Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film overdue a reappraisal, a good if not perfect Blu-ray
*Warning - may contain slight spoilers if you've never seen the Frankenstein films before. You've been warned.

The Evil of Frankenstein has got a bad reputation in some quarters. I've been indifferent to it myself on previous viewings, but wanted to give it a fair reappraisal when my Blu-ray arrived. I prepared for it this time by watching Revenge of...
Published 21 months ago by Lee R

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst Hammer Horror Films
I noticed that this film has mostly five-star reviews on Amazon, but I am sorry to say that I do not agree with them at all. This was Hammer's third in their Frankenstein series but, in my opinion, is also one of their worst. Only The Horror Of Frankenstein is worse than this and that didn't even have Peter Cushing to save it. However, Cushing plays the Baron in a...
Published 1 month ago by FJY


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst Hammer Horror Films, 17 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
I noticed that this film has mostly five-star reviews on Amazon, but I am sorry to say that I do not agree with them at all. This was Hammer's third in their Frankenstein series but, in my opinion, is also one of their worst. Only The Horror Of Frankenstein is worse than this and that didn't even have Peter Cushing to save it. However, Cushing plays the Baron in a completely different way in this film to the others in the series. Here, the Baron is presented as a whinging, moaning man, completely full of self-pity and persecution issues. I would have thought that he would completely understand why people persecute him, when you consider what he did. This film is also not written by Jimmy Sangster and it shows, because it completely disregards the previous films and sets up a whole new backstory for the Creature and The Baron, which totally ruins the continuity of the series. The production and sets are very good, granted, but I suspect this is only because it was backed by Universal Studios, so they probably had a bigger budget than usual. This partnership also explains the look of the Monster himself, which resembles Karloff for the first time, but doesn't look half as good. You will also be amazed at how many references to the Universal Frankenstein films you can spot in this film, even if some of them are less obvious. I give this film two stars, because of its continuity issues and the fact that it lacks Hammer's usual style and orginality. At least the next one, Frankenstein Created Woman, was an improvement, but then that would not have been difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Format, 23 Oct. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been looking forward to this release for a long time. I have the Region 1 version, but I can only watch this on my computer, so to have a version I can play on my TV would be great. What a disappointment, it's FULL FRAME and not in the correct widescreen format it should be in. These DVDs are for a specialist market, who expects certain standards; and the correct format is one of them. I hope they put this right for future releases, otherwise it's back to watching my Region 1's on the computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film overdue a reappraisal, a good if not perfect Blu-ray, 29 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
*Warning - may contain slight spoilers if you've never seen the Frankenstein films before. You've been warned.

The Evil of Frankenstein has got a bad reputation in some quarters. I've been indifferent to it myself on previous viewings, but wanted to give it a fair reappraisal when my Blu-ray arrived. I prepared for it this time by watching Revenge of Frankenstein first and keeping an open mind. Revenge had scripted itself into a bit of a rut. It was a good ending, but once Frankenstein reaches success, there's no more room for a sequel. In that way, I can understand why it was felt a new direction was needed to continue the franchise.

This time I found it quite a fun film. It lies in the same gray area as Sam Raimi's Evil Dead 2 from more than two decades later in the way it's half reboot, half sequel. Francis's direction takes it away from the gothic comfort zone and more into horror thriller territory. Quite funny too in places, which was a surprise for earlier Hammer horror. Cushing's Frankenstein is played as a much more sympathetic character than the ruthless, single-minded scientist of the first two. Zoltan is the real villain here. I didn't really like this monster on previous viewings, but giving it a chance this time around it's actually a really nice design. Rather that it just looking like an inexpressive clay mask and Karloff wannabe, I got a Golem vibe coming from it. The creature created for revenge (Zoltan's in this case) that eventually turns on it's creator. I don't know whether this nod to Jewish mythology is by accident or design. Either way, I felt it rather effective.

I am pleased with the transfer. It's a little soft in places and hasn't had any major restoration work carried out, so all the old film dirt is still there especially on optical effects shots. There's a thin layer of grain. If it has been DNRed (if), it was done by an operator who thankfully knew when to stop. Overall a pleasing upgrade over DVD with some finer detail better resolved. It's in the valid aspect ratio of 1.85:1. Sound is the original mono. Not unsurprisingly, it sounds authentically like any other Hammer film of it's era with the benefit of lossless PCM encoding on the Blu-ray. Be aware there are no subtitles on this release, which is unfortunate and will prevent hard of hearing fans from enjoying this new release.

Extras are few, but interesting. I found the making of to have a large chunk made up of a Jackanory-like retelling of the story set to (admittedly lovely) stills, with some behind the scenes narration and interviews to spice it up. It was a good watch and given so few people involved are still with us, so there's not really a whole lot more that can be done. Caron Gardner adds lots of value. Those who had smaller roles often have more interesting anecdotes because they're different to the ones we always hear. Another extra worthy of note is the stills gallery. I normally find photo galleries a bit uninspired and would prefer to see them in print, but this was made up of an impressive number of high quality stills dynamically presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity, 26 Dec. 2014
By 
Autonome (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
This fourth entry in the Hammer Frankenstein canon (after "The curse of..." - 1957, "Tales of..." - 1958, and "The Revenge of..." - 1958) can only be described as a missed opportunity.
And this is quite frustrating as the first twenty minutes of the movie are very good, and as Hammer was returning to the Frankenstein myth five years after its previous effort.
The problem is not so much the reinvention of the Frankenstein's story - in a screenplay that ignores and scraps the first two films in the franchise - after all, why not, there are many reboots in XXIst century Hollywood.
The problem is first and foremost a very unbalanced script written by Anthony Hinds. Even if I can swallow a creature kept intact frozen in ice for years, believability is nonetheless too stretched by the prospect of a hypnotist repairing the creature's brain.
Things are made worse by the much-too-important weight of said-hypnotist in the script, played by a very tiring and OTT Peter Woodthorpe. The character is an unpleasant caricature and contrasts with the always impeccable baron of Peter Cushing, now almost playing the leading man against the evil Zoltan.
Another large problem is the inability of the creature to convey any sort of feeling. In the previous two Frankenstein entries by Hammer, both Christopher Lee and Michael Gwynn were projecting the adequate mix or humanity and menace. In "Evil...", professional wrestler "Kiwi" Kingston does what he can but what he unfortunately can't do is act.
Lastly, Freddie Francis is not a very good director. He can deliver on a good script (see his work on Jimmy Sangster's "Nightmare"), but left on his own (like in "Paranoiac" or in "Evil..."), he shows that he ain't no Mario Bava.
The big satisfaction is the amazing impression made by the über-sexy Caron Gardner in a mostly silent part.
The film remains watchable and some bits are successful (good first twenty minutes, good last twenty minutes, every scene with Caron Gardner), but one cannot help but feel that this effort is a missed opportunity.
The BluRay transfer is good, and the documentary is very interesting.
Weren't there more important Hammer films to transfer to BluRay ahead of this one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beyond the ice., 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
Peter Cushing returns as the Baron in his third movie from hammer as Frankenstein. this time the baron thinks its safe for him to return to his home in Karlstaad. to continue his work of the creation of life.helped by his young assistant hans, played by Sandor Eles, they both stumble across the old monster that for years has been frozen in ice in the mountains. the baron revives the creature, but requires a hypnotist called Zoltan played by Peter Woodthorpe, to restore the creatures mind.and this is where every thing starts to go wrong for the baron.this is a stand alone story unlike the Curse of Frankenstein, and The Revenge of Frankenstein. as always Peter Cushing is very good, and so is the supporting cast pq .looks good in 1080p 16x9 on this blu ray, there is also a making of the film, a stills gallery,theatrical trailer, and a moment with Caron Gardner. all in all well done to Final Cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
I first saw this movie when I was very much younger than I am now. It was great to see this classic Hammer fare again. The film may have its detractors but to me it's a gem of its time. Great print too, a must have for the collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great imitation of Boris Karloff by Kiwi Kingston !, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
I've seen this movie several times (in 1965 for the first time in the cinema) , but never in this high quality blu-ray version ! Some very interesting extra's , but what I miss is an interview with the "monster" , Kiwi Kingston !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best in Hammer's Frankenstein film series. It's a must see and the DVD quality is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned film, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
I've been keen to get some of my late childhood favourites on bluray, and waited for some time for this one.
It's a good example of improved clarity and sound production, (my argument with my better half - "is it worth it, over the dvd?" , answer - often yes if only for the remastered sound/score. In my humble opinion, this is a worthy addition to my bluray collection,
and is a darned good tale "sixties/seventies style".
The speedy service from "speedyhen" is, as always welcome and appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep dark world, 30 April 2014
By 
feral (Tuxford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] (Blu-ray)
The Evil of Frankenstein may not be in most Hammer fan's top tens, but it's in mine. It's a low-key film, but melancholic and elegant, all the same. If I tell you that Peter Cushing is wonderful throughout, you will not be very surprised, but his performance is surprising, full of angst and barely contained rage. But Cushing is just one element in a film that is deeper and darker than you expect it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964]
The Evil Of Frankenstein (Blu-ray + DVD) [1964] by Freddie Francis (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews