Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Hammer's finest achievements - but not a great DVD
Brides of Dracula was the first of Hammer's many sequels to their breakthrough hit, and it's not just the best of the series but one of their very best pictures. There's no Christopher Lee this time round - in fact, there's no Dracula at all - but there's a lot of imagination at play here in a beautifully plotted story that sees Peter Cushing's Van Helsing coming up...
Published on 21 Dec 2007 by Trevor Willsmer

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cropping of original ratio ruins Blu-ray release
Brides of Dracula is among my favourite Hammer films and it also is one of their most beautiful looking, with Terence Fisher at the height of his powers of crafting stylish films on a small budget. Brides of Dracula has a unique fairy tale look with castles bathed in candy colour lighting and I'm certain that this film was the main inspiration of Polanski's stylish Hammer...
Published 6 months ago by B. Kossmehl


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cropping of original ratio ruins Blu-ray release, 29 Sep 2013
By 
B. Kossmehl (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Brides Of Dracula (Blu Ray + DVD Double Play) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Brides of Dracula is among my favourite Hammer films and it also is one of their most beautiful looking, with Terence Fisher at the height of his powers of crafting stylish films on a small budget. Brides of Dracula has a unique fairy tale look with castles bathed in candy colour lighting and I'm certain that this film was the main inspiration of Polanski's stylish Hammer parody Dance of the Vampires/The Fearless Vampire Killers.

I have the R1 Universal DVD as part of the The Hammer Horror Series box set, which boasts a fantastic transfer, therefore I was looking forward to upgrading this to a Blu-ray, hoping it would yield great results in HD. Unfortunately the PQ of the Blu-ray is a disappointment on almost every front. Sure, it features a little more detail but for some inexplicable reason Final Cut Entertainment decided to reformat the original 1.66:1 ration to something like 2.10:1 by cutting a considerable amount off the image at the bottom. This unbalances many of the careful compositions, even cutting off characters chins in closeups. Why they thought that would be a great idea is beyond me because it doesn't make any sense. Adding to that, the print used is considerably more grainy than the one used for the R1 DVD and the colours are far warmer, frequently giving characters a tanned face colour when they looked suitably pale in the DVD.

What a shame as this was one of my most anticipated releases this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 4:3 inferior edition, 17 Oct 2007
By 
What an outrage. This company has released this title and Evil of Frankenstein as a 4:3 non amorphic release. Tho' still nice print quality, information has been lost at the sides of the picture. The films were released last year as part of the Universal R1 boxset as very nice anamorphic 16:9 transfers. However, many people have had problems with these double sided DVds not playing so it was heaven sent when we heard news that these two films were coming to R2. My advice is if you want R2 to purchase the German Koch media releases - these are anamorphic like the R1 releases and play in english (without subtitles) and German - currently available are Brides and the Curse of the Werewolf. Interestingly these British editions falsely claim on the back 'never been released before!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 69 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Concern over the new blu Ray aspect ratio.August 25 2013, 24 Oct 2007
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There has been advance warning that this blu ray is not in the correct ratio (ie blu ray dot com quoting the promotional material etc) . Despite the claims of the distributor to the contrary on the Amazon product description, the film should be in 1:66 ratio NOT 2 to 1 which will remove significant image material and destabilise the composition of the frame. If some cinemas masked the print to give it a "widescreen" feel they did it in defiance of the filmmakers intention. After all the fuss about the cropped DVD release a few years ago I find it impossible to believe a company is releasing yet another incorrectly cropped version for a "specialist" fan base audience on blu ray!!! I have cancelled my pre-order and I await, with great interest, to see what the reality will be and, if the film is incorrectly cropped yet again, how film fans respond. Why is it so difficult for companies to get such things right? Looking at the latest reviews on this page it does appear as if this new blu ray is a cropped print with sections of the frame missing but in other respects a decent transfer albeit rather "grainy".Presumably those reviewers received advance copies. I still feel that after years of waiting we deserve better and that those who do purchase this product should be made aware of the aspect ratio they are bring given - for better or worse. The production history of this film was troubled to say the least with the censor demanding major changes to the plot etc at the earliest stages - it's sad indeed that even in 21century it's still a cause for controversy over what should have been a much sort after blu ray transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Hammer's finest achievements - but not a great DVD, 21 Dec 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Brides of Dracula was the first of Hammer's many sequels to their breakthrough hit, and it's not just the best of the series but one of their very best pictures. There's no Christopher Lee this time round - in fact, there's no Dracula at all - but there's a lot of imagination at play here in a beautifully plotted story that sees Peter Cushing's Van Helsing coming up against David Peel's Baron Meinster, a follower of Dracula's vampire cult, after Yvonne Monlaur's schoolteacher ill-advisedly releases him from the shackles his not-as-mad-as-she-looks mother keeps him in.

There's a lot going on beneath the stylish surface here - a psychiatrist could probably have a field day with the curious relationship between Peel and Martita Hunt ("We pray for death, both of us. At least, I hope he prays"), not to mention Van Helsing's visible discomfort in the company of women - but it never overwhelms the plot, and there's no shortage of memorable scenes, from the professor treating a rather nasty bite he just got to the servant silently offering pointers to a newly created vampire on its first outing as one of the undead. Reuniting most of the behind-the-cameras talent from their first Dracula film and throwing in a rather splendid climax in a burning windmill, this is definitely one of Hammer's finest hours. Sadly, though one of their best looking pictures, like the overcopped first Hammer Dracula the UK DVD of Brides is also a bit of a disappointment - no extras and in the wrong ratio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars FIRST MARRIAGE TO BLU RAY .. BUT BRIDES NOT LOOKING THEIR BEST!, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brides Of Dracula (Blu Ray + DVD Double Play) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This review,and the star rating,is for the UK BR (Zone B) release and not for the movie itself (which is one of Hammer's greatest).
I held off getting this one due to the negative reviews which I'd read,but finally took the plunge when I requested it for a gift last month.
In a word - disappointed (although not unduly surprised, having read the reviews).
The grain is VERY heavy and intrusive; at times and on certain backgrounds the screen seemed to be pulsating with some form of sinister microbial lifeform! In fact this is the most distracting grain which I can recall seeing on any DVD or BR which I have recently viewed. It's almost as if the grain were actually magnified,if such a thing is possible - I'm sure some of the technical fans out there can explain if this is so.
This certainly spoilt my viewing of the film and to my mind there is no doubt that the R1 DVD offers a more pleasing viewing experience (and that's even before considering the question of aspect ratio).
This is no criticism of Final Cut who I'm sure did the best they could with the source material made available to them by Universal. I just hope that Universal will get round to releasing a Zone A BR and return to the original negative for this.I understand that the original still exists.If so, we can live in hope. Universal have shown that they can do a magnificent job when they are minded to,as with their Classic Monsters BR Box Set.
How's about a BR Box Set of the Hammer films to which Universal hold the rights (as released in their R1 DVD set) properly remastered and all in the correct aspect ratio this time?
Universal .. please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars brides of dracula blu ray, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brides Of Dracula (Blu Ray + DVD Double Play) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Picture quality of this BLU RAY is outstanding and in the film screen anamorphic ratio of 2.1 and the colours really come to the fore and the grain has been left alone in the digital processing which enhances the overall cinematic look....sound is fine and clear.....BUT for those with a HARD OF HEARING problem I have to report that there are NO SUB TITLES and this is NOT acceptable and Final Cut have made a serious error of judgement in presuming everyone has good hearing.....it cheapens the product...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Format, 23 Oct 2007
I have been looking forward to this release for some time. The quality of the print is good and there are some nice stills, but I couldn't believe it when I found out it was full frame and not the correct widescreen format. These releases are for a particular fan base and the correct format is a basic requirement to me. Very disappointing, I hope they correct this in future releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hammer horror NOT well represented on Blu-ray, 2 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Brides Of Dracula (Blu Ray + DVD Double Play) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Brides of Dracula is one of the great early classics from the famed British studio but alas the blu-ray print is cropped top and bottom and is awash with grain, too much so which obscures a lot of the detail you'd expect from a high definition transfer. In comparison The Evil of Frankenstein blu-ray transfer is far better even if the film itself is inferior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ripped off again!!, 19 Nov 2007
This is a fantastic film, well-deserving its cult status as one of Hammer's best-loved classics. The direction, production and acting are all first rate and it is a shining example of the best of the horror genre from the 1960s. It should get 5 stars, but...

Why do we consumers get constantly ripped off by the companies producing these DVDs (and before that, VHS tapes)? To release this film after the long wait in a format which completely wastes Terence Fisher's excellently atmospheric direction is not just a shame, it is an artistic crime.

The problem is that the companies don't care one little bit, as long as they make their money. Another problem is that enough consumers either are ignorant of these travesties or THEY don't really care either. Those who DO know and DO care should refuse to buy this DVD, or return it to the company who made it, complaining. Maybe then, they would listen. Maybe...

All I can say is thank heavens for Amazon and others enabling reviewers to warn potential customers about being ripped off. At least with a bit of knowledge as to what we SHOULD be getting but are ACTUALLY being given, people can make an informed decision about spending their money on a bad product or not. Rather than buy this and then have to re-purchase the inevitable "special edition" (i.e. what it should have been in the first place) I will cross my fingers, put up some garlic bulbs, say a prayer and wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Verdict is still out on this one, 30 Aug 2013
By 
C. W. Howarth "Lalala" (manchester Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brides Of Dracula (Blu Ray + DVD Double Play) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It is difficult to know how to review this Blu-ray release. I guess it depends on whether this is a first time buy, you have owned the previous UK release or the R1 release.

Let me start by saying that the original master that Universal had was destroyed in a fire some time ago. For this Blu-ray a different print has been used, which seems to have been in marginally worse shape than the one used for the R1 dvd. It therefore makes it very difficult to make an adequate comparison as Final cut have obviously had their work cut out to bring this up to a releasable standard. If you have owned the R1 dvd prior, one of the first things you will realise is that this (BD)is presented in a different ratio 2:1 which crops a significant section from the bottom of the screen. Secondly, there is a high dose of grain on this release. Some would say that's a good thing, others not. But at times is overpowering (obviously that's just my opinion).

Colour saturation on the bd is different from the R1 release, but is extremely pleasing and there is a increase in detail with it being in HD. However on comparison with the R1 dvd , you may wonder if it is an improvement at all.

This BD wins considerably over the previous UK dvd release, which was heavily cropped in the 4:3 ratio

The BD offers some limited extras which are interesting in the main. However there is no commentary or subtitles for the hard of hearing.

To sum up, stay clear of the Uk dvd. If you want a choice either seek out the R1 dvd which looks smoother, is vibrant and in the correct ratio, or opt for this BD. The image is pretty good,with marginally increased clarity due to the transfer in HD and is also vibrant, but be aware suffers heavily (and this is just my opinion) from having way to much grain and is in a ratio that is generally agreed to be incorrect.

EDIT: Opinions of the Blu-ray seem to vary depending on which edition of the film you owned prior or have seen. Higher ratings seem to be coming from those who have not experienced the original restoration that was release as the R1 Universal box set.On the other end of the spectrum there are those that despise this release for the reasons mentioned.

For those that are interested. Final cut have presented this BD in the style of Studio canals Hammer titles packaging, but minus the slipcase.It does however feature artwork which represents one of the original Uk posters.

EXTRA NOTE: the same transfer used for the R1 dvd was also used by KOCH MEDIA R2 german dvd release. This edition still doesn't have extras but is in the correct ratio and has fantastic artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf6e0d68)

This product

The Brides Of Dracula (Blu Ray + DVD Double Play) [Blu-ray]
15.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews