. I have it in DVD collection, along with all my other Hammer films, and watch it regularly, as I never ever grow tired of it, but then again, Hammer films always have that certain kind of durable, compelling magic, don't they?

Horror Stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars going against critics, 24 Feb 2012
By 
the critics have really picked this film to pieces but i love it, of all the frankenstein films this is my favourite.it does not follow on from the first two infact it changes the story so they could make the film they wanted.there are several plus points to this film that the first two did not have first of all a really scary monster on a parallel with the universal monster,secondly it has a not bad looking female that cant talk hooray,thirdly it has an evil hypnotist who you may recognise as reg delboys dad in only fools and horses and fourth you get a proper horror movie ending which comes about by a drunken monster what more could you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defrosting the Monster!, 13 Jan 2012
I really enjoyed The Evil of Frankenstein. I've seen all of the Hammer Frankenstein films and I think this one stands up very well amongst them. I think Peter Cushing did a another fine performance and the Monster looks great. The pace is also quick moving and there's some fun supporting cast, such as the Hypnotist.
The DVD picture and sound is very good although it has beem trimmed into 4:3 ratio. It can't have been a very widescreen film though as it is not that noticeable that the picture has been reduced. Don't let the 4:3 ratio put you off watching this edition as it is very good in every other detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A middle of the road Hammer on an excellent Bu Ray, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
It's by no means Hammers best Frankenstein film but it is solid entertainemnt value and this new presentation is stunning. I doubt the film has ever looked or sounded as good. The extras are first rate especially a lenghty interview with the ever gorgeous, Caron Gardner. As a die hrd Hammer fan this was a must buy for me. The film may be mediocre but this Bluray package lifts it to top marks for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars EVIL OF FRANKENSTIEN BLU-RAY, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
It's an alright Hammer film i did not think much of it
when i first saw the film on the 2007 DVD release, not the best of the Frankenstein Hammer films
mainly cause of the silly plot
curse and Revenge of Frankenstein were the best Frankenstein hammer films before this film

i bought this blu-ray release a few days ago along with Brides of Dracula
this is the Final cut entertainment reissue of EVIL OF FRANKENSTEIN on blu-ray for first time ever
this film was first released on DVD back in 2007 which has terrible picture and audio compared to this blu-ray release which is the best available version to get at this stage
really Good Widescreen transfer and audio is very Good aswell
Final cut ent' made the effort to give this film a special edition treatment

there is also a making of Featurette on the blu-ray, first time for this film
the featurette is excellent goes for 30mins, Hammer historian Wayne kinsey explains the making of Evil of Frankenstein
he explains that this film was not another sequel to Revenge of Frankenstein and does not continue where ROF left of
but a stand-alone reboot of the Frankenstein series which happened to be unsuccesful at the box office when it was released in theaters
which is news to me but i'm not surprised actually, besides Peter cushing and the other Great actors in the film
Kiwi kingston played the monster who was a Wrestler not an actor so his performance was average
the only actor from the film interviewed is Caron Gardner who played the Burgomaster's wife
the Mute Girl in the film played by Katy wild moved to Australia in the late 60's probably to get away from the U.K. film industry, who knows what the reason was

so apart from that, the assistant Director on the film Hugh Harlow is interviewed along with Pauline Harlow
all the rest of the cast and crew have all passed away now
the Late Great Freddie francis who Directed this film passed away a few years ago now
His Directing and the actors performances are they only thing that Holds this film up in my opinion, cause the story line is silly and ridiculous
not to mention Kiwi kingston performance which is very average cause he's not an actor
it says so in the making of Featurette

i only bought this blu-ray mainly cause of the making of featurette and cause the picture and audio quality is better than the 2007 U.K. dvd release
which has no extras st all
I Gave this film 3 stars based on the films plot which is really silly and ridiculous,
Kiwi Kingston performance is terrible, he's not an actor, he's a wrestler
who happened to get selected for playing the monster
the special features are excellent
apart from that Freddie francis Directing is fantastic

so if your fan of the film then get this blu-ray version for much better picture and audio quality
and to watch the making of featurette
there is also a stills Gallery and Theatrical trailer.
Definitely worth the money to get this blu-ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars an average frankenstein hammer film., 13 Sep 2012
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
even peter cushing can't really save "the evil of frankenstein" from being one of the worst frankenstein films made by hammer. the plot and the script are both poor and the production comes across as being rather contrived and at times, downright boring.
even so, it is great to see peter cushing once again getting up to mischief as the baron for the third time running. the only good thing i can say about this film, is that the set for frankenstein's laboratory is better as it benefits from being more spacious.
the person who played the creature is hardly what you would call an actor. all he has to do is simply learch about the baron's deserted castle. he doesn't add anything to the role, unlike christopher lee and michael gwynn before him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles: a disappointment., 24 May 2013
By 
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
"Evil of Frankenstein" is a very good Hammer Movie, but because this blu-ray doesn't have (English) subtitles, I'll wait for the American release. I am really disappointed that Final Cut Entertainment didn't include subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hi Def...are you having a laugh?, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Rick "RickAnne :o)" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
The one star given is on the product I have recieved, & not the fantastic Hammer Horror film itself. It is such a scam when a product is put out there as Hi definition & then fails to deliver. I have bluray releases of older films than this &, so good is the HI Def lift, you would tuely believe the actors to be in your living room. No Lionsgate or Studiocanal input in this (& The Brides Of Dracula) picture, & does it show! Honestly, there is no Hi Def to talk of. Keep to your dvd & don't bother to waste you're money. To be honest, a good bluray player will upscale your dvd to a better picture. There is a making of featurette, which is interesting (?), but is it worth paying out for just that - No! This is one Hammer Fan left feeling more than a little deflated. Sadly let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HAMMER HAVE HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
I no both FRANKENSTIEN and BRIDES OF DRACULA have had bad reviews from some people but i dont no why.I have bought both and am very pleased with them both with picture and sound the extras are good to.I saw these when they first came out on the big screen years ago and no matter how good blu-ray is they cant better that.I hate to think that today people who are now seeing these hammer movies only see them on a tv and not in the cinema as they were made for oh to go back to the days of the double bills.Anyway if you are a hammer fan and have to watch on a tv you could do a lot worse then these to discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to my collection, 27 Sep 2013
By 
S. Jennings "HSFM" (CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
Not my favorite of the Hammer Frankenstein films but I would not miss having this in my Blu-Ray collection of Hammer films !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964]
The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] by Freddie Francis (Blu-ray - 2013)
19.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews